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County Fee Changes  

New Information  

The vehicle theft deterrence, investigation and prosecution, and prosecution of driving  

under the influence (Auto Theft/DUI), and fingerprint identification (FID) programs fee  

collection by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will be changed as follows. 

Effective  with vehicle registration fees due on April 1, 2017, and after:  

  Alameda County (county code [CC] 01) will  increase  its  Auto Theft/DUI  program 

fees from $1 to $2 for autos and from $3 to $4 for  Commercial Vehicle Registration 

Act (CVRA).  

  Santa Clara County (CC 43)  will increase  its  Auto Theft/DUI program fees from 

$1 to $2 for autos and from $3 to $4 for CVRA.  

  Kern County (CC 15) will  increase  its  FID program fees from $1 to $2 for autos 

and from $3 to $6 for CVRA.  

  El Dorado County (CC 09) will reinstate its  FID program at $1 for autos and $3 for  

CVRA.  

Effective  with vehicle registration fees due on or  after June 1, 2017, the Abandoned 

Vehicle Abatement (AVA) program fee  collection by DMV  will be changed as follows:  

  Del Norte County (CC 08) and  Kings County (CC 16) will extend their AVA 

programs to May  31, 2027.  

All other counties that currently have  fee programs will continue to participate and 

DMV will continue to collect the various program fees. For the complete list of 

participating  counties and fees, see the Vehicle Industry Registration Procedures  

Manual, Appendix 1A located at www.dmv.ca.gov.  

Procedures   

Process registration applications as normal; programming will generate the correct 

county fees.  

Background  

Currently, DMV collects $1 or $2 on specified motor vehicles and  an additional $2 to $4 

for CVRA vehicles registered in participating  counties for the purpose of funding Auto 

Theft/DUI, FID, and AVA programs.  

California Vehicle Code  §9250.14 allows participating California counties to increase  

the Auto Theft/DUI  and CVRA Auto Theft/DUI fees. California Vehicle Code  §9250.19 

allows participating California counties to increase the FID and CVRA FID fees. 

California Vehicle Code  §9250.7 allows participating California counties to collect 

AVA and CVRA AVA fees.  

Distribution   

Notification that this memo is available online, at  www.dmv.ca.gov under Publications 

was made via California  DMV’s Automated Email Alert System in March  2017.  

References  

 California Vehicle Code  §§9250.7, 9250.14, 9250.19, and 22660  

Contact   
Call the DMV Customer Communications Section at (916) 657-6560 for further 

clarification of this memo.  
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