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Miscellaneous Fee Increases 
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Effective: January 1, 2019  

New Information  

Vehicle fees due on January 1, 2019, and later, identified in the table below will increase. 

Procedures 

Programming is in place to calculate the following fee increases: 

Fee 

Code 

Type of Fee California Vehicle Code 

(CVC) Sections (§) 

Old 

Total 

Fee 

New Total 

Fee 

001 

101 

201 

301 

Registration §9250 $55 $57 

002 

102 

202 

302 

California Highway Patrol 

(CHP) 

§9250.8(a) not affected, 

§9250.13(a)(1) 

$25 

($4 

and 

$21) 

$26 

($4 and 

$22) 

013 

113 

213 

313 

Privately-owned school bus 

(PSB) registration/licensing 

education-related nonprofit 

purpose 

§9102.5(a) 

§9102.5(c) 

$21 $22 

016 Moped original §5036 $21 $22 

029 Special equipment (SE) 

original/transfer-pursuant 

to CVC §5014 or §5016.5 

(SE transfer is covered under 

this fee code as a new owner 

must apply and qualify) 

§5014(f) 

§9261(a) 

§9261(b) 

§9261(c) 

$21 $22 

032 One trip permit §9258 $21 $22 

035 Off-highway vehicle (OHV) 

(Motorcycle) transportation 

permit 

§38232 $21 $22 

045 SE renewal-pursuant to CVC 

§5014 or §5016.5 

§5014(f) 

§9261(d) 

$21 $22 

079 

179 

279 

379 

CHP Commercial Vehicle 

Registration Act (CVRA) 

§9250.8(a) not affected, 

§9250.8(b), 

§9250.13(2), 

§9250.13(a)(1) 

$41 

($4, 

$8, 

$8, 

and 

$21) 

$44 

($4, $9, $9, 

and $22) 

402 Title only §9254 $21 $22 
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Procedures, continued 

Fee 

Code 

Type of Fee California Vehicle Code 

(CVC) Sections (§) 

Old 

Total 

Fee 

New Total 

Fee 

403 OHV transfer §38255(a) 

§38255(b) 

§38255(c) 

$21 $22 

405 Moped transfer §5036 $21 $22 

411 Salvage certificate §11515 $21 $22 

412 OHV salvage certificate §11515 $21 $22 

421 Duplicate ownership certificate §9265(a) $21 $22 

422 Duplicate registration §9265(a) $21 $22 

423 Duplicate license plate §9265(b) $21 $22 

424 OHV duplicate ownership 

certificate 

§38260 $21 $22 

425 OHV duplicate registration §38260 $21 $22 

428 Moped duplicate identification 

(ID) card 

§5036 $21 $22 

430 Prisoner of War (POW) 

duplicate license plate 

§9265(b) $21 $22 

432 SE duplicate ID §9265(a) $21 $22 

433 Horseless carriage/historical 

vehicle/historical motorcycle 

duplicate license plate 

§5004 

§9265 

$21 $22 

434 Duplicate salvage certificate-

pursuant to CVC §11515 

§9265(a) $21 $22 

435 OHV duplicate salvage 

certificate-pursuant to 

CVC §11515 

§9265(a) $21 $22 

441 Substitute license plate §9265(b) $21 $22 

442 Substitute sticker §9265(b) $21 $22 

443 OHV substitute plate §38260 $21 $22 

446 Moped substitute plate §9265(b) $21 $22 

448 SE substitute plate §9265(b) $21 $22 

456 Partial year registration (PYR) 

service 

§9702 $21 $22 

457 Nonresident original service §9252(a) $21 $22 

458 Nonresident reregistration §9252(a) $21 $22 

465 OHV planned nonoperation 

(PNO) service 

§38121(b) $21 $22 
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Procedures, continued 

Fee 

Code 

Type of Fee California Vehicle Code 

(CVC) Sections (§) 

Old 

Total 

Fee 

New Total 

Fee 

472 VLF Refund Service R&TC 10902(c) $21 $22 

474 PNO service §4604(b) $21 $22 

484 Nonrepairable certificate §11515.2 $21 $22 

485 Duplicate nonrepairable 

certificate 

§11515.2 $21 $22 

488 Permanent trailer ID (PTI) 

paper title 

§9254 $21 $22 

542 OHV transfer penalty §38265(a) $21 $22 

621 Prejudgment attachment 

(filing/indexing notice of lien 

and certificate fee for notice of 

attachment) 

California Code of Civil 

Procedures 

§§488.385(b) and 

488.385(c) 

$21 $22 

627 Nonresident commuter permit §6700.25(e) $21 $22 

680 International Registration Plan 

(IRP) CHP 

§9250.8(a) not affected, 

§9250.13(a)(1) 

$25 

($4 

and 

$21) 

$26 

($4 and 

$22) 

693 IRP CHP §9250.8(a) not affected, 

§9250.8(b), 

§9250.13(2), 

§9250.13(a)(1) 

$41 

($4, 

$8, 

$8, 

and 

$21) 

$44 

($4, $9, $9, 

and $22) 

910 Firm substitute special license 

plate 

§9262 

§9265(b) 

$21 $22 

911 Firm duplicate registration §9262 

§9265(a) 

$21 $22 

912 Firm substitute sticker §9262 

§9265(b) 

$21 $22 

Background 

Several fees authorized by the California Vehicle Code are subject to an annual 

adjustment based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI). 

References  

California Vehicle Code §§1678, 1685, 9250.8, 9250.8(a), 9250.8(b), 9250.13(a)(1), and 

9250.13(a)(2) 

California Revenue and Taxation Code §10902(c) 

California Code of Civil Procedures §§488.385(b) and 488.385(c) 
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