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Background 
In 1990, California became the 28th state to implement an immediate driver license suspension law for alcohol-
impaired drivers, also referred to as an “Administrative Per Se (APS)” or “on-the-spot” license suspension law.  Forty-
one states currently have an APS law of some kind and all 50 states and the District of Columbia have laws defining it 
as a crime to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above the proscribed level of at least .08%.  The 
California APS law requires the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to suspend or revoke the driving privilege of 
persons who are arrested for driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more, or who refuse a 
chemical test upon arrest.  In January 1994, California implemented a companion driver license suspension law, 
known as the “zero tolerance law,” which requires DMV to suspend for one year any driver under age 21 with a BAC 
of .01% or more as measured by an alcohol screening test, or who refuses or fails to complete the test.  The .01% BAC 
law provides for a hardship restriction only if a BAC test was completed and the driver can demonstrate a critical 
need to drive.  All states now also have “zero tolerance” laws for underage drivers.   
 
Under a new driver license suspension law, as of January 2009, DMV is required to suspend for one year, the driving 
privilege of any driver who is on probation for a prior DUI offense and who is caught driving with a BAC of .01% or 
more as measured by an alcohol screening test, or who refuses or fails to complete the test.  This action is carried out 
concurrently with any .08 APS action imposed for the same offense.  These administrative actions are independent of 
any criminal penalties imposed in court for conviction of the driving-under-the-influence (DUI) offense.  Upon arrest, 
citation (as may be applicable in a probation violation), or detention (as applicable in the .01% APS law), the driver’s 
license is immediately confiscated and an order of suspension or revocation served.   
 
For each law, due process is allowed by the issuance of a 30-day temporary license intended to provide the driver 
with sufficient time to challenge the suspension through DMV administrative review.  Offenders who are dismissed 
for insufficient evidence or are never charged by the court for DUI may request an APS dismissal hearing to consider 
setting aside the associated APS action.  Under the .08% APS law, when a driver submits to and “fails” a BAC test and 
has no prior DUI convictions or APS actions (within 10 years), a 4-month license suspension is imposed.  Following 30 
days of “hard” suspension, and providing they first demonstrate proof of insurance, show proof of enrollment in an 
alcohol treatment program, and pay all penalty fees, the law provides for such drivers to obtain a 5-month restricted 
license that allows driving to and from an alcohol treatment program, and to, from, and during the course of 
employment.  A 1-year suspension is imposed on drivers having one or more prior DUI convictions or APS actions 
within 10 years, with no provision for a restricted license.   
 
For offenders refusing a BAC test, a 1-year license suspension is imposed for a first offense, a 2-year revocation is 
imposed for a second offense, and a 3-year revocation is imposed for a third or subsequent offense (within 10 years).  
There are no provisions for issuance of a restricted license following a BAC test refusal.   
 
A commercial driver arrested for DUI in a noncommercial vehicle and having no prior DUI convictions or APS actions 
may downgrade to a noncommercial license and apply for a first-offender restricted license.  As of January 1, 2007, the 
per se BAC limit was reduced to .04% for commercial drivers operating a commercial vehicle in association with the 
arrest, and these commercial drivers are eligible for the same restriction as other drivers committing a first offense, 
except the restriction does not allow travel to, from, or in the course of employment.   
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Key Findings for 2009 
 In addition to the Administrative license suspension or revocation actions, or administrative per se 

(APS) actions already in operation, as of 1/1/09 drivers on probation for a prior DUI conviction 
who are caught driving with a BAC of .01% or higher are subject to a separate but concurrent 
administrative license action. The total APS actions listed in this fact sheet do not include counts of 
these administrative probation violation actions, but they are presented here separately; there were 
5,976 probation violation actions initiated in 2009.    

 Total APS actions initiated in 2009 decreased slightly (down 1.9%) over those initiated in 2008 with 
greater decreases among the subset of BAC-test refusal actions (down 6.8%) and even greater 
decreases in .01 refusal actions (down 40%) from 2008.  

 The percentage of overall actions vacated, or set aside, increased to 8.84% (up 8.4% from last year’s 
8.15%) of actions initiated.  However, set asides resulting from hearing decisions dropped for all 
types of hearings. This suggests that the overall 6.3% increase in set asides largely occurred during 
the administrative review process and not as a result of a hearing. 

 The number of APS orders of suspension mailed by the department (in place of, or in addition to, 
those issued by law enforcement) decreased 3.1% this year, constituting 20.3% of all orders issued. 
APS orders of suspension are mailed by the department to correct an original order issued by law 
enforcement or when there is no record of an order being issued by law enforcement. 

