

OL 301 (REV. 8/2009) WWW

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR A VEHICLE VERIFIER LICENSE

PURPOSE

The purpose of this pamphlet is to advise the prospective vehicle verifier of the requirements to obtain a vehicle verifier license from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

VEHICLE VERIFIER DEFINED

CVC Section 675.5

A "vehicle verifier" is a person not expressly excluded by California Vehicle Code (CVC) Section 675.6 who inspects, records, documents, and submits to the department, or its authorized representative, such proof of vehicle identification as may be required by the department for the purpose of registering or transferring the ownership of vehicles.

VEHICLE VERIFIER EXCLUSIONS

CVC Section 675.6.

- (a) "Vehicle Verifier" does not include any of the following:
 - A peace officer.
 - An authorized employee of the department.
 - A special agent of the National Auto Theft Bureau.
 - An employee of an organization certified under the provisions of Part 5 (commencing with CVC Section 12140) of Division 2 of the Insurance Code whose duties require or authorize the verification of vehicles.
- (b) Any person specified in subdivision (a) may perform the duties of a vehicle verifier without obtaining the special permit required in CVC Section 11300.

PERMIT REQUIRED

CVC Section 11300

It shall be unlawful for any person to act as a vehicle verifier without first having procured a vehicle verifier's permit issued by the department, or when such permit has been canceled, suspended, revoked or invalidated.

BACKGROUND INVESTIGATION

CVC Section 11302 & CCR, Title 13, Chapter 1

A background investigation is conducted on all applicants. Failure to disclose convictions or providing incorrect information on the application may result in the refusal or denial of your license.

The department may refuse to issue a license to any applicant who has been convicted of a crime or committed any act or engaged in any conduct involving moral turpitude which is substantially related to the qualifications or duties of the licensed activity. A conviction based on a plea of nolo contendere is a conviction within the meaning of this section.

Persons previously working under a license issued by DMV, which was revoked or suspended for cause, may also be denied a license. In addition, the California Code of Regulations (CCR) and other sections of the CVC provide guidelines used by the department in determining whether a license should be issued.

REQUIREMENTS FOR A VEHICLE VERIFIER'S LICENSE

CVC Sections 11300 & 11309

Every applicant for a vehicle verifier's license must:

- File an application on the appropriate forms with the department.
- Pay all required fees.

Vehicle Verifier's License Forms

CVC Section 11301

An application for a vehicle verifier license consists of the following forms:

- OL 19, Application for an Vehicle Verifier Occupational License
- OL 26, Surety Bond for Vehicle Verifier (\$5,000 bond)
 - or \$5,000 cash and forms OL 64/94
 - or \$5,000 in a passbook account and forms OL 64/65
 - or \$5,000 certificate of deposit made payable to DMV and forms OL 64/65
- OL 29, Personal History Questionnaire, Part B
- DMV 8016, Request for Live Scan Service (receipt)

Vehicle Verifier's Licensing Fees

CVC Section 11309

The fees to become a licensed vehicle verifier are:

- \$50 Non-refundable original application fee
- \$1 Family Support Program fee*

All original permits shall be issued for a period of not less than two years, except in the case of a probationary license, which, in the discretion of the department, may be issued for a shorter term.

*The Family Support Program fee is paid on original, renewal, and reinstatement applications.

Vehicle Verifier Renewal, Reinstatement, and Duplicate License Fees

These fees are as follows:

- \$15 Renewal fee
- \$50 Reinstatement fee
- \$15 Duplicate license fee
- \$1 Family Support fee

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE APPLICATION

Application for Vehicle Verifier's Permit (OL 19)

- 1. **Application:** Check appropriate box.
- 2. Name: Enter your true full name.
- 3. Telephone Number: Enter your home telephone number.
- 4. Mailing Address: Enter your mailing address, if applicable..
- 5. Residence Address: Enter your address, city, state and zip code.
- 6. Sex: Enter your sex.
- 7. Color Hair: Enter your hair color.
- 8. Color Eyes: Enter your eye color.
- 9. Height: Enter your height.
- 10. Weight: Enter your weight.
- 11. Applicant's California Driver License number: Enter your California Driver License number.
- 12. Expiration Year: Enter the expiration year of your California Driver License.
- 13. Birthdate: Enter your birthdate.
- 14. Social Security Number: Enter your Social Security Number.
- 15. Firm Name: Enter your employer's firm name.
- 16. **Telephone Number**: Enter your employer's telephone number.
- 17. Firm License Number: Enter your employer's firm license number.
- 18. Firm Address: Enter your employer's address, city, state and zip code.
- 19. Applicant's Signature: Sign your name.
- 20. Date: Enter the date the application is completed.
- 21. Applicant's Signature (on page 2): Sign your name.
- 22. Date (on page 2): Enter the date the application is completed.

