INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING INF 1161E ATTORNEY'S INFORMATION REQUEST

IMPORTANT - PLEASE READ CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING FORM

CIVIL/CRIMINAL PENALTIES

The willful, unauthorized disclosure or use of information from a department record or the use of any false representation to obtain information from a department record is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not exceeding five thousand dollars (\$5,000) or by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding one year, or both fine and imprisonment.

ARE YOU USING THE CORRECT FORM?

This form is to be used by a state bar licensed attorney who is requesting residence address information in order to represent their client in a civil or criminal matter directly involving the use of a motor vehicle or vessel in accordance with *California Vehicle Code* §1808.22. Any other use is prohibited by law.

CERTIFIED RECORD

Check box if you want the DL/ID or VR/Vessel record certified as a true copy on file with the DMV. There is no additional fee for this service.

TYPE OF INFORMATION REQUESTED (CHECK ONLY ONE BOX PER REQUEST)

IF YOU ARE REQUESTING...

Information regarding an individual's driver license/identification card (DL/ID), check the "Driver License/Identification Card (DL/ID)" box and complete Section 2 Only, **DO NOT COMPLETE SECTION 3.**

IF YOU ARE REQUESTING...

Information regarding a vehicle or vessel registration (VR), check the "Vehicle/Vessel Registration (VR)" box and complete Section 3 Only, **DO NOT COMPLETE SECTION 2**.

SECTION 1 – Attorney's Information

Provide the true full name of the attorney requesting the information. All information is required to be completed, such as, Name (First, MI, Last), state bar number, business address including city, state, zip code, and daytime telephone number. State bar numbers will be verified for Active status prior to processing request.

SECTION 2 – Driver License/Identification (DL/ID) Card Record Request

IF YOU ARE REQUESTING...

Information regarding an individual's **driver license/identification card**, you must supply either one of the following regarding the individual you are requesting information on:

Name (Last, First, MI) AND DL/ID Number OR Name (Last, First, MI) AND Date of Birth

TYPE OF INFORMATION AVAILABLE:

- Automated record (\$5 per RECORD) An automated record is a computer-generated record.
 Information available includes:
 - Current record includes name, DL/ID number, date of birth, physical description, license status, all accidents and abstracts that are reportable by law under *California Vehicle Code* §1808.
- Photocopy (\$20 per COPY)
 - o Photocopy of a DL/ID application including guarantor's signature

SECTION 3 – Vehicle/Vessel Registration (VR) Record Request

IF YOU ARE REQUESTING...

Information regarding a vehicle or vessel registration, you must provide:

CA License Plate/CF Number OR Vehicle/Hull Identification Number

TYPE OF INFORMATION AVAILABLE:

Automated record (\$5 per RECORD) — An automated record is a computer-generated record.
 Information available includes:

- Current record provides current registered owner and legal owner (if any) name and address, vehicle/vessel description, registration status, etc.
- Owner as of date provides the name and address of the registered and legal owner as of the date specified.
- Ownership History provides current owner and generally the three previous registered owners, if available.
- Photocopy of hardcopy and/or microfilm documents (\$20 per YEAR) A copy of any paper or microfilm document on file with the DMV. Information available includes:
 - Photocopies on file Provides copies of paper documents for years specified, generally available for current year plus 3 prior years (i.e., 2003, 2002, 2001).

NOTE: To obtain information on all vehicles/vessels owned by a specific individual or business (commonly referred to as "asset search"), you must complete department form INF 70 located on DMV website **www.dmv.ca.gov**, under Forms. Name and address will be required on this form.

SECTION 4 – Purpose of Request

- 1. Provide a brief description of the vehicle/vessel related incident for which this information is required and include the data and location of the incident.
- 2. Provide the case number (if available) or the name of the involved parties, including your client(s).

California Vehicle Code §1808.22 states §1808.21 does not apply to an attorney when the attorney states, under penalty of perjury, that the vehicle or vessel registered owner or driver residential address information is necessary in order to represent his or her client in a criminal or civil action which directly involves the use of the motor vehicle or vessel that is pending, is to be filed, or is being investigated. Information requested is subject to all of the following:

- 1. The attorney shall state that the criminal or civil action that is pending is to be filed, or is being investigated related directly to the use of that motor vehicle or vessel.
- 2. The case number, if any, or the names of expected parties to the extent they are known to the attorney requesting the information, shall be listed on the request.
- 3. A residence address obtained from the department shall not be used for any purpose other than in furtherance of the case cited or action to be filed or which is being investigated.
- 4. If no action is filed within a reasonable time, the residence address information shall be destroyed.
- 5. No attorney shall request residence address information pursuant to this subdivision in order to sell the information to any person.
- 6. Within 10 days of receipt of a request, the department shall notify every individual whose residence address has been requested pursuant to this subdivision.
- A knowing violation of paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), or (5) is a misdemeanor or, if in the furtherance of another crime, is subject to the same penalties as that other crime.

SECTION 5

PART I – Attorney's Certification Statement, Signature and DL/ID Number

Please provide the city, county and state where this document was completed and the date it was completed. The Attorney requesting the information must sign form and provide their DL/ID number for verification of identity.

