Vehicle Industry News VIN 2017-05

- e,
T E—

County Fee Changes

New Information
The vehicle theft deterrence, investigation and prosecution, and prosecution of driving
under the influence (Auto Theft/DUI), and fingerprint identification (FID) programs fee
collection by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will be changed as follows.

Effective with vehicle registration fees due on April 1, 2017, and after:

e Alameda County (county code [CC] 01) will increase its Auto Theft/DUI program
fees from $1 to $2 for autos and from $3 to $4 for Commercial Vehicle Registration
Act (CVRA).

e Santa Clara County (CC 43) will increase its Auto Theft/DUI program fees from
$1 to $2 for autos and from $3 to $4 for CVRA.

e Kern County (CC 15) will increase its FID program fees from $1 to $2 for autos
and from $3 to $6 for CVRA.

e El Dorado County (CC 09) will reinstate its FID program at $1 for autos and $3 for
CVRA.

Effective with vehicle registration fees due on or after June 1, 2017, the Abandoned

Vehicle Abatement (AVA) program fee collection by DMV will be changed as follows:

e Del Norte County (CC 08) and Kings County (CC 16) will extend their AVA
programs to May 31, 2027.

All other counties that currently have fee programs will continue to participate and
DMV will continue to collect the various program fees. For the complete list of
participating counties and fees, see the Vehicle Industry Registration Procedures
Manual, Appendix 1A located at www.dmv.ca.gov.

Procedures
Process registration applications as normal; programming will generate the correct
county fees.

Background
Currently, DMV collects $1 or $2 on specified motor vehicles and an additional $2 to $4
for CVRA vehicles registered in participating counties for the purpose of funding Auto
Theft/DUI, FID, and AVA programs.

California Vehicle Code §9250.14 allows participating California counties to increase
the Auto Theft/DUI and CVRA Auto Theft/DUI fees. California Vehicle Code 89250.19
allows participating California counties to increase the FID and CVRA FID fees.
California Vehicle Code §9250.7 allows participating California counties to collect
AVA and CVRA AVA fees.

Distribution
Notification that this memo is available online, at www.dmv.ca.gov under Publications
was made via California DMV’s Automated Email Alert System in March 2017.

References
California Vehicle Code §89250.7, 9250.14, 9250.19, and 22660

Contact
Call the DMV Customer Communications Section at (916) 657-6560 for further
clarification of this memo.
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