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2021  

Prepared by DMV Research and Development Branch  06/24/2022  

Background  

California’s administrative license suspension program, known  as “Admin Per Se”  
(APS), requires DMV to  suspend  or revoke the driving privilege of any person  

arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of  

alcohol and drugs, who either:  

➢ Takes a chemical (blood or breath) test  which shows any of  the following:  

o  0.01% blood alcohol  concentration level (BAC) if under 21 years of age;  

o  0.01% BAC while on DUI probation;   

o  0.04% BAC while driving a commercial vehicle;   

o  0.08% or more BAC while driving a noncommercial vehicle; or  

➢ Refuses to take or fails to  complete a chemical test to  determine their BAC level 

or the drug content of their blood.  

Main effects of APS actions  (independent of any jail, fine,  or other criminal penalty  

imposed in court upon DUI conviction):  

➢ If the affected driver has a valid California driver license (DL), the DL is 

immediately  confiscated;  

➢ All affected drivers receive an Order of  Suspension/Revocation and a temporary  

DL valid for 30 days;  

➢ After  the 30-day period, one of the following license actions goes into effect:  

o  If  the chemical  test indicated  a 0.01% BAC and driver was under 21 years 

of age  

→ Suspension of 1 year.  

o  If  the chemical test  indicated a 0.04% BAC while driving a commercial 

vehicle or a 0.08% or  more BAC while driving a noncommercial vehicle:  

→ Suspension of 4 months for first offense.  

→ Suspension of 1 year for second  or higher offense in 10 years.  
o  If  the chemical test indicated  a 0.01% BAC while on DUI probation  

→ Suspension of 1 year in addition to, and  concurrent with, the APS action.  

o  If a driver refuses or fails  to complete a  chemical test:   

→ Suspension of 1 year for first offense (or 2-year revocation if on DUI  

probation).  

→ Revocation of 2 years for second  offense in 10 years (or 3-year  

revocation if on DUI  probation).  

→ Revocation of 3 years for third  or higher offense in 10 years.   
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Reinstating a license after an APS action requires:   

➢ Payment of a $125 reissue fee ($100 if under 21 years of age),   

➢ Filing proof  of financial responsibility, and  

➢ Maintaining proof of  financial responsibility for 3 years.   

License restriction options associated with APS:   

➢ Drivers who at the time of the violation were 21 years of age or older, completed  

a chemical test and  do not have outstanding license suspensions/revocations 

are eligible to apply  for either of the following:  

o  COE Restriction –  Restricted to  driving to, from, and during the  Course Of  

Employment and/or DUI program activities:   

→ Available only  to first offenders.   

→ Drivers  must serve  out a 30-day suspension period from the suspension 

effective date.   

→ Ends 6 months after suspension effective date.  

o  IID Restriction  (effective January 1, 2019)  –  Restricted to driving  a vehicle 

equipped with an Ignition Interlock Device:   

→ Available to first  and  repeat  offenders, as well as  drivers arrested while 

on probation.  

→ Drivers  must install an IID on every vehicle registered to their name and  

provide verification.  

→ Drivers may  drive immediately after the suspension effective date.  

→  Ends  4 months after suspension effective date  for first time  offenders, 12  

months for  repeat  offenders  and  drivers arrested while on probation.  

➢ Both license restriction options require:  

o  Proof of enrollment in a DUI program,  

o  Proof of financial responsibility,  

o  Payment of  a $125 reissue fee, and   

o  Downgrading  to a noncommercial DL if  the driver  held a commercial DL 

at the time of the violation.  

➢ Drivers who at the time of the violation were under 21 years of age, completed a 

chemical test and do not have outstanding license suspensions/revocations may  

apply for a Critical Need Restriction:  

o  Available  only  to first offenders.   

o  Drivers  must serve out a 30-day suspension period from the suspension 

effective date.   

o  Drivers  must verify that a specific critical need condition exists,  and all 

other transportation is inadequate.   
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Review and hearing procedures associated with APS:  

➢ DMV automatically  conducts an administrative review of each APS action:  

o  If the review shows no basis for the APS action, it will be set aside.   

➢ Drivers have 10 days  from the receipt of the Order of Suspension/Revocation to  

request a  hearing to  show that the APS action is not justified.   

o  DMV will conduct a telephone hearing unless the driver requests an in-

person hearing.   

o  If DMV cannot provide a hearing before the effective date of the APS 

action, the action will be stayed (delayed).   



