DMV-Hidden

Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

Actions
Loading...
DMV-Hidden

Driving School Instructor License Application Requirements

Actions
Loading...

Driving School Instructor License Application Requirements

 

Driving School Handbook (PDF)

Driving School Instructor Plan (guidelines) (PDF)


Driving Instructor's Original/Reinstatement License Application Forms

Forms

An application for a driving school instructor license consists of the following forms:

The following documents are also required as part of the application package:

  • Driving School Instructor Written Test
  • Certificate of Course Completion (60 hrs.)
  • Proof of High School Graduation or Equivalent

Schedule an appointment at a local DMV Inspector Office to submit all documents identified above and complete a written examination within three attempts.

Top of page

Driving Instructor Examination

A written test covering:

  • Traffic laws
  • Safe driving practices
  • Operation of motor vehicles
  • Knowledge of teaching methods and techniques
  • First Aid
  • Regulations pertaining to the teaching of automobile driver education and driver training to minors under 18, pursuant to CVC Section 12814.6 (a)(4)(B)

Fees

  • $30 Non-refundable application fee
  • $1 Family Support Program fee
  • $30 Additional license
  • $30 Reinstatement license fee
  • $15 Duplicate or replacement license fee
  • $15 Transfer of license fee

An application must be completed within one year or a new application with all examinations and fees will be required.

The Family Support Program fee is paid on original, renewal, and reinstatement applications.


Driving Instructor's License Renewal Forms and Fees

Forms

The following documents are also required as part of the application package:

  • Driving School Instructor Written Test (*) or
  • Certificate of completion for a department approved 18 hour continuous education program

(*) Schedule an appointment at a local DMV Inspector Office to submit all documents identified above and complete a written examination within three attempts.

Fees

  • $1 Family Support Program fee
  • $30 Renewal application fee

The Family Support Program fee is paid on original, renewal, and reinstatement applications.


Driving Instructor's Modification Forms and Fees


Driving School Instructor Licensing Authority

California Vehicle Code. Sections 310.4, 1651, and 11100 to 11114. The California Vehicle Code is available for purchase from the Department of Motor Vehicles.

California Code of Regulations. Title 13, Chapter 1.

Government Code. Section 6157 (a) - (d).


Application Questions and Submission Information

Please refer to the Driving School Handbook

Top of page

 
 
 

 

Complementary Content