DMV-Hidden

Web Content Viewer

Actions
Loading...
DMV-Hidden

Application Requirements for a Driving School Owner's License

Actions
Loading...

 

Application Requirements for a Driving School Owner's License

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader (version 5 or greater) to view some of the linked documents on this page. If you have problems with Acrobat Reader see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions.

 


Driving School Handbook (PDF)

Driver Education Curriculum

Driver Education Lesson Plan (guidelines)(PDF)

 

Driving School Owner License Forms and Fees

Forms

An application for a driving school owner license consists of the following forms:

Top of page

The following documents are also required as part of the application package:

  • Photograph(s) of business and/or classroom location, refer to Photograph Procedures
  • Corporation, Limited Liability Company or Limited Liability Partnership owned businesses only: Statement of Information (SI 550) or Statement of Information LLC (LLC 12) filed with the Secretary of State.
  • Copy of your City and/or County Business License, Certificate of Occupancy Licensee, or Tax Certificate.  If required by City/County you are doing business in.
  • Copy of your Fictitious Name Statement
  • Copy of your rental or lease agreement

Original Application Fees

  • $150 Non-refundable application
  • $1 Family Support Program fee
  • $70 For each branch license or license modification

If you plan to issue student licenses:

  • $50 Book of 25 student licenses ($2.00 each)

An application must be completed within one year or a new application with all examinations and fees will be required. The Family Support Program fee is paid on original, renewal, and reinstatement applications.

The license to own a driving school does not include the right to give instruction.


Driving School Owner License Renewal Forms and Fees

Forms

Fees

  • $1 Family Support Program fee
  • $50 Renewal application fee
  • $50 Renewal of branch location (each location)

The Family Support Program fee is paid on original, renewal, and reinstatement applications.


Driving School Owner License Modification Forms and Fees

Forms


Driving School Owner Licensing Authority

California Vehicle Code. Sections 223, 310.6, 310.8, 311, 320 (a), 1651, 1670, 1671, and 11100 to 11114. The California Vehicle Code is available for purchase from the Department of Motor Vehicles.

California Code of Regulations. Title 13, Chapter 1.

Education Code. Sections 41913-41919, 51220, and 51852.

Government Code. Section 6157 (a) - (d).

Labor Code. Section 3700.


Application Questions and Submission Information

Please refer to the Driving School Handbook

Top of page

 
 
 
Complementary Content