    

 

Key Findings for 2021  

➢ In 2021  California was still  impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, albeit not quite 
as substantially as in 2020. While  many of  the statistics tallied in this fact sheet  
show increases  when compared to 2020, the overall levels were not  back to pre-
pandemic standards.  

Total APS Actions  

➢ In 2021, 112,429  APS  actions  were initiated,  representing  an  increase of  10.67%  
from 101,575  in 2020.  The  uptick in  APS  actions  was likely  due California  easing  
shutdown measures,  leading  to  an increase in  the number of  drivers on the road  
relative to 2020. However, the volume of total APS actions was  still lower than pre-
pandemic levels.  

➢ While the total number of  APS actions initiated  for drivers 21  and  older saw an  
11.9%  increase from 2020  to  2021, the total number of  APS actions initiated  for  
drivers under 21  actually  decreased  by 6.5%. This is possibly  related  to  the lower  
number of  new licenses  issued  in  2020, resulting in a  smaller proportion of  young 
drivers on the road in 2021.  

➢ The  number of  APS suspension/revocation orders  served  by  the DMV in 2021  was  
almost  identical to  2020, going  from 29,151  to  29,190. Conversely, the  number  of  
APS suspension/revocation orders served  by law enforcement  increased  14.9%, 
from 72,424 in 2020 to 83,239 in 2021.  

o  The  relative proportion of  orders served  by law enforcement in 2021  (74%)  
represents the highest value since 2015.  

➢ Among  drivers  21  and  older, the  net  number of  APS actions  initiated  for  repeat  
offenders saw a  less  marked  increase  from 2020  to  2021  compared  to  the net  
number of APS actions initiated for first offenders (7.2%  versus  16%).  

APS License Restrictions  

➢ Unsurprisingly,  the number of  APS license restrictions issued  in  2021  increased  across  
the board  compared  to  2020. However, the magnitude  of  the increase  differed  
for the various  restriction options.  

o  First offender COE  restrictions  saw a  48.4% increase,  going  from 2,419  in 2020  
to 3,590 in 2021.  

o  First offender IID  restrictions  saw a  31.9%  increase,  going from  3,935  in 2020  
to 5,190 in 2021.  

o  Repeat offender IID  restrictions  saw a  26.2% increase,  going from 1,849  in 
2020  to 2,333 in 2021.  

APS Refusal Rate  

➢ The percentage of  total DUI  offenders  arrested  in  2021  who  refused  a  chemical  
test rose from  9.4%  in 2020  to 9.8%. The refusal rate has increased every year since  
Missouri  v.  McNeely  (2013),  the Supreme  Court  ruling  that introduced  a  general  
requirement of  the arresting officer obtaining  a  search warrant prior to  initiating  
an involuntary blood draw.  
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APS Hearings  

➢ In total, 8.9%  of  all actions were set  aside in 2021, the first time in over a  decade  
that this percentage has dipped under 9.1%.  

➢ In 2021, less  than  a  third  (30.9%) of  all drivers against  whom an APS action  was  
initiated  challenged that action and  were scheduled  for a  hearing  (34,736  cases  
out  of  112,429  total actions initiated),  a  decrease of  6.4%  from the 2020  figure. The 
remaining APS actions were uncontested.  

➢ Despite the lower number of  APS actions  scheduled  for a  hearing  in 2021, a  higher  
percentage of  them  (81.1%  compared  to  79.1%  in  2020) could  not  be  scheduled  
promptly  and  resulted  in a  stay, delaying  the onset  of  those APS license actions  
until hearing  completion. However,  virtually  all of  the  APS hearings were eventually  
held and/or completed (34,626  out of 34,736; 99.7%).  
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Administrative Per Se Process Measures 
Total Administrative Per Se (APS) Actions : 2020 2021 % change 

• Total APS1 actions initiated (including actions later set aside) 101,575 112,429 10.69 

› Total .082 APS actions initiated 94,839 106,130 11.91 

› Total .013 suspensions initiated 6,736 6,299 -6.49 

• Total APS actions set aside 10,275 9,987 -2.80 

› Total .08 APS actions set aside 9,689 9,587 -1.05 

› Total .01 suspensions set aside 586 400 -31.74 

• Total APS set aside rate 10.12% 8.88% -1.23 

› Total .08 set aside rate 10.22% 9.03% -1.18 

› Total .01 set aside rate 8.70% 6.35% -2.35 

• Net total APS actions taken (excluding actions later set aside) 91,300 102,442 12.20 

