Commercial Driver License Permit Check List
To obtain a CDL permit or CDL endorsement permit you must:
Be 21 years of age to drive commercial vehicles for hire outside of California, or 18 years of age to drive for hire within California, or 16 years of age may not drive for hire and may not drive outside of California. (VC §12515) (VC §12516)
Complete a Commercial Driver License Application form (DL 44C). To obtain this form by mail, call DMV's automated phone service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 1-800-777-0133.Complete a 10 Year History Record Check form (DL 939) if you have been issued a driver license in the same or different name to operate any type of motor vehicle in another state or other jurisdiction within the previous ten years.
Starting January 31, 2005, new federal regulations require a person who is applying for a California commercial driver license with an original Hazardous Materials (HazMat) endorsement to undergo a security threat assessment. The USA Patriot Act requires the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) to complete a security threat assessment (background records check) before the Department of Motor Vehicles issues a HazMat endorsement.
Provide your true full name.
Present an acceptable birth date/legal presence document.
Provide your social security number.
Submit a valid Medical Examination Report (DL 51). To obtain this form by mail, call DMV's automated phone service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 1-800-777-0133.
Pass the traffic laws and sign tests for the class of vehicle you will drive.
Additional information regarding a commercial permit.