Testing of Autonomous Vehicles with a Driver
Adopted Regulations for Testing of Autonomous Vehicles by Manufacturers
DMV conducted two public workshops in 2013 related to developing regulations for testing of autonomous vehicles. The proposed regulations were then published in the Office of Administrative Law's California Regulatory Notice Register on November 29, 2013. The publishing marked the start of a 45-day public comment period, which ended on January 13, 2014. After a public hearing held on January 14, 2014, DMV delivered final testing regulations to the Office of Administrative Law for approval.
The autonomous vehicles testing regulations, which require a driver, effective on September 16, 2014.
The regulations adopted by the Office of Administrative Law on February 26, 2018, amend the regulatory text for testing with a driver.
Information for Manufacturers Testing of Autonomous Vehicles with a Driver
The autonomous vehicles testing regulations establish an Autonomous Vehicle Tester Program that is administered by the department's Occupational Licensing Branch. DMV is currently accepting applications for the Autonomous Vehicle Tester Program.
You may view the requirements and application process for manufacturers to obtain DMV's approval prior to testing autonomous vehicles on California public roads.
As of November 29, 2018, there are 61 Autonomous Vehicle Testing Permit holders.
Autonomous Vehicle Collision Reports
Under the testing regulations, manufacturers are required to provide DMV with a Report of Traffic Collision Involving an Autonomous Vehicle (form OL 316) within 10 business days of the incident.
View Autonomous Vehicle Collision Reports submitted to the department. Each OL 316 is redacted of information that is not appropriate for disclosure under the California Public Records Act.
Autonomous Vehicle Disengagement Reports
The California Autonomous Vehicle Testing Regulations require every manufacturer authorized to test autonomous vehicles on public roads to submit an annual report summarizing the disengagements of the technology during testing. This "disengagement report" is due by January 1 of each year. The first report covers the period from the date of issuance of the Testing Permit to November 30 of the following year. Subsequent reports cover the period of December 1 to November 30.
A new Annual Report of Autonomous Vehicle Disengagement (OL 311R) (PDF) is now required for all permit holders. The new form should be used for the January 1, 2019 report.
Seven manufacturers (Bosch, Delphi Automotive, Google (Waymo), Nissan, Mercedes Benz, Telsa, and Volkswagen) were required in 2014 to submit their first disengagement reports by January 1, 2016.
Four additional manufacturers (BMW, GM Cruise, Ford, and Honda) were permitted in 2015 and were required to submit their first disengagement report by January 1, 2017.
Nine additional manufacturers (Baidu USA, Drive.ai, Faraday & Future Inc., NIO USA, NVIDIA, Telenav Inc., Valeo North America, Wheego, and Zoox Inc.) were permitted in 2016 and were required to submit their first disengagement report by January 1, 2018.
The manufacturers permitted in 2017 will submit their first disengagement report by January 1, 2019.
View the 2015 Disengagement Reports.
View the 2016 Disengagement Reports.
View the 2017 Disengagement Reports.
View the 2017 Disengagement Reports Supplemental Information.
Previous Hearings and Workshops
If you have been unable to attend the previous workshop or public hearings, you may view the Previous Autonomous Vehicle Workshops and Videos
Background on Autonomous Vehicles
For more general information about autonomous vehicles, visit Autonomous Vehicles in California.