› Net total .08 APS actions 85,150 96,543 13.38 

› Net total .01 actions 6,150 5,899 -4.08 

• Total APS actions taken, suspension/revocation order served by: 

› Law enforcement 72,424 83,239 14.93 

› DMV 29,151 29,190 0.13 

Net APS Actions by Offender Status/License Classification:4 

• Net total APS actions, noncommercial drivers 89,892 100,928 12.28 

• Net total commercial driver license (CDL) APS actions taken 1,408 1,514 7.53 

› Drivers in commercial vehicles 64 49 -23.44 

• Net APS .08 actions for drivers with no priors5 
59,636 69,188 16.02 

› 4-month license suspensions 47,779 53,894 12.80 

› 30-day suspensions plus 5-month COE6 restrictions 2,419 3,590 48.41 

› 4-month APS IID restrictions (possibly concurrent with post-conviction IID restrictions) 3,935 5,190 31.89 

› Chemical test refusals 5,503 6,514 18.37 

• Net APS .08 actions taken for drivers with priors 25,514 27,355 7.22 

› 12-month license suspensions 20,262 21,228 4.77 

› 12-month APS IID restrictions (possibly concurrent with post-conviction IID restrictions) 1,849 2,333 26.18 

› Revocations (Refusals) 3,403 3,794 11.49 

• Net APS .01 actions for drivers submitting to a BAC (evidential or PAS7) test 5,907 5,651 -4.33 

• Net APS .01 actions for drivers refusing to submit to a BAC (evidential or PAS) test 243 248 2.06 

APS Chemical Test Refusal Process Measures: 
• Total .08 and .01 APS refusal actions initiated (including actions later set aside) 9,502 10,967 15.42 

• Total .08 refusal actions set aside 335 398 18.81 

• Total .01 refusal actions set aside 18 13 -27.78 

• Net total .08 and .01 APS refusal actions initiated (excluding actions later set aside) 9,149 10,556 15.38 

› Net total .08 refusal actions 8,906 10,308 15.74 

› Net total .01 refusal actions 243 248 2.06 

• Chemical test refusal rate (including actions later set aside) 9.35% 9.75% 0.40 

• Net .08 APS refusal (suspension) actions for subjects with no priors 5,503 6,514 18.37 

• Net .08 APS refusal (revocation) actions for subjects with priors 3,403 3,794 11.49 

• Total Probation violation1 APS actions initiated (including actions later set aside) 4,882 4,387 -10.14 
* For percentages, the percent change column has been corrected to reflect the simple difference between the two years' percentage scores. 
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Total   APS 8 Hearings: 2020 2021  % change 

 •  Total   .08  and  .01  in-person  or  telephone APS   hearings scheduled 
9  •   Percentage of  total   APS  actions  resulting  in  scheduled hearings

37,854 

37.27% 

34,736 

30.90% 

-8.24 

-6.37 

 •   Percentage of  total   .08  and  .01  APS  hearings  resulting  in  a  stayed 10  APS action 79.10% 81.06% 1.96 

 • Total   .08  and  .01  in-person  or  telephone  APS  hearings  held  and/or  completed 37,723 34,626 -8.21 

        .08 Hearing  Activity:  
                  ›   .08  hearings  held and/or  completed 36,023 32,978 -8.45 

                  ›   .08  actions set   aside  following hearings 3,089 3,025 -2.07 

        •   Percentage of   .08  APS  actions set   aside following  hearings 8.58% 9.17% 0.60 

        .01 Hearing  Activity:  
                  ›   .01  hearings  held and/or  completed 1,700 1,648 -3.06 

                  ›   .01  actions set   aside  following hearings 122 98 -19.67 

        •   Percentage of   .01  APS  actions set   aside following  hearings 7.18% 5.95% -1.23 

 APS Chemical   Test Refusal  Hearings: 
 •  Total   .08  and  .01  APS refusal   hearings scheduled 4,525 4,070 -10.06 

 •   Percentage of  total  refusal   actions  resulting  in a   scheduled hearing 47.62% 37.11% -10.51 

 
       .08  Refusal  Hearing Activity: 

                   ›  .08  refusal heari  ngs  held  and/or completed 4,425 3,987 -9.90 

                   ›  .08  refusal  actions set   aside  following hearings 470 482 2.55 

        •   Percentage of   .08  APS refusal   actions  set  aside  following hearings 10.62% 12.09% 1.47 