Surety Bond of Vehicle Verifier (OL 26)

A Surety Bond of Vehicle Verifier in the amount of \$5,000 issued by an insurance company must be submitted with your application or one of the following:

- \$5,000 cash and forms OL 65/94
- \$5,000 in a passbook account and forms OL 64/65
- \$5,000 certificate of deposit made payable to DMV and forms OL64/65

Note: CVC Section 11301.5 requires the Department to hold the cash bond, passbook, or certificate of deposit three (3) years from the date a vehicle verifier has ceased to be licensed.

If you obtain a Surety Bond of Vehicle Verifier, it must be in the applicant's true full name **ONLY**. To be acceptable, the Surety Bond:

- Must be signed by the surety company.
- The printed or typed name on **the bond must match the application exactly or the application will be returned to you.** Example: The name appearing on the application is Robert Joseph Smith; therefore, the bond must be written as Robert Joseph Smith.

Note: A bond is not required if you are employed by the city, state, county, or government agency. Your employer must be listed on the bottom of the Application for Vehicle Verifier's Permit (OL 19), and employment verification must be provided on the agency's letterhead.

Personal History Questionnaire Part B (OL 29)

- 1. **Name:** Enter your true full name.
- 2. Business Area Code/Telephone Number: Enter your business telephone number.
- 3. Residence Address: Enter your address, city, county, state and zip code.
- 4. Home Area Code/Telephone Number: Enter your home telephone number.
- 5. **Date of Birth**: Enter your birthdate.
- 6. Sex: Check the appropriate box.
- 7. Hair Color: Enter your hair color.
- 8. **Eye Color:** Enter your eye color.
- 9. Height: Enter your height.
- 10. Weight: Enter your weight.
- 11. Driver License/Identification Card Number: Enter your Driver License or Identification Card number.
- 12. **Issuing State:** Enter the issuing state.
- 13. Expiration Date: Enter the expiration year of your Driver License or Identification card.
- 14. Social Security Number: Enter your Social Security Number.
- 15. **Employment History:** Enter your employment for the past three (3) years.
- 16. **Education:** Enter your education.
- 17. Background Information: Read questions 1 10 and answer "yes" or "no.". Provide details, if applicable.
- 18. Important Notice box: Read the information contained in this box and initial.
- 19. **Misdemeanor or Felony Convictions:** If you have any convictions, complete the required information and provide the department with certified copies of the court documents and police report(s).
- 20. **Signature:** Sign your name.
- 21. Title: N/A
- 22. **Date:** Enter the date the application is signed.

Request for Live Scan Service (DMV 8016)

Before submitting your application to the Department of Motor Vehicles, applicants are required to be Live Scan fingerprinted. If you have held an Occupational License issued by DMV in the past 4 (four) years, you may not require a new set of prints. This can be determined by calling Occupational Licensing at (916) 229-3128.

If fingerprints are required, contact your local Police Department, Sheriff's Department or District Education Office to determine the live scan site nearest you. A list is available from DOJ's Live Scan Internet Site at: *http://ag.ca.gov/fingerprints/publications/contact.pdf*. Please call the facility in advance to determine if appointments are required, the total fee due and the method of acceptable payment.

The Request for Live Scan Service, DMV 8016 form, must be completed and submitted to a live scan facility. Please bring an official governmental photo document (e.g., driver license, identification card, passport, etc.) to the live scan site. The yellow copy (receipt) of the Request for Live Scan Service must be submitted with your application to DMV.

VEHICLE VERIFIER LICENSE - FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Listed below are the most frequently asked questions. This list is not all-inclusive nor is it intended to be. If you have any questions, call (916) 229-3128.

Where can I obtain application forms?

All forms and application packages can be ordered by calling (916) 229-3128 or downloaded from DMV's website at *www.dmv.ca.gov*. Further licensing information is contained in the application package.

How long will it take the department to process my application?

The average time for processing an application may be up to 120 days to allow the department time for investigation and processing of the license.

Where do I file my application?

Application packages for vehicle verifiers are mailed to:

Department of Motor Vehicles Occupational Licensing Section, Individuals Unit P.O. Box 932342, MS L224 Sacramento, CA 94232-3420

Where do I call if I have questions?

If you have general licensing questions you may call (916) 229-3128.

Does the department issue temporary permits?

Pending the satisfaction of the department that the applicant has met the requirements for the license, the department may issue a temporary permit for a period not to exceed 120 days while it completes its investigation and determination of all facts relative to the qualifications of the applicant for the license.