 Most (74.3%) restriction-eligible first-offenders opted for the full 4-month hard suspension term 
rather than seeking an earlier restricted driving privilege; the number of first .08 offenders obtaining 
a 5-month restriction was 4.2% lower in 2009 than in 2008.   

 The percentage of total arrested DUI offenders who refused a chemical test dropped for the fifth 
consecutive year, to 4.25% (down 4.9%) in FY 2009.    

 The number of suspensions for commercial drivers driving commercial vehicles in 2009 was nearly 
1.5 times higher than in 2008, but the raw numbers still remain very low (only 32 such actions taken 
in 2008 and 77 taken in 2009).  

 In 2009 repeat offenders constituted 28.1% of all .08 APS offenders which is relatively unchanged 
from last year (up < 1%).  The proportion of repeat offenders has been higher every year since the 
low of 23.8% in FY 03/04, perhaps reflecting the impact of the January 1, 2005 law that increased the 
time from 7 to 10 years that must pass without another APS action or DUI conviction before an 
offender would again be considered a first offender.   

 The total number of hearings scheduled in 2009 decreased 4.7% from the number scheduled in  
2008; still, over one quarter (26.5%) of all APS actions initiated resulted in scheduled hearings. This 
proportion of actions resulting in hearings represents a 2.8% decrease in the hearing rate from the 
prior year’s rate and represents the first decrease in scheduled hearings since 2000.  These decreases 
occurred among all types of APS hearings.  

 A stay of the APS action was imposed for 89.7% of the actions for which a hearing was scheduled in 
2009, remaining relatively unchanged from the 89.2% that were stayed for hearings scheduled in 
2008. A stay indicates that the onset of the suspension action was delayed pending completion of a 
hearing.   

 “Driver Safety/Driver Investigation” reviews increased 60.8% from the prior year’s total to 309 
scheduled investigations in FY 08/09. Of such 2009 actions reviewed, 65.2% were set aside. A policy 
change was made in 2000 that should have discontinued use of these reviews for APS cases. 
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2008 2009 % change

•  Total APS actions initiated (including actions later set aside) 222,462 218,125 -1.9

             › Total .081 APS actions initiated 199,023 196,036 -1.5

             › Total .012 suspensions initiated 23,439 22,089 -5.8

•  Total APS actions set aside 18,130 19,274 6.3
             › Total .08 APS actions set aside 16,871 18,046 7.0
             › Total .01 suspensions set aside 1,259 1,228 -2.5
•  Total APS set aside rate 8.15% 8.84% 8.4
             › Total .08 set aside rate 8.48% 9.21% 8.6
             › Total .01 set aside rate 5.37% 5.56% 3.5
•  Net total APS actions taken (excluding actions later set aside) 204,332 198,851 -2.7
             › Net total .08 APS actions 182,152 177,990 -2.3
             › Net total .01 actions 22,180 20,861 -5.9

•  Total APS actions taken, suspension/revocation order served by:
             › Law enforcement 176,754 173,814 -1.7
             › DMV 45,708 44,311 -3.1

Net APS Actions by Offender Status/License Classification:3

•  Net total APS actions, noncommercial drivers 201,160 195,927 -2.6
•  Net total commercial driver license (CDL) APS actions taken 3,172 2,924 -7.8
•  Net total actions of commercial drivers in commercial vehicles 32 77 140.6

•  Net APS .08 actions for drivers with no prior DUI convictions or APS actions 4 132,266 127,933 -3.3
             › 4-month license suspensions 93,813 91,370 -2.6

             › 30-day suspensions plus 5-month COE5 restrictions 30,159 28,885 -4.2
             › First-offender chemical test refusals 5,459 5,055 -7.4
             › CDL first offender suspensions/restrictions 2,835 2,623 -7.5
•  Net APS .08 actions taken for drivers with prior DUI convictions 49,886 50,057 0.3
             › Suspensions 46,388 46,747 0.8
             › Revocations (Refusals) 3,498 3,310 -5.4

•  Net APS .01 actions for drivers submitting to a BAC (evidential or PAS 6) test 21,747 20,489 -5.8
•  Net APS .01 actions for drivers refusing to submit to a BAC (evidential or PAS) test 433 372 -14.1

APS Chemical Test Refusal Process Measures:
•  Total .08 and .01 APS refusal actions initiated (including actions later set aside) 9,950 9,276 -6.8
•  Total .08 refusal actions set aside 525 518 -1.3
•  Total .01 refusal actions set aside 35 21 -40.0
•  Net total .08 and .01 APS refusal actions (excluding actions later set aside) 9,390 8,737 -7.0
             › Net total .08 refusal actions 8,957 8,365 -6.6
             › Net total .01 refusal actions 433 372 -14.1
•  Chemical test refusal rate (including actions later set aside) 4.47% 4.25% -4.9
•  Net .08 APS refusal (suspension) actions for subjects with no prior DUIs 5,459 5,055 -7.4
•  Net .08 APS refusal (revocation) actions for subjects with prior DUIs 3,498 3,310 -5.4

#DIV/0!
#DIV/0!
#DIV/0!
#DIV/0!
#DIV/0!
#DIV/0!
#DIV/0!

