DMV x2019 S Online Calculator Will Determine New Vehicle License Fee Due on Vehicle Registration Renewals
California Department of Motor Vehicles
Media Relations Office
2415 First Avenue, MS F-122, Sacramento, CA 95818
Contact: DMV Media Relations
March 18, 2009
Sacramento In an effort to help California motorists find out how the increased Vehicle License Fee (VLF) will affect the registration renewal for their vehicles, DMV will modify the online fee calculator to reflect the increase which will take effect on May 19, 2009.
All vehicles with a registration renewal date of May 19 and thereafter will be affected by the increase from 0.65% to 1.15% of the value of the vehicle. The calculator will be modified to reflect the change 60 days prior to the increase. The department will also mail registration renewal forms to customers approximately 60 days in advance of the renewal date.
The online fee calculator increases customer convenience and saves time making it a popular feature available at www.dmv.ca.gov. It allows customers to compute not only the new VLF, but all other fees due for vehicle registration renewals and used vehicle purchases as well as fees due on new and out of state vehicle registrations.
The calculator is also user friendly. Vehicle owners need only to provide the license plate and vehicle identification numbers, county of registration, and zip code. The calculator will then display the amount of fees due to DMV, along with any penalties, transfer costs and use tax if applicable.
The VLF was established in 1935. The funds collected are directed to local government and the General Fund for use by local government and public safety programs. The VLF portion of the registration is tax deductible for those itemizing deductions in state and federal income tax returns. As prescribed by Section 10752 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, the VLF is based on the market value of the vehicle as determined by DMV. In the case of a new vehicle, the VLF is based by the purchase price of the vehicle on the date of purchase.
* * * * * * * * *
DMV is a department under the Business, Transportation and Housing Agency, which is under the direction of Secretary Dale E. Bonner. The DMV licenses drivers; maintains driving records; registers and tracks official ownership of vehicles and vessels; investigates auto and identity-related fraud; and licenses car dealers, driving schools, and traffic violator schools.
Don’t Stand In Line, Go Online! Doing business with the DMV has never been easier. The DMV offers an array of services to customers 24 hours a day, 7 days a week through its Web site (www.dmv.ca.gov), including online appointments for written and drive tests; vehicle registration and driver license renewals, selection of personalized license plates, changes of address and payment of fees via secure debit transactions.
For Media Inquiries Only
PHONE (916) 657-6437
FAX (916) 657-8282
DMV Customer Service Centers