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Financial Responsibility Information Request  
(SR 19C)* form and $20 to:
Department of Motor Vehicles  
Financial Responsibility Unit, MS J237 
PO Box 942884  
Sacramento, CA 94284-0884

Note: Accident and insurance information is 
only released to individuals who have a proper 
interest in the accident.

Occupational Licensing Requests
Information for a car dealer, salesperson, disman-
tler, driving school, registration service, traffic 
violator school, traffic violator school list, or 
vehicle verifier is available free of charge when 
using the Occupational Licensing Information 
System at www.dmv.ca.gov/olinq2/welcome.do. 
Information includes: license status, ownership 
information, and history of disciplinary actions 
taken by the department. 
To request a current license printout not available 
on the Occupational Licensing Information 
System, you must submit a completed Request 
for Occupational Licensing Information (OL 100)* 
form with $5 to:
Department of Motor Vehicles  
Occupational Licensing Unit, MS L224 
PO Box 932342 
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420
To request a copy of the occupational licensing 
record (applications, bond documents, etc.), 
submit a Public Records Act request. For 
additional information refer to the Public 
Records Act and/or Information Practices Act 
Requests section.

National Driver Register (NDR) 
Requests
Employers: To obtain information reported by 
a state to the National Driver Register (NDR) 
on a current or prospective employee you must 
submit a completed Requests for National Driver 
Register (NDR) Record Checks (INF 1301A)* 
form and $5 to: 

Department of Motor Vehicles  
Public Operations, MS G199  
PO Box 944247 
Sacramento, CA 94244-2470
Individuals: Submit a notarized letter directly 
to the Department of Transportation (DOT), 
National Driver Register (NDR). The INF 1301A 
form is not required and there is no charge for 
this service. Your letter must include your full 
legal name, date of birth, gender, height, weight, 
eye color, driver license number, and issuing 
state (your social security number is optional). 
Mail requests to:
Department of Transportation 
National Driver Register  
Room W55-201 
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E. 
Washington, DC 20590 
Additional information is available at: 
www.nhtsa.gov/Data/
National+Driver+Register+(NDR).
Fair Political Practices Commission 
(FPPC) Statement of Economic Interests 
Requests (Form 700)
To request a Fair Political Practices Commission 
(FPPC) Statement of Economic Interests (Form 
700) for a DMV official, designated employee, 
or consultant contact:
DMV Human Resources Branch 
ATTN: COI Coordinator 
2415 1st Avenue, MS A208 
PO Box 932315  
Sacramento, CA 94232-3150 
Phone: (916) 657-7541 
Fax: (916) 657-6733 
The fee to obtain a copy of the Statement of 
Economic Interests is $.10 per page. A $5 retrieval 
fee will be charged for a copy of a Statement of 
Economic Interests that is five or more years old. 
Fees are determined by the volume and avail-
ability of the documents requested. You will be 
notified of the final cost. All fees must be paid 
prior to the release of the information. 

Public Records Act and/or Information 
Practices Act Requests
To request documents according to the Public 
Records Act (California Government Code 
§6250) and/or the Information Practices Act 
(California Civil Code §1798 et seq.), contact:
DMV Legal Affairs Division 
2415 1st Avenue, MS C128 
PO Box 932382 
Sacramento, CA 94232-3820 
Phone: (916) 657-6469 
Fax: (916) 657-6243 
Requests for inspection or copying of public 
records should sufficiently describe the records 
so that they can be identified, located, and 
retrieved by DMV personnel. This request is for 
information that has not been included in any 
other area of this brochure.
The fees for documents not listed in this brochure 
are at least the actual costs based on the hourly 
salary rate of each employee(s) involved, multi-
plied by the time to locate, review, and mask 
confidential information (if needed), program 
any computer software (if needed), copy, and 
mail the requested documents, plus a $.20 per 
page photocopy charge. Fees are determined by 
the volume and availability of the documents 
requested. You will be notified of the final cost. 
All fees must be paid prior to the release of the 
information. 
If you are a party to a lawsuit, you or your 
attorney may consider serving a subpoena at the 
Legal Affairs Division to obtain the documents.
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Available Information
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 
maintains information on approximately 32 
million vehicles/vessels registration (VR), 27 
million driver licenses (DL) and/or identifica-
tion (ID) cards, and over 437,000 occupational 
licensing (OL) records. 
Confidential information is not considered public 
record. This includes certain DMV personnel 
matters, physical/mental information, residence 
address, social security number (SSN), incom-
plete findings from research, results of ongoing 
investigations, operation plans, and electronic 
data security controls. 

NOTE: Residence address and SSN are confi-
dential except when the requester is authorized 
by law to receive it. 

