
                     

                       

                           

                  

                       

                        

INF 1126 (REV. 2/2003) WWW

REGISTRATION INFORMATION REQUEST
FOR LIEN SALE

Vehicle Valued Under $4000/Vessel Valued Under $1500
“California Requesters Only” (Out-of-State requests use form INF 70R)

DMV USE ONLY
CHECK/MONEY ORDER NUMBER

CASHIER ID/DATE

FEE: $5.00 Per Request—YOUR REQUEST WILL NOT BE PROCESSED WITHOUT THE APPROPRIATE NON-REFUNDABLE FEE
Notice to RequesteRs: As a condition to the disclosure of information from records maintained by the Department of Motor  Vehicles, the 
subject of record may be provided a copy of this request.

This form is used to obtain names and addresses of the registered owner, legal owner, and interested parties of a vehicle valued under 
$300 which you intend to dispose of pursuant to CVC §22851.3 or CVC §22851.8 or conduct a Lien Sale on a vehicle valued under $4000 
(CC §3072) or vessel valued under $1500 (Harbors/Navigation Code §504).

DestRuctioN of RecoRDs: Business entities are responsible for destroying DMV record information containing personal information, such as 
name, driver license or identification number, or physical characteristics, etc. no longer required for their business purposes by shredding, erasing, 
or modifying the personal information to make it unreadable or undecipherable as provided in Civil Code Sections 1798.80, 1798.81, and 1798.82.

ANY OTHER USE OF THE INFORMATION RECEIVED IS PROHIBITED

ALL SECTIONS MUST BE COMPLETE OR REQUEST WILL BE RETURNED

PART A: Requester’s Information PLeAse PRiNt cLeARLY
BUSINESS NAME OR FIRST NAME M.I. LAST AREA CODE  DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER

(    )
 ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

PART B: Record Search Criteria Complete all search criteria for vehicles. Contact your local DMV for assistance if the vehicle identification 
number (VIN) is mutilated or missing on vehicle. Complete vessel CF number and hull identification number (HIN). The current registered and 
legal owner record information on file with the department will be provided.
VEHICLE LICENSE OR VESSEL CF NUMBER STATE LAST REgISTERED MAKE YEAR MODEL

VIN OR HIN MOTORCYCLE ENgINE NUMBER

PART C: Reason For Request Explain why the vehicle/vessel is subject to a lien sale—include statute and section number if known. Please 
Note: This section must be completed or your request will be refused.

The basis for my lien is 

The vehicle/vessel came into my possession on  Current vehicle/vessel value 

How was the vehicle/vessel acquired? 

Where is the vehicle/vessel currently located? 

PART D: Certification, Signature/Requester Identification Complete “executed at” information. Read certification statement, sign and print 
your driver license/or identification card (DL/ID) number. DL/ID must match signature of requester to release record.
ExECUTED AT (CiTy, CounTy, STaTe) ON (DaTe)

i certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California, that the information entered by me on this document is true and 
correct and will only be used to notify the registered and legal owner(s) of, and all persons known to claim an interest in, this vehicle/vessel as 
required by the laws of the State of California and the California Vehicle Code (CVC), Civil Code (CC), and/or the Harbors and navigation Code. i 
further certify that i have read and understand the applicable statutes identified above and i agree to abide by all the requirements stated therein.

i understand that i may be subject to prosecution for false representation (CVC §1808.45) for any false statement regarding this request 
which is a misdemeanor and punishable by a maximum fine of five thousand dollars ($5,000) or a maximum imprisonment of one year in the 
county jail, or both.
SIgNATURE OF REqUESTER

X
REqUESTER DL/ID NUMBER

PART E: Mailing Label Do Not Detach  Complete this section in order to receive the requested record information.

Send information to: (Print your name and address carefully)
You may submit this request directly to your local DMV 
office or mail along with a check or money order to:

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
P. O. Box 944247—Mail Station g199

Sacramento, CA 94244-2470

YOUR NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
®

a Public Service agency
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