What is the license renewal period?

The vehicle verifier's license is valid for two (2) years.

How do I renew my license?

Complete Application for Vehicle Verifier's Permit (OL 19) and mail with renewal fees to the above address.

What form is required to be completed by vehicle verifiers and how do I obtain it?

Verification of Vehicle, (REG 31). The Verification of Vehicle form is found on the backside of the Application for Title or Registration (REG 343/REG 31) COMBINED. This form may be downloaded from DMV's website at *www.dmv.ca.gov*. This form is also available from your local DMV field office, or may be ordered by mail or fax on company letterhead to:

Department of Motor Vehicles Material Management Section 4201 Sierra Point Drive, Suite 112 Sacramento, CA 95834-1998 FAX: (916) 928-7900

On your request, please list the form number or form title, quantity needed, street address for delivery (*not a P.O. Box*), and your daytime area code/telephone number.

PERMITTED VERIFICATIONS:

- Nonresident vehicles.
- Any vehicle or trailer, excluding used motorcycles, with supporting documents for which there is no California record.

All other vehicle verifications must be referred to the DMV or the California Highway Patrol for inspection.

PHOHIBITED VERIFICATIONS:

- Original applications for automobiles, motorcycles, and commercial vehicles with an unladen weight of 8000 pounds or less whose Federal Certification Label (Safety Label) is missing, altered, or as noted on the Vehicle Verification (REG 343/31) does not match the documents.
- Revived salvage or revived junk vehicles.
- Used motorcycles with unavailable records or with documents from a foreign country.
- Motorcycle with engine changes.
- Licensed Verifier's own vehicle(s).
- Incomplete or unassembled vehicles.

ADDITIONAL REFERENCE MATERIAL

RECORDS

CVC Section 11307

The law requires a vehicle verifier to maintain a record of each verification made. The record shall contain:

- (a) The name and address of the person requesting the verification and the fee charged for such verification.
- (b) The year, model, vehicle identification number, license plate number of the vehicle verified, and the state in which the vehicle was last registered.
- (c) All records maintained by the vehicle verifier shall be open to inspection by any peace officer.

RULES AND REGULATIONS

CVC Section 11308

The department may adopt rules and regulations concerning the issuance, use, and renewal of a vehicle verifier's permit, and for determining the competence of an applicant therefore.

UNLAWFUL ACTS; CAUSES FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION

CVC Section 11305

It shall be unlawful and cause of disciplinary action for the holder of a vehicle verifier's permit:

- (a) To submit to the department, or its authorized representative, any document which purports to evidence the verification of any vehicle, without having actually physically inspected such vehicle to determine the existence of proper vehicle identification.
- (b) To fail to report to the department, in a manner prescribed by the department, the absence, alteration, or obvious attempt to alter or obliterate any identifying number or number plate, or remove or attempt to remove such plate on any vehicle for which verification is performed.
- (c) To fail to physically compare identifying numbers on a vehicle inspected to the information contained in any document of title, registration, or any other form describing such vehicle.
- (d) To cause any person to suffer any loss or damage by reason of any fraud or deceit practiced upon such person in the course of the conducting of business under the vehicle verifier's permit.
- (e) To violate one or more terms and provisions of Section 20, or of Division 3 (commencing with Section 4000), or of this division of this code, or any rules or regulations adopted pursuant thereto, or of Part 5 (commencing with Section 10701) of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE VERIFICATION OF VEHICLE, REG 343/REG 31

IMPORTANT: Pursuant to Section 11305 CVC, it is an unlawful act to submit to the department any document without physically inspecting and comparing identifying numbers on the vehicle.

VERIFICATION OF VEHICLE (REG 343/REG 31) COMBINED

All entries on the verification, except for the signature of the verifier, shall be printed in black or blue ink. Only the licensee may sign the vehicle verification. The form must be *complete* and *legible* to be acceptable to the **department**. Complete the REG 31 as follows:

LICENSE PLATES ON VEHICLE

Mark the appropriate box to indicate if the vehicle has plates or a temporary permit.

LICENSE PLATE NUMBER, STATE, AND EXPIRATION DATE

Record license plate number, name of state issuing plate, and registration expiration date.

NOTE: If vehicle has a temporary permit, record the state of issuance and expiration date.

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN)

Inspect and record the actual VIN that appears on the vehicle. After the VIN is recorded on the form, compare it to the VIN that appears on the other documents presented. Note any discrepancy in the Supporting Documents and/or Remarks Section.

When inspection of a VIN reveals evidence of tampering, alteration or obliteration of the number, immediately notify the nearest Department of Motor Vehicles, Investigations Section.

