Contact: Office of Public Affairs
2415 First Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95818
(916) 657–6437 | email@example.com
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
December 2, 2013
Autonomous Vehicle Testing Regulations Published
DMV Will Accept Public Comment until January 13, 2014
SACRAMENTO -The California Department of Motor Vehicles today announced that proposed regulations governing the testing of self-driving and autonomous cars on California's public roadways have been published in the Office of Administrative Law's California Regulatory Notice Register, marking the start of a 45-day public comment period before the regulations can become final in spring 2014.
"California is leading the way in autonomous vehicles and these testing regulations are the first step in making the technology available," said Bernard Soriano, DMV's Deputy Director who leads the autonomous vehicle effort. "DMV continues to welcome public comment and ideas on the development of these vehicle testing regulations."
A full text of the draft testing regulations is available at http://oal.ca.gov/res/docs/pdf/notice/48z-2013.pdf, starting on page 1867.
Written public comment on the proposed regulations will be accepted for 45 days until January 13, 2014 by contacting DMV at LRegulations@dmv.ca.gov. A public hearing and opportunity for public comment is also scheduled for January 14, 2014 in the Assembly Room at DMV's headquarters in Sacramento and will be webcast.
After the public hearing, DMV will deliver final testing regulations to the Office of Administrative Law for approval. Those regulations then go into effect 120 days after approval.
For the past eleven months, the California Department of Motor Vehicles has been developing testing regulations as mandated by Senate Bill 1298 (Vehicle Code Section 38750). The regulations include requirements for testing vehicles, insurance, reporting and registration.
In addition to the just-released testing regulations, the DMV is working on regulations that will cover the public operation of self-driving cars on California's roadways. Those regulations will be completed by January 1, 2015.
For more information on the Autonomous Vehicle Regulations, including information about public comment, visit: http://www.dmv.ca.gov/vr/autonomous/auto.htm.
Don't Stand In Line, Go Online! Doing business with the DMV has never been easier. The DMV offers an array of services to customers 24 hours a day, 7 days a week through its Website including online advance appointments for written and drive tests; vehicle registration and driver license renewals, selection of personalized license plates, changes of address and payment of fees via secure debit transactions. Customers can also effect transactions by calling DMV customer service at (800) 777-0133. DMV is a department under the California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA).