DMV-Hidden

Web Content Viewer

Actions
Loading...
DMV-Hidden

Agent's Handbook for Registration of Undocumented Vessels - Chapter 6

Actions
Loading...

Renewal

6.000 Application of Stickers

It is recommended that each applicant be advised to remove the old sticker from each side of the vessel. The new stickers contain instructions on the reverse side for proper application.

6.005 Biennial Renewal (CVC §9861)

Vessel registration expires on December 31 of every odd-numbered year and must be renewed on or before midnight of that date to avoid a 50 percent penalty. Renewal billing notices are mailed approximately two months before the expiration date. A vessel must be located in California to be renewed. A certificate of nonoperation (CNO) is not acceptable for vessels. The biennial renewal fee is due in addition to any other fees due on original/transfer applications submitted within 30 days of the expiration date. A new application and registration fee must be submitted for any dealer or manufacturer vessel number that is not renewed prior to midnight of the expiration date. A CNO is not acceptable.

6.010 Certificate of Non-Operation (REG 102) Form

A Certificate of Non-Operation (REG 102) form cannot be accepted for vessels. A Statement of Facts (REG 256) form is required if the vessel has been in dealer inventory.

6.015 Fee-Exempt Vessel Renewals

Fee-exempt renewals are processed the same as regular renewals, except no fees are due.

Fee-exempt vessels are identified by the two-letter suffix in the CF numbers as follows:

  • LC—Government owned livery.
     
  • XS—Owned by the federal government.
     
  • XS—State owned.
     
  • YB—Owned by a youth group.
     
  • XC—Owned by a city, county, district, or other municipality.

For information on fee-exempt special numbers (see Chapter 2 of this handbook).

6.020 Receipt of Renewal Stickers

Upon receipt of renewal stickers, verify the numbers with the Notice of Transfer of Accountable or Controlled Items (ADM 518), sign the white copy, and return it to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Occupational Licensing, MS L224
PO Box 932342
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420

After December 31, list on the REG 256 the beginning and ending numbers of the previous year stickers on hand. Send the REG 256 to the Occupational Licensing Unit and destroy the old stickers.

6.025 Renewal With a Renewal Billing Notice (CVC §9860)

To renew registration using a renewal billing notice, complete the following:

  • Verify that the address shown on the notice is correct. If there is a change of residence or vessel location (the vessel must be located in California), print the new address directly below the old address, and line out the old address in the appropriate section.
     
  • Collect the amount shown on the billing notice.
     
  • Issue a Miscellaneous Receipt and Temporary Certificate of Number (BOAT 103).
     
  • Issue a Vessel Sticker (BOAT 104). Verify the serial number of the new stickers to be issued. Log the sticker number and the vessel CF number in the appropriate spaces on the BOAT 103.
     
  • Give the applicant the stickers and the white copy of the BOAT 103.
     
  • Log the information on the Transmittal of Vessel Registration Application (ADM 173-1).
     
  • Staple the pink copy of the BOAT 103 to the application.

Note: It is imperative that receipts and stickers be issued in sequence, because these are accountable items.

6.030 Renewal Without a Renewal Billing Notice

If the applicant does not have the renewal billing notice, renewal may be completed as follows:

  • Obtain the Certificate of Number (or a photocopy) for the last year of registration.
     
  • Collect the renewal fee (see Chapter 3, Vessel Registration Fees and Use Tax).
     
  • Issue a BOAT 103.
     
  • Issue a BOAT 104 verify the serial number of the new stickers to be issued. Log the sticker number and the vessel CF number in the appropriate spaces of the BOAT 103.
     
  • Give the applicant the stickers and the white copy of the BOAT 103.
     
  • Log the information on the ADM 173-1.
     
  • Staple the pink copy of the BOAT 103 to the old Certificate of Number.

Some applicants may not have received the prior year California Certificate of Number or a renewal billing notice, although they may have last year’s registration sticker on their vessel. This may be due to:

  • An old address on the database.
     
  • The transaction is being held in the incomplete correspondence file in DMV awaiting additional clearance from the applicant.

When applicants have not received the prior year certificate of number or a renewal billing notice, call DMV Vessel Unit at (916) 657-7104. Agent’s

6.035 Vessels with Delinquent Property Taxes (CVC §§9880, 9900; CR&TC §§227, 3205; CH&NC §503)

DMV shall not renew or transfer title to or interest in a vessel if the county tax collector has notified DMV that taxes for the vessel are delinquent.

After the delinquent taxes have been paid or the delinquency is otherwise satisfied, the county tax collector will either issue a Vessel Tax Disposition (BOAT 120) form to the vessel owner or update the vessel’s record at DMV and remove the vessel tax hold. The vessel registration can then be renewed

 

previous page | table of contents | next page

Complementary Content