

Vehicle Industry News VIN 2023-02 Miscellaneous Fee Increases

DIGITAL CHANNELS BRANCH • DIGITAL SERVICES DIVISION • © 2023 STATE OF CALIFORNIA, DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Issue Date: January 5, 2023

New Information

Effective January 1, 2023, the fees identified in the following list increased based on the consumer price index (CPI).

Procedures

Programming is already in place to calculate the individual fee increases:

Fee Code	Service or Transaction Fee	Affected Vehicle Code Section (§)	Current Fee Amount	New Fee Amount
001 101 201 301	Registration	Vehicle Code (VC) §9250	\$62	\$65
002 102 202 302	California Highway Patrol (CHP)	VC §9250.8(a) not affected VC §9250.13(a)(1)	\$29 (\$5) (\$24)	\$30 (\$5) (\$25)
013 113 213 313	Privately-owned School Bus registration & licensing education related/nonprofit purpose	VC §9102.5(a) VC §9102.5(b)	\$23	\$25
016	Moped original	VC §5036	\$23	\$25
029	Special Equipment (SE) original/transfer: pursuant to VC §5014 or §5016.5 (SE transfer is under this fee code as a new owner must apply and qualify)	VC §5014(f) VC §9261(a) VC §9261(b) VC §9261(c)	\$23	\$25
032	One Trip Permit	VC §9258	\$23	\$25
035	Off Highway Vehicle (OHV) (Motorcycle) Transportation Permit	VC §38232	\$23	\$25
045	SE renewal: pursuant to VC §5014 or §5016.5	VC §5014(f) VC §9261(d)	\$23	\$25
079 179 279 379	CHP Commercial Vehicle Registration Act (CVRA)	VC §9250.8(a) not affected VC §9250.8(b) VC §9250.13(a)(2) VC §9250.13(a)(1)	\$47 (\$5) (\$9) (\$9) (\$24)	\$50 (\$5) (\$10) (\$10) (\$25)

VIN 2023-02 Page 2 of 4

Procedures, continued

Fee Code	Service or Transaction Fee	Affected Code Section (§)	Current Fee Amount	New Fee Amount
296 297 298 299	Road Improvement	VC §9250.6 (b)	\$102	\$108
	Transportation Improvement: If vehicle value is \$0–\$4,999	California Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) §11052(b)	\$28	\$29
316	If vehicle value is \$5,000– \$24,999		\$56	\$59
317 318 319	If vehicle value is \$25,000– \$34,999		\$112	\$118
	If vehicle value is \$35,000– \$59,999		\$168	\$177
	If vehicle value is \$60,000 or more		\$196	\$206
402	Title only	VC §9254	\$23	\$25
403	OHV transfer	VC §38255(a) VC §38255(b) VC §38255(c)	\$23	\$25
405	Moped transfer	VC §5036	\$23	\$25
411	Salvage certificate	VC §11515	\$23	\$25
412	Salvage certificate OHV	VC §11515	\$23	\$25
421	Replacement certificate of ownership	VC §9265(a)	\$23	\$25
422	Replacement registration	VC §9265(a)	\$23	\$25
423	Replacement plate	VC §9265(b)	\$23	\$25
424	OHV replacement ownership	VC §38260	\$23	\$25
425	OHV replacement registration	VC §38260	\$23	\$25
428	Moped replacement ID card	VC §5036	\$23	\$25
430	Prisoner of War (POW) replacement plate	VC §9265(b)	\$23	\$25
432	SE replacement ID	VC §9265(a)	\$23	\$25
433	Horseless carriage/Historical vehicle replacement plate	VC §5004 VC §9265	\$23	\$25
434	Replacement salvage certificate: pursuant to VC §11515	VC §9265(a)	\$23	\$25
435	OHV replacement salvage certificate: pursuant to VC §11515	VC §9265(a)	\$23	\$25

Procedures, continued

Fee Code	Service or Transaction Fee	Affected Code Section (§)	Current Fee Amount	New Fee Amount
441	Substitute plate	VC §9265(b)	\$23	\$25
442	Substitute sticker	VC §9265(b)	\$23	\$25
443	OHV substitute plate	VC §38260	\$23	\$25
446	Moped substitute plate	VC §9265(b)	\$23	\$25
448	SE substitute plate	VC §9265(b)	\$23	\$25
456	Partial year registration	VC §9702	\$23	\$25
457	Nonresident original	VC §9252(a)	\$23	\$25
458	Nonresident reregistration	VC §9252(a)	\$23	\$25
465	OHV planned nonoperation	VC §38121(b)	\$23	\$25
472	Vehicle License Fee (VLF) refund	RTC §10902(c)	\$23	\$25
474	Planned nonoperation	VC §4604(b)	\$23	\$25
484	Nonrepairable vehicle certificate	VC §11515.2	\$23	\$25
485	Replacement non-repairable certificate	VC §11515.2	\$23	\$25
488	Permanent Trailer Identification paper title	VC §9254	\$23	\$25
542	OHV transfer penalty	VC §38265(a)	\$23	\$25
621	Prejudgment attachment (filing/indexing Notice of Lien & certificate fee for Notice of Attachment)	Code of Civil Procedure (CCP) §488.385(b) CCP §488.385(c)	\$23	\$25
627	Nonresident Commuter Permit	VC §6700.25(e)	\$23	\$25
680	International Registration Plan (IRP) CHP	VC §9250.8(a) not affected VC §9250.13(a)(1)	\$29 (\$5) (\$24)	\$30 (\$5) (\$25)
693	IRP CVRA CHP	VC §9250.8(a) not affected VC §9250.8(b) VC §9250.13(a)(2) VC §9250.13(a)(1)	\$47 (\$5) (\$9) (\$9) (\$24)	\$50 (\$5) (\$10) (\$10) (\$25)

VIN 2023-02

Page 4 of 4

Procedures, continued

Fee Code	Service or Transaction Fee	Affected Code Section (§)	Current Fee Amount	New Fee Amount
910	Firm special plate substitute	VC §9262 VC §9265(b)	\$23	\$25
911	Firm replacement registration	VC §9262 VC §9265(a)	\$23	\$25
912	Firm substitute sticker	VC §9262 VC §9265(b)	\$23	\$25

Background

Legislation provided that as of January 1, 2005, and every January 1 thereafter, fee amounts will increase when a calculation using the California Consumer Price Index (CPI) for the prior year provided by the California Department of Finance is equal to or greater than \$0.50.

Reference

Vehicle Code §§1678 and 1685

Distribution

Notification that this memo is available at dmv.ca.gov under Vehicle Industry Services, was made via the California DMV Automated Email Alert System in January 2023.

Contact

Call the DMV Customer Communications Section at (916) 657-6560 for further clarification of this memo.