 
       .01  Refusal  Hearing Activity: 

                   ›  .01  refusal  hearings  held  and/or completed 66 68 3.03 

                   ›  .01  refusal  actions set   aside  following hearings 9 6 -33.33 

        •   Percentage of   .01 refusal   actions set   aside  following hearings 13.64% 8.82% -4.81 

 Other  APS Activity: 
 • 

    
 Total   .08  and  .01  APS dismissal   hearings  scheduled  after  meeting renewed 
  right-to-hearing requirements 27 19 -29.63 

                  ›   APS  dismissal  hearings  held  and/or completed 26 19 -26.92 

                  ›   APS  actions  set  aside  following dismissal  hearings 10 8 -20.00 

        •   Percentage of   APS  actions  set  aside  following dismissal  hearings 38.46% 42.11% 3.64 

 •   Total   .08  and  .01  Driver  Safety/Driver  Investigations scheduled11
543 451 -16.94 

                  ›   APS  Driver  Safety/Driver  Investigations  held  and/or completed 532 430 -19.17 

                  ›   Actions  set  aside  following  APS  Driver  Safety/Driver Investigations 349 297 -14.90 

        •   Percentage of   APS  actions  set  aside  following Driver   Safety/Driver Investigations 65.60% 69.07% 3.47 

           

 •  Total   .08  and  .01  APS  departmental  reviews scheduled 551 535 -2.90 

                  ›   APS departmental   reviews  held  and/or completed 546 523 -4.21 

                  ›   APS  actions  set  aside  following departmental  review 21 40 90.48 

        •   Percentage of   APS  actions  set  aside  following departmental  reviews 3.85% 7.65% 3.80 
*  For   percentages, the   percent  change  column  has  been  corrected  to  reflect the  simple   difference  between  the  two  years'  percentage scores. 
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1  APS  actions  (both  .08  and  .01)  refer  to  actions  taken  in  conjunction  with  a  DUI  arrest  or  zero  tolerance  detention.   Probation  violation  APS  actions  are  those  taken  
under  California  Vehicle  Code  (CVC)  §  23154.  A  single  offense  would  result  in  concurrent  actions  taken  for  both  the  APS  and  probation  violation  if  a  violator  was  
arrested  for  DUI  while  on  DUI  probation.   
2  .08  refers  to  APS  actions  taken  against  drivers  aged  21  or  over  arrested  with  a  Blood  Alcohol  Concentration  (BAC)  equal  to  or  in  excess  of  the  .08%  per  se  level,  or  
on  the  basis  of  a  chemical  test  refusal.  Such  an  action  is  taken  in  conjunction  with  a  DUI  arrest. 
3  .01  refers  to  APS  suspensions  taken  against  drivers  under  the  age  of  21  with  a  BAC  of  .01%  or  greater  or  on  the  basis  of  a  chemical  test  refusal,  and  are  not  
necessarily  taken  in  conjunction  with  a  DUI  arrest. 
4  All  entries  in  this  category  exclude  actions  later  set  aside  but,  where  possible,  include  actions  taken  on  the  basis  of  either  a  chemical  test  refusal  or  a  BAC  test  result. 
5  Prior  DUI  convictions  or  APS  actions  consist  of  any  such  conviction  or  action  where  the  violation  occurred  within  10  years  prior  to  the  current  violation  (CVC  
§13353.3).   
6  A  Course  of  Employment  (COE;  enacted  1/1/95)  restriction  allow  driving  to,  from,  and  during  the  course-of-employment  and  to  and  from  DUI  program.  
7  PAS  is  a  Preliminary  Alcohol  Screening  test  which  is  considered  legally  sufficient  evidence  to  impose  an  action  under  the  provisions  of  the  zero  tolerance  laws. 
8  These  figures  include  refusal  hearings  but  exclude  Driver  Safety/Driver  Investigation  hearings,  subsequent  APS  dismissal  hearings,  and  departmental  reviews. 
9  Both  numerator  and  denominator  include  those  actions  later  set  aside  as  a  result  of  the  hearing.   
10  A  stay  indicates  that  the  onset  of  the  suspension  action  was  delayed  pending  completion  of  a  hearing.   The  hearings  scheduled  in  these  counts  may  be  for  
actions  that  were  initiated  anytime  in  the  past  but  for  which  the  hearing  was  scheduled  or  held  in  the  reporting  year.  
11  These  cases  may  or  may  not  have  involved  a  hearing  request. 
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