Contact: Office of Public Affairs
2415 First Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95818
(916) 657–6437 | email@example.com
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
March 28, 2018
Fresno Disabled Parking Placard Abusers have Difficulty Evading Enforcement Efforts
DMV cites one out of nine during latest crackdown
Fresno – The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has a message for people fraudulently using disabled parking placards: “We will catch you.” As part of the department's unrelenting crackdown on placard misuse, DMV investigators cited 10 out of 91 people contacted during an enforcement operation today in downtown Fresno. Statewide, the DMV has issued 1,664 citations between July 1, 2017 and February 28, 2018.
Offenders must appear in court to face possible fines that range from $250 to $1,000 and risk having a notation placed on their driver record. Individuals assigned a disabled parking placard are the only people allowed to use one – anyone else is breaking the law.
“The DMV is committed to searching out drivers who misuse disabled parking placards and hamper the mobility of our disabled community,” said DMV Director Jean Shiomoto. “Our goal is to have our proactive enforcement operations combined with our aggressive education efforts will result in more people complying with the law. I ask you to save the space.”
The DMV launched a comprehensive public awareness campaign last year, which includes publicizing results of its monthly enforcement operations throughout the state. The public and media are encouraged to download, display and share posters, brochures, and public service announcements available in English and Spanish at https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/about/dppp_outreach.
In addition, the DMV has implemented new procedures aimed at reducing fraud. Disabled parking placard applicants must now provide proof of their true full name and birthdate. Placard holders are now limited to four replacements without a medical recertification every two years and they must submit a renewal notice every six years beginning with placards that expire in June 2023. Currently, permanent disabled parking placards expire in June 2019 and are automatically renewed every two years.
Individuals who suspect disabled parking placard misuse are urged to inform the DMV by using an online complaint form or contacting their local DMV Investigations office. It is important to note that some qualifying disabilities are not visually apparent and allegations of misuse might be unfounded.
For complete information about disabled parking placards: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/vr/disabled
Jaime Garza, DMV Spokesperson - https://we.tl/eVirOiycQ7
Never miss the latest news from the CA DMV. Sign up now for DMV News Alerts! It’s an easy way to receive up-to-date information from the California Department of Motor Vehicles. This tool also offers customization to obtain specific DMV related topics, such as REAL ID, AB 60, autonomous vehicles, and field office openings and closures. To subscribe or unsubscribe from DMV News Alerts, visit https://www.emailalert.dmv.ca.gov/DMVEmail_Alert/