PART II – Notice to Record Subject

Provides notice to record subject as required by California Vehicle Code §1808.22

SECTION 6 – Return Mailing Label

If you are completing this form on-line, STOP, print, sign Part I and mail both Part I and Part II to the DMV at the address provided. **BE SURE TO INCLUDE APPROPRIATE FEE.**

If you are completing this form by hand, you will need to provide your name and mailing address in Part I, Section 6 and complete Part II in its entirety except for **DMV USE ONLY** sections. Sign Part I, Section 5 and mail BOTH Parts I and II to the DMV at the address provided. **Completing the pdf on the internet is preferred as completing by hand or typewriter may cause processing delays.**



ATTORNEY'S INFORMATION REQUEST (Vehicle/Vessel Related Incidents Only) PART I: Record Request

APPLICABLE FEE MUST ACCOMPANY REQUEST

☐ Certify the record as a true copy of record on file with Department of Motor Vehicles - No Charge

TYF	PE OF INFORMATION REQ	UESTED (C	HECK O	NLY ONE BOX P	ER REQ	UEST)
	☐ Driver License/Identifi☐ Vehicle/Vess		`	T COMPLETE S ETE SECTION 2		3)
SECTION 1 – Attorney's Information – ALL INFORMATION REQUIRED						
ATTORNEY'S NAME (FIRST, MI, LAST	7			STATE BAR NUMBER		DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER
BUSINESS ADDRESS			CITY			STATE ZIP CODE
SECTION 2 - DL/ID Re	cord Request ONLY - NAI	ME AND DL	/ID # OR N	IAME AND DATI	OF BIR	TH REQUIRED
INDIVIDUAL'S NAME (FIRST, MI, LAS	T)		AND	DL/ID CARD NUMBER	OR	DATE OF BIRTH (MM/DD/YYYY)
Automated record (computer printout) - FEE: \$5 Per Record Current Record			Photocopy of hardcopy and/or microfilm documents - FEE: \$20 Per Year DL/ID Application (Guarantor's Signature Search)			
SECTION 3 - VR/VESS	SEL Record Request ONLY	- PLATE/O	CF NUMBI	ER OR VIN/HIN	REQUIR	ED
CA LICENSE PLATE/CF NUMBER		OR	VEHICLE/HULL	IDENTIFICATION NUMBER	t	
Automated record (computer printout) - FEE: \$5 Per Record Current Record Owner as of date// Ownership History (Specify to current)			Photocopy of hardcopy and/or microfilm documents - FEE: \$20 Per Year Photocopies on file for:// (indicate years)			
	of Request – See Instructi	ions				
	/vessel related incident for which th names of involved parties including			clude date and location	on:	
SECTION 5 – Attorney	's Certification Statement,	Signature	and DL/ID	Number		
soley in relation to the incident I have read and understand.	nalty of perjury under the laws of the t stated in Section 4. This request is The residential address information at is pending, is to be filed, or is be	made in accor is necessary i	dance with the in order to rep	e provisions of Section	n 1808.22 of criminal or	f the California Vehicle Code whic
X					ATTOR	NET'S DE/ID NUMBER
		DMV US	SE ONLY			
Check/MO#	Total \$ [History Photocopy(ies)
SECTION 6 - Attorney	's Mailing Label – DO NOT	DETACH				
ATTORNEY'S NAME					IT 2 MAI	IL PARTS 1 & 2 TO:
BUSINESS ADDRESS				De _l	oartment ublic Op	of Motor Vehicles erations — G199 Box 944247
CITY		S	TATE ZIP C			вох 94424 <i>1</i> о, СА 94244-2470

ATTORNEY'S INFORMATION REQUEST

(Vehicle/Vessel Related Incidents Only) PART II: Notice to Record Subject

PART II: Notice to Record Subject SEE SECTION 5 BELOW

Certify the record as a true copy of recor	d on file with Department of Motor Vehicles - No Charge					
TYPE OF INFORMATION REQUESTE	ED (CHECK ONLY ONE BOX PER REQUEST)					
	Card (DO NOT COMPLETE SECTION 3) NOT COMPLETE SECTION 2)					
SECTION 1 – Attorney's Information – ALL INFORMATION REQUIRED						
ATTORNEY'S NAME (FIRST, MI, LAST)	STATE BAR NUMBER DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER					
BUSINESS ADDRESS	CITY STATE ZIP CODE					
SECTION 2 – DL/ID Record Request ONLY – NAME ANI	D DL/ID # OR NAME AND DATE OF BIRTH REQUIRED					
INDIVIDUAL'S NAME (FIRST, MI, LAST)	AND DL/ID CARD NUMBER OR DATE OF BIRTH (MM/DD/YYYY)					
Automated record (computer printout) - FEE: \$5 Per Record Current Record	Photocopy of hardcopy and/or microfilm documents - FEE: \$20 Per Year DL/ID Application (Guarantor's Signature Search)					
SECTION 3 - VR/VESSEL Record Request ONLY - PLA	TE/CF NUMBER OR VIN/HIN REQUIRED					
CA LICENSE PLATE/CF NUMBER	OR VEHICLE/HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER					
Automated record (computer printout) - FEE: \$5 Per Record Current Record Owner as of date // / Ownership History (Specify to current)	Photocopy of hardcopy and/or microfilm documents - FEE: \$20 Per Year Photocopies on file for:/(indicate years)					
SECTION 4 – Purpose of Request – See Instructions						
Briefly describe the vehicle/vessel related incident for which this information.	ation is required. Include date and location:					
2. Case number, if any, or the names of involved parties including your clie	ent(s):					
SECTION 5 – NOTICE TO RECORD SUBJECT						
registration or driver license/identification of vehicle/vessel related incident. This is your as required by California Vehicle Code S	eived information concerning your vehicle/vessel card record in order to represent his/her client in a notification that the information has been provided ection 1808.22. If you have questions regarding attorney. If the information provided in Section 4 is address shown on the bottom of this form.					
DMV USE ONLY – DO NOT DETACH						
NAME						
ADDRESS	Department of Motor Vehicles					
CITY	Public Operations — G199 STATE ZIP CODE P.O. Box 944247 Sacramento, CA 94244-2470					