The DMV is offering eligible Californians more time to complete driver’s license renewals due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Information for Seniors
New this week, seniors 70 and over can now renew their driver’s license online. This option has been available for those 69 and younger for several months now.
Drivers 70 and older are now able to renew online.
Licenses for drivers 70 and older that expire March through December 2020 are now valid until 2021. Extensions were offered as a temporary solution. A driver’s license renewal is now available and preferred. Drivers 70 and older are now able to renew online – please go online to renew your driver’s license.
Visit the Senior Drivers page for more information about renewals.
California has provided extensions or expanded online renewal eligibility for noncommercial driver licenses (including AB 60 and limited-term) expiring during the COVID-19 pandemic.
- License holders 69 and younger (Beginning March 1, 2020): Most drivers now qualify for online renewal.
- License holders over the age of 70 (March-December 2020 expirations): Extension valid for one year from original expiration date. Beginning December 6, 2020, eligible to renew online or by mail for expirations March 2020 through the COVID-19 pandemic.
All commercial driver’s licenses, endorsements, and certificates expiring March 2020-May 2021 have an extension valid through May 31, 2021. The extension is the same for commercial license holders both under and over the age of 70.
Driver License Permits
Noncommercial driver’s license permits expiring between March 1, 2020 – May 31, 2021 are extended six months or to a date 24 months from the date of application, whichever is earlier.
Commercial learner’s permits expiring between March 2020 – May 2021 have an extension valid through May 31, 2021. The extensions require no individual action on the part of drivers.
– Extensions require no action on the part of the driver.
You may be asked to complete a new application upon scheduling your new appointment. A new fee will not be collected.
– There is no cost for an extension.
– DMV has alerted California law enforcement of the extensions.
– You will not receive a new card in the mail. You may drive with an expired license or permit only if you meet the criteria outlined above for your license type.
|License/Permit Type||Expiration Month||Status|
|Age 70 & older (noncommercial)|
Age 69 & younger (noncommercial)
|Beginning March 2020||– Expanded eligibility to renew online or by mail for licenses expiring during the emergency|
|Commercial (all ages)||March 2020 -May 2021||-Extended to|
May 31, 2021
|Learner’s permits||March 2020 – May 2021||– Extended six months or to a date 24 months from the date of application|
You may be wondering…
With DMV field offices providing limited services during the COVID-19 emergency, Californians may need to renew their driver licenses at field offices and may not be eligible to renew online or by mail.
DMV is also extending permits to give applicants more time to complete the behind-the-wheel drive test.
With regard specifically to our senior customers, California law prohibited California drivers age 70 or older from renewing online or by mail. Governor Gavin Newsom signed an Executive Order on October 28, 2020, temporarily waiving this law during the COVID-19 State of Emergency. The DMV is completing the programming necessary so eligible customers (expirations March 2020 through the COVID-19 pandemic) will be able to complete their renewal online beginning December 6, 2020. Online renewal will be an option for most people even if their renewal notice states they must renew in person, including notices that state the customer needs an in-person vision test. However, if the renewal notice states a drive test is required, the customer will still need to visit an office to renew their license.
Proceed with renewing your license online or by mail. If your license is expiring or already has expired, you can request a temporary extension while you wait to receive your new card. There is no late fee for renewing an expired license.
A paper extension notice is optional. DMV has extended eligible driver licenses and alerted law enforcement of the extension.
You may also call the DMV Call Center at 1-800-777-0133 to request a paper copy.
Yes. Your recently expired license is sufficient to pass through airport security without the temporary paper extension. TSA will accept recently expired state-issued driver license or identification cards.