
                  

NOTICE OF UNSATISFIED JUDGMENT OF $1,000 OR LESS
($750 or Less for Accidents Prior to January 1, 2017)

(READ INSTRUCTIONS ON BACK BEFORE COMPLETING)

This form is to be completed by the judgment creditor and may not be completed until 90 days after the judgment is final. The 
judgment of the small claims court must be attached to the form. The judgment must set forth the judge’s determination that the judg ment 
resulted from a motor vehicle accident occurring in California caused by the judgment debtor’s operation of a motor vehicle.

Title of Court   (Include county, judicial district or division)

Court Code 
(Available from Court Clerk)

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Plaintiff :  Defendant : 

  vs.   

Case No. :  Date Filed : 

The above judgment was based on a tort claim as a result of a motor vehicle accident.

1. The judgment was entered on  , and became final  , and remained
  MONTH DAY  YEAR MONTH DAY YEAR

 unsatisfied for 90 days thereafter.
2. Name of driver 

3. Amount of judgment (excluding court costs) 

4. Was the judgment for damages resulting from an accident involving a motor vehicle driven by the judgment debtor?  

5. Did the accident occur in California 

6. Date of accident  

7. Vehicle license plate number of vehicle driven by the judgment debtor in the accident   

8. Identifying information for judgment debtor

 Full name  Former name 

 Current address 

 Additional address 

 Birth date  California Driver License Number  
  MM / DD / YYYY

CERTIFICATION

The undersigned judgment creditor hereby certifies:

I am the judgment creditor in the attached small claims court judgment. This judgment has not been satisfied by the judgment debtor.

Full name and address of judgment creditor.

Telephone number  

I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and 
correct. 

Signed:  Date: 

FOR DMV USE ONLY: 
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New Text

NOTICE OF UNSATISFIED JUDGMENT OF $1,000* OR LESS (DL 17) INSTRUCTIONS

*($750 or Less for Accidents Prior to January 1, 2017)

ALL ENTRIES ON THE DL 17 FORM MUST BE COMPLETED
• Title of the court (same as shown on judgment).  Must be issued by a California  Justice or 

Small Claims Court.
• Accident must have occurred and judgment received in California.
• The judgment must be against the vehicle operator only, pursuant to California Code of Civil 

Procedures §116.880.
• The title of the case (plaintiff vs. defendant) must agree with judgment exactly.
• Case number and date filed (must agree with judgment exactly).

Numbered Entries:
1. The judgment entered and final dates should be taken from the judgment document.

3. Total amount must be $1,000 or less ($750 or less prior to January 1, 2017), excluding court 
costs.

5. To take an action, the accident must have occurred on a public street, highway, or private property 
in the State of California.

6. Must show the complete date of the accident (month/day/year).
8. Item 8 must provide sufficient identifying information to match the person to a California driver 

record.

CERTIFICATION portion - must be completed, signed and dated by judgment creditor. (The certificate 
should not be signed, dated, and submitted prior to 90 days after final date.)

COURT JUDGMENT DOCUMENT (REQUIRED)
To be acceptable, the court judgment must contain the following information:

• Title, court and case number,
• Name of the judgment debtor,
• Amount of the judgment,
• Date the judgment was entered, and
• Judge’s signature or court certification with Clerk’s signature.

The fee for processing the judgment is $20, which is nonrefundable. Please make check or money order 
payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles. Mail the fee, the completed DL 17 certification form, and 
the small claims court judgment (do not take into your local DMV field office) to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
ATTN:  Civil Judgment
P.O. Box 942884
Mail Station J237
Sacramento, CA 94284-0884

If you have any questions regarding the completion of this form, please contact our customer service 
representatives at  (916) 657-7573.

DL 17 (REV. 1/2017) WWW 


	Title of court: 
	Court Code: 
	Plaintiff: 
	Plaintiff 2: 
	Defendant: 
	Defendant 2: 
	Case No: 
	Date Filed: 
	Judgment entered on month: 
	Judgment entered on day: 
	judgment was entered on year: 
	Became final on month: 
	Became final on day: 
	became final on year: 
	name of driver: 
	amount of judment: 
	judment for damages: 
	Accident occur in California: 
	Date of Accident: 
	license number of vehicle: 
	full name: 
	aka: 
	current address: 
	former address: 
	birthdate: 
	CA dl number: 
	name of creditor: 
	street address: 
	city state zip: 
	telephone number 2: 
	Print: 
	Clear Form: 
	certification date: 


