Notice of Unsatisfied Judgement of $1000 or less DL 17
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view, fill out and print forms. To incorporate the latest accessibility features download of the latest version of Acrobat Reader may be required. If you have problems with Acrobat Reader or our PDF form, select PDF Troubleshooting.
Use this form if the judgment is for $1000 or less in property damage ($750 or less for accidents prior to January 1, 2017). When the form is received, DMV will suspend the judgment debtor(s) for 90 days.
The California Compulsory Financial Responsibility Law provides that vehicle owners and/or drivers must be financially responsible for damages and/or injuries caused by the ownership or operation of their motor vehicle if that vehicle is involved in an automobile accident.
The party who is not at fault for the accident (unless compensated for damages and/or injuries), has the right to sue in civil court to recover monetary damages to property and/or for injuries resulting from the accident.
If the court awards a civil judgment against the "at fault party" (judgment debtor), and that party fails within 90 days to satisfy the judgment award, the California Vehicle Code (CVC) allows DMV to suspend the person's driving privilege (CVC Section 16370.5).
You may mail the DL 17, the certified court documents, and a $20 administrative service fee to:
Department of Motor Vehicles
Financial Responsibility Area
Civil Judgment Section
P.O. Box 942884
Sacramento, CA 94284-0884