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New Information 
The vehicle theft deterrence, and prosecution of driving under the influence (Auto 
Theft/DUI) and fingerprint identification (FID) registration program fees collected by the 
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will be changed in the following counties as of 
April 1, 2021, and after: 

• Siskiyou County (county code [CC] 47) will increase their Auto Theft/DUI program 
fees from $1 to $2 for autos and from $3 to $6 for Commercial Vehicle Registration 
Act (CVRA). 

• Santa Cruz County (CC 44) will increase their FID program fees from $1 to $2 for 
autos and from $3 to $6 for CVRA. 

All other counties that currently have fee programs will continue to participate and DMV 
will continue to collect the various program fees in all other counties. For the complete 
list of participating counties and fees, see the Vehicle Industry Registration Procedures 
Manual, Appendix 1A, located at dmv.ca.gov. 

Procedures 
Process registration applications as normal; programming will generate the correct county 
fees. 

Background 
Currently, DMV assesses a base fee of $1 on all vehicles registered within a participating 
county to fund its respective Auto Theft/DUI and FID programs. An additional $2, for a 
total of $3, applies to CVRA vehicles registered in those participating counties.  
Vehicle Code (VC) §9250.14 allows participating California counties to increase the Auto 
Theft/DUI and CVRA Auto Theft/DUI fees. VC §9250.19 allows participating California 
counties to increase the FID and CVRA FID fees.    

Reference 
Vehicle Code §§9250.14 and 9250.19 

Distribution 
Notification that this memo is available at dmv.ca.gov under Vehicle Industry Services, was 
made via the California DMV Automated Email Alert System in April 2021. 

Contact 
Call the DMV Customer Communications Section at (916) 657-6560 for further 
clarification of this memo. 
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