DMV-Hidden

Web Content Viewer

Actions
Loading...
DMV-Hidden

Exemption Requests

Actions
Loading...

Exemption Requests

Pursuant to state law, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will conduct a Statewide Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Pilot Program that requires all repeat and all injury-involved driving under the influence (DUI) offenders to install an IID for a time-period ranging from 1 to 4 years, depending on the number of prior DUI convictions.

The pilot program applies to DUI offenders convicted of a DUI involving alcohol or a combination of alcohol and drugs, and whose offenses occur between January 1, 2019 and January 1, 2026. 

Offenders subject to mandatory IID installation under the pilot program may qualify for an exemption.

If an exemption is granted, offenders must serve their full suspension or revocation term and complete their DUI treatment program.

IID Program Exemption

If your violation date occurred on or after January 1, 2019, and you are subject to mandatory IID installation pursuant to California Vehicle Code (VC) §23575.3, then you may qualify for an exemption if you meet all of the following requirements:

  • You do not own a vehicle.
  • You do not have access to a vehicle at your place of residence.
  • You no longer have access to the vehicle used when arrested for the violation that resulted in the DUI conviction.

If the above applies to you, then you must complete the following on the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Exemption Request (DL 4062) form:

  • Section 1 – Driver Information
  • Section 2 – Conviction Information
  • Section 3 – Exemption (check the IID Program Exemption box)
  • Section 4 – Certification

Once completed, you must submit the DL 4062 form to DMV at the address below within 30 days from the date of your suspension or revocation notice.

Out-of-State Exemption

If your violation date occurred on or after January 1, 2019 in California and you are subject to mandatory IID installation pursuant to VC §23575.3, but you reside in another state, then you may qualify for an out-of-state exemption if the following apply:

  • You have completed a California DUI treatment program.
  • You have not completed your mandatory IID restriction period.

If the above applies to you, then you must complete the following on the DL 4062 form:

  • Section 1 – Driver Information
  • Section 2 – Conviction Information
  • Section 3 – Exemption (check the Out-of-State Exemption box)
  • Section 4 – Certification

Once completed, you must submit the DL 4062 form and at least one acceptable out-of-state residency document to DMV at the address below.

An acceptable out-of-state residency document is one of the following documents that lists your first and last name, and the residence address matches the residence address listed on the DL 4062 form:

  • Receipts for payment of resident tuition at a public institution of higher education or school records.
  • Home utility bill including cellular phone bill.
  • Documents issued by a licensing authority indicating a current application for a driver license in the state of residence.
  • Official voter registration documents.
  • Official document issued by a governmental agency that can be used by the department to prove residency.
  • Rental or lease agreement with the signature of the owner/landlord and the tenant/resident.
  • Deed or title to residential real property.
  • Mortgage bill.
  • Filing of homeowner’s property tax exemption or homestead exemption certificate.
  • Medical document.
  • Employment document.
  • Insurance document, including medical, dental, vision, life, home, rental, and vehicle.
  • Change of Address Confirmation by the United States Postal Service.
  • Property tax bill or statement.
  • Faith based document that includes the name and address of the issuing organization.
  • Tax return documents.
  • Record of financial institution.
  • Court documents that list the applicant as a resident outside of California.

Additional information can be found in the Termination of Action for Out-of-State Residents webpage if you have not completed a California DUI treatment program and the mandatory IID restriction period.

Medical Exemption

If your violation date occurred on or after January 1, 2019, you are subject to mandatory IID installation pursuant to VC §23575.3, and you have a medical condition that does not permit you to breathe with sufficient strength to activate the IID, then you may qualify for a medical exemption.

For additional information regarding the medical exemption request, contact the Mandatory Actions Unit at (916) 657-6525.

Form Information

Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Exemption Request (DL 4062) (PDF)

Mail the original form to:
Department of Motor Vehicles
Mandatory Actions Unit M/S J233
PO Box 942890
Sacramento, CA 94290-0001

Customers with questions related to a DUI suspension or revocation should contact the Mandatory Actions Unit at (916) 657-6525.

 
Complementary Content