Administrative Per Se Process Measures

1  .08 refers to APS actions taken subsequent to obtaining evidence of a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) equal to or in excess of the .08% per se level or on 
    the basis of a chemical test refusal.  Such an action is taken in conjunction with a DUI arrest.  
2  .01 refers to APS suspensions taken against drivers under the age of 21 with BACs of .01% or greater or on the basis of a chemical test refusal, and are  not
    necessarily taken in conjunction with a DUI arrest.           
3  All entries in this category exclude actions later set aside but, where possible, include actions taken on the basis of either a chemical test refusal or a BAC test 
    result.
4  Prior DUI convictions or APS actions consist of any such conviction or action where the violation occurred within 10 years prior to the current violation.  
5  This restriction allows driving to, from, and during the course-of-employment and to and from alcohol program (enacted 1/1/95). 
6  PAS is a Preliminary Alcohol Screening test which is considered legally sufficient evidence to impose an action under the provisions of the zero tolerance laws.
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Total APS Hearings:7 2008 2009 % change

•  Total .08 and .01 inperson or telephone APS hearings scheduled 60,572 57,713 -4.7
•  Percentage of total APS actions resulting in scheduled hearings8 27.2% 26.5% -2.8

•  Percentage of total .08 and .01 APS hearings resulting in a stayed APS action 9 89.2% 89.7% 0.6
• Total .08 and .01 inperson or telephone APS hearings held and/or completed 60,269 57,397 -4.8
       .08 Hearing Activity:
                  › .08 hearings held and/or completed 55,135 52,866 -4.1
                  › .08 actions set aside following hearings 4,767 4,599 -3.5
       •  Percentage of .08 APS actions set aside following hearings 8.6% 8.7% 0.6

       .01 Hearing Activity:
                  › .01 hearings held and/or completed 5,134 4,531 -11.7
                  › .01 actions set aside following hearings 504 448 -11.1
       •  Percentage of .01 APS actions set aside following hearings 9.8% 9.9% 0.7

APS Chemical Test Refusal Hearings:
•  Total .08 and .01 APS refusal hearings scheduled 3,526 3,210 -9.0
•  Percentage of total refusal actions resulting in a scheduled hearing 35.4% 34.6% -2.3

      .08 Refusal Hearing Activity:
                  › .08 refusal hearings held and/or completed 3,385 3,111 -8.1
                  › .08 refusal actions set aside following hearings 383 382 -0.3
       •  Percentage of .08 APS refusal actions set aside following hearings 11.3% 12.3% 8.5

      .01 Refusal Hearing Activity:
                  › .01 refusal hearings held and/or completed 128 87 -32.0
                  › .01 refusal actions set aside following hearings 20 8 -60.0
       •  Percentage of .01 refusal actions set aside following hearings 15.6% 9.2% -41.1

Other APS Activity:
•  Total .08 and .01 APS dismissal hearings scheduled after meeting
    renewed right to a hearing requirements 190 159 -16.3
                  › APS dismissal hearings held and/or completed 190 158 -16.8
                  › APS actions set aside following dismissal hearings 53 41 -22.6
       •  Percentage of APS actions set aside following dismissal hearings 27.9% 25.9% -7.0

•  Total .08 and .01 Driver Safety/Driver Investigations scheduled10 309 497 60.8
                  › APS Driver Safety/Driver Investigations held and/or completed 286 457 59.8
                  › Actions set aside following APS Driver Safety/Driver Investigations 180 298 65.6
       •  Percentage of APS actions set aside following Driver Safety/Driver Investigations 62.9% 65.2% 3.6
           
•  Total .08 and .01 APS departmental reviews scheduled 1,530 1,388 -9.3
                  › APS departmental reviews held and/or completed 1,527 1,381 -9.6
                  › APS actions set aside following departmental review 55 45 -18.2
       •  Percentage of APS actions set aside following departmental reviews 3.6% 3.3% -9.5

7  These figures include refusal hearings but exclude Driver Safety/Driver Investigation hearings, subsequent APS dismissal hearings and departmental reviews.
8  Both numerator and denominator include those actions later set aside as a result of the hearing.  
9  A stay indicates that the onset of the suspension action was delayed pending completion of a hearing.  The hearings scheduled in these counts may be for  
    actions that were initiated anytime in the past but for which the hearing was scheduled or held in this reporting year. 
10  These cases may or may not have involved a hearing request.
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