How to Obtain Information 
To request public information from DMV’s 
database, you must submit the appropriate 
form and fee using one of the following service 
methods: online, a visit to the local field office, 
or by mail. All fees are based on the cost of 
searching departmental records, not whether a 
record is located; the fees will not be refunded 
once the request is processed. Fees submitted by 
mail must be paid by check, cashier’s check, or 
money order.
How to Obtain Forms
All forms listed in this brochure can be obtained 
by mail and some may be available on the DMV 
website at www.dmv.ca.gov/forms/formsinfo.htm. 
Online forms are indicated with an asterisk (*) 
throughout this brochure.
For forms (up to 15 copies each), call  
(916) 657-8098 or write: 
Department of Motor Vehicles 
Information Release Unit, MS G199  
PO Box 944247 
Sacramento, CA 94244-2470

Order Forms in Bulk Quantities
Bulk orders (quantities greater than 15) are 
processed by the DMV Materials Management 
Section and are accepted by e-mail, fax, or mail. 

Submit your request on business letterhead, fax 
coversheet, or e-mail. Submit requests by:
E-mail: DMVASDPublicForms@dmv.ca.gov 
Fax: (916) 928-6817 
Mail: Department of Motor Vehicles 

Materials Management Section  
4201 Sierra Point Drive, Suite 112  
Sacramento, CA 95834-7900

All requests must include:
•	 Business name, telephone number, contact 

name, and street address for delivery. 
Delivery will not be made to a PO Box.

•	 The form number, title, and quantity 
requested.

NOTE: Bulk form orders are processed within 
21 working days of receiving the request. For 
questions regarding bulk orders or to check 
the status of an order, contact the Materials 
Management Section at (916) 928-7901. 

What Form to Submit
The form and fee required are determined by the 
type of information being requested. Forms must 
be completed online and printed (preferred), 
completed by hand, or typed. Below is a descrip-
tion of the most common requests. 
•	 Request for Record Information (INF 70)* 

—	 This form is used to request an individ-
ual’s (other than your own) DL/ID or 
VR record information.

•	 Request for Your Own Driver License/
Identification Card (DL/ID) or Vehicle/
Vessel Registration (VR) Information 
Record (INF 1125)* 
—	 This form is used to request your own 

DL/ID or VR record. 
•	 Registration Information Request for Lien 

Sale (INF 1126)*
—	 This form is used by individuals and 

businesses to acquire the names and 
addresses of the legal and registered 
owners of a vehicle or vessel to conduct 
a lien sale or dispose of a low value 
abandoned vehicle in California. 

•	 Attorney’s Information Request (Motor 
Vehicle/Vessel Related Incidents) (INF 1161E)* 
—	 This form is used by a state bar licensed 

attorney to request DL/ID or VR record 
information.

•	 Dealer Vehicle/Vessel Registration (VR) 
Information Request (INF 1120)
—	 This form is used by a California 

licensed dealer or their agent to obtain 
a VR record information necessary to 
complete registration transactions. This 
form is not available online and must 
be obtained from a DMV field office 
or ordered through DMV Materials 
Management Section.

Important: Forms include instructions, fee 
amounts, and contact information. 

Online Requests 
You can request your own driver or vehicle 
record online; the fee is $2. This type of record 
is not an official document. Prior to submitting 
the request you must register as a Certified User; 
visit www.dmv.ca.gov/online/onlinesvcs.htm 
for additional information. If you need an official 
document, you must submit a Request for Your 
Own Driver License/Identification Card (DL/ID) 
or Vehicle/Vessel Registration (VR) Information 
Record (INF 1125)* form and $5 by mail or at 
your local field office.

Field Office Requests
Field offices can process:
•	 Request for Your Own Driver License/

Identification Card (DL/ID) or Vehicle/
Vessel Registration (VR) Information 
Record (INF 1125)* 

•	 Registration Information Request for Lien 
Sale (INF 1126)* 

•	 Dealer Vehicle/Vessel Registration (VR) 
Information Request (INF 1120)

To save time, make an appointment online at:  
www.dmv.ca.gov/foa/welcome.do?localeName=en 
or call 1-800-777-0133.

Mail Requests to DMV Headquarters
To request information from DMV’s DL and 
VR databases and copies of records, you must 
complete and submit the appropriate form and 
fee to: 
Department of Motor Vehicles  
Information Release Unit, MS G199  
PO Box 944247 
Sacramento, CA 94244-2470

Driver Safety Hearing Transcripts 
Requests (Administrative Records and 
Transcripts)
Requests for a copy of a Driver Safety document 
and/or audio file must be submitted in writing 
with a $115 nonrefundable deposit fee and 
mailed to: 
Department of Motor Vehicles  
Litigation Services Unit, MS J256 
2570 24th Street 
Sacramento, CA 95818-7010 
Phone: (916) 657-8431
The fees are:

Request Type Fee
Transcription fee (per page) $5.00
Exhibit copy (per side)** .10
Micrographic copy (per page)** .20
CD/audio recording (per CD/audio file) 6.00
Certification (transcription/exhibit/ad-
ministrative record) 12.00
Procedures governing Driver Safety 
hearings (also available free at www.
dmv.ca.gov/dl/driversafety/dsadmin-
hearing.htm)

26.00

**Plus clerical fee (per quarter hour) 6.00
Fees are determined by the volume and avail-
ability of the documents requested. You will be 
notified of the final cost. All fees must be paid 
prior to the release of the information.

Financial Responsibility Requests
To request insurance information, an uninsured 
motorist certificate, or a photocopy of a DMV 
Report of Traffic Accident Occurring in 
California (SR 1) form, submit a completed 
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