When a vehicle has a die stamped VIN on the frame, inspect and record the VIN on the frame rather than the VIN on a plate. For example: a sedan has a plate in the forward luggage compartment that bears the VIN. In addition, the VIN is die stamped into the frame under the rear seat. For the purpose of verification, always inspect and record the die stamped VIN on the frame rather than the VIN on a plate.

If the vehicle you are verifying is a motor home or a van camper, the VIN used is that of the first stage manufacturer – Ford, Chevrolet, GMC, etc. This VIN is usually located in the engine compartment. Another place may be under the driver's seat. The "Make" is the second stage manufacturer – Winnebago, Fleetwood, etc. The "Model" is determined the same as for other vehicles – Warrior, Chieftan, etc.

DO NOT use the Federal Certification Label as the primary source for the VIN. If any damage has been done to the label or it cannot be read, you must go to another source for secondary verification, such as:

- Under the hood
- Firewall on some imports
- Manufacturer's label on some imports
- Equipment list label (sometimes under the trunk lid)

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) stickers are used to identify the parts on high theft vehicles. Two must be located to be used as secondary VINs.

If an alternate VIN was used to verify the VIN, check the "REMARKS" box on the Reg 31 and note in the remarks section what was used.

ENGINE NUMBER (MOTORCYCLES ONLY, CVC Section 38041)

All motorcycle verifications will include both the engine and frame numbers. If no engine number, check box.

MAKE

Enter the make name of the vehicle, not the model name — for example, "Ford", not "Pinto".

BODY TYPE

Enter body type such as "SD", "CP", "PK", etc. (Please refer to the Handbook of Registration Procedures for a complete list of body types.) If there is no body type abbreviation to match the type of vehicle being verified, enter body type "VA" and provide a brief description in the "REMARKS" section.

MODEL YEAR

Enter the manufacturer's designated "year" model as determined by VIN. Refer to NICB Book or other VIN reference manuals.

AXLES

Enter number of axles for trucks, truck tractors, and trailers.

MOTIVE POWER (FUEL)

Enter vehicle motive power. If a trailer, leave blank (can be determined from Labels Manual).

EST. WEIGHT (TRAILERS)

Enter estimated unladen trailer weight on all trailers except camp and travel (coach).

NUMBER OF WHEELS

Enter the number of wheels, only if the vehicle is a motorcycle, all-terrain vehicle, or other type of off-highway vehicle.

MODEL OR SERIES

Enter the model name or number.

FOR CMP/CCH/MTRHM

Enter the length and width.

The department may only register these types of vehicles that meet the following length and width requirements:

- Trailer Coach Cannot exceed 40 feet in overall length or 8 ¹/₂ feet in width.
- Camp Trailer Cannot exceed 16 feet in overall length or 8 feet in width.
- Motorhome Cannot exceed 45 feet in overall length or 8 ¹/₂ feet in width.

VIN LOCATION AND ATTACHED BY

Mark the boxes to indicate where the VIN was found and how it is attached.

ТҮРЕ

Mark the box to indicate how VIN is affixed.

VIN/ENGINE NUMBER (IF MOTORCYCLE, MARK BOTH VIN AND ENG BOXES)

Check appropriate boxes.

FEDERAL CERTIFICATION LABEL (1970 AND SUBSEQUENT YEAR MODELS)

Check appropriate box (located on driver door post or rear door post). When this label is missing or illegible, the vehicle verification must be referred to the Department of Motor Vehicles for completion.

ODOMETER MILEAGE READING

Enter mileage shown on the odometer. Check appropriate boxes for miles or kilometers and odometer display. Any additional information regarding the odometer reading may be made in the remarks section of the REG 31.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS

Check appropriate box to indicate if the supporting documents agree or disagree with VIN. If supporting documents disagree with VIN, the vehicle must be referred to the Department of Motor Vehicles or California Highway Patrol for inspection. If supporting documents include a salvage certificate, the vehicle must be inspected by an authorized DMV employee or referred to the California Highway Patrol for inspection.

EMISSION LABEL INDICATES

Check appropriate box from information on the emission label. If the label is missing or illegible, check the "REMARKS" box and explain in the remarks area (e.g., "Label missing, client states hood replaced").

REMARKS

Enter any remarks.

CERTIFICATION SECTION

Print your name, title/badge and ID number; enter your address, city and state.

VERIFIED AT

Check appropriate box. If "Other", specify address or location where the vehicle was verified.

VERIFIER'S SIGNATURE AND DATE

An original signature of the verifier is required (a stamped signature is **NOT** acceptable). Enter the date of the verification.

VERIFYING AGENCY

Check the Vehicle Verifier box.

