

AUTONOMOUS VEHICLE FORM OL 318 DRIVERLESS TESTING PERMIT CHECKLIST

Detailed information and instructions in completing and submitting applications may be found on the Occupational Licensing webpage at www.dmv.ca.gov.

All application forms may be completed online and printed, or printed and completed manually in ink. All forms must be submitted with an original signature and must be free from whiteout (fluid or tape). All information provided must be complete and accurate.

SECTION 1 — FEES REQUIRED	\checkmark
\$3,600 Application Fee (Up to 10 vehicles and 20 autonomous vehicle test drivers) \$50 (Additional 1 to 10 vehicles and 1 to 20 drivers)	
SECTION 2 — FORMS Attach documents in the following order.	\checkmark
Autonomous Vehicle Tester (AVT) Program Application for Manufacturer's Testing Permit Driverless Vehicles OL 318)	
Autonomous Vehicle Manufacturer Surety Bond (OL 317) or Autonomous Vehicle Tester (AVT) Program Application for Certificate of Self-Insurance (OL 319) or an instrument of insurance issued by an insurer admitted to issue insurance in California. CCR §228.04(a)(1)	
SECTION 3 — ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTS REQUIRED Attach documents in the following order.	\checkmark
 filing as a Corporation Statement of Information (SI 550) filed with the Secretary of State, which identifies the officers. filing as a Limited Liability Company or Limited Liability Partnership Statement of Information LLC (LLC 12) filed with the Secretary of State, which identifies the managers and members. 	
or	
 filing as a Corporation, Limited Liability Company or Limited Liability Partnership A copy of Articles of Incorporation, Corporate Minutes or other document filed with the Secretary of State, which identifies the officers, shareholders and managers. 	
 A Statement of Facts (REG 256) from the applicant that provides: A description of the autonomous technology or features integrated into the vehicle and the functional capabilities made possible by this technology. CCR §227.52(b)(2) The manufacturer will continuously monitor the status of the vehicle and the communication link between the vehicle and the remote operator while the vehicle is being operated without a driver. CCR §227.38(b)(1)(A) The applicant's Employer Pull Notice Program number. CCR §227.24 The website where the law enforcement interaction plan will be accessible. CCR §227.38(e)(4) 	
SECTION 4 — VEHICLE REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS	\checkmark
Vehicles not operating under manufacturer or distributor plates, issued by Occupational Licensing or a state where a reciprocal agreement exists, are required to have current California registration. The following additional documents are required to register autonomous test vehicles (AV) pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR) §§227.52 and 227.54. • Certificate of Origination from the vehicle manufacturer or California Certificate of Title, or if the	
California Certificate of Title is lost, an Application for Duplicate or Paperless Title (REG 227).	
SECTION 5 — ATTACHMENTS REQUIRED Attach documents in the following order.	\checkmark
Copy of written notification to local authorities, as defined in <i>California Vehicle Code</i> (CVC) §385, for each urisdiction where the vehicle will be tested that includes all of the requirements identified in CCR §227.38(a).	
Description of how the manufacturer will monitor the communication link. CCR §227.38(b)(1)(B)	
Secondary with the managed of with mornior the communication with the managed of the communication with the managed of the communication with the communication	

SECTION 5 — ATTACHMENTS REQUIRED Continued	\checkmark
Description of the intended operational design domain of the autonomous vehicle. CCR §227.38(d)	
Copy of law enforcement interaction plan. CCR §227.38(e)	
Copy of course outline and description of the remote operator training program and the date each remote operator completed the program and includes all of the items identified in CCR §227.38(f).	
For manufacturers that have publicly disclosed an assessment demonstrating their approaches to achieving safety, a copy of that assessment. CCR §227.38(g)	
If applicable ; evidence of an exemption approved by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration for manufacturers exempt from such requirements pursuant to 49 U.S.C. 30112(b)(10). CCR §227.38(b)(3)	
SECTION 6 — IMPORTANT INFORMATION Incomplete applications will be returned.	\checkmark
Keep a copy of all documents for your records.	
Submit the above required forms and documents to: Department of Motor Vehicles Occupational Licensing Compliance Section P.O. Box 932342, MS L224 Sacramento, CA 94232-3420 or 8243 Demetre Avenue, MS L224 Sacramento, CA 95828 (Courier Service Delivery Only) Application questions may be directed to Occupational Licensing Compliance Support Section at (916) 229-3154. The Department of Motor Vehicles provides updated information for our approved programs through e-mail alert.	
Please enroll at your earliest convenience at http://www.emailalert.dmv.ca.gov/subscriptions.asp . Additional website that may be helpful: Employer Pull Notice Program http://www.dmv.ca.gov/vehindustry/epn/epngeninfo.htm	