DMV Announces Online Option For Motorists To Reinstate Vehicle Registration
California Department of Motor Vehicles
Media Relations Office
2415 First Avenue, MS F-122, Sacramento, CA 95818
Contact: DMV Media Relations
December 15, 2009
Sacramento With the addition of two new Internet services launched this past month, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) now offers 15 online applications at www.dmv.ca.gov that allow customers to do business with the department at their convenience. The two newest offerings will assist motorists needing to show DMV proof a vehicle is insured.
“Since 2004, the DMV has increased the number of online services for customers fivefold,” said DMV Director George Valverde. “These new options reduce the time for a vehicle owner to get back on the road after providing proof of insurance.”
Under California law, DMV is notified when a vehicle owner purchases or cancels an auto insurance policy. When coverage for a vehicle doesn’t show up at DMV, the owner receives a warning letter. If coverage still does not appear, the owner will receive a “Notice of Suspension” and the vehicle cannot be driven until new insurance is purchased and a reinstatement fee is paid.
The new services – part of the Vehicle Insurance Program (VIP) - allow customers to submit evidence of financial responsibility and a $14 reinstatement fee. In the past, recipients of such notices could only respond by mail or telephone. The mail and phone options aren’t going away, but the DMV website should provide faster turnarounds and improved convenience. Customers can also use the website to report a vehicle is out of service by filing an “Affidavit of Non-Use” which certifies that an uninsured vehicle is not being driven. Likewise, if the vehicle is put back in use, the owner can remove the affidavit on-line.
Before the end of the year all the services mentioned will also be available through DMV’s automated voice system at (800) 777-0133.
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Don’t Stand In Line, Go Online! Doing business with the DMV has never been easier. The DMV offers an array of services to customers 24 hours a day, 7 days a week through its Web site (www.dmv.ca.gov), including online appointments for written and drive tests; vehicle registration and driver license renewals, selection of personalized license plates, changes of address and payment of fees via secure debit transactions. Customers can also effect transactions via the telephone by calling (800) 921-1117. For registration and driver license renewals, customers must have their six-digit Renewal Identification Number (RIN) that accompanies their renewal. Automated services are also available at (800) 777-0133.
DMV is a department under the Business, Transportation and Housing Agency, which is under the direction of Secretary Dale E. Bonner. The DMV licenses drivers; maintains driving records; registers and tracks official ownership of vehicles and vessels; investigates auto and identity-related fraud; and licenses car dealers, driving schools, and traffic violator schools.
For Media Inquiries Only
PHONE (916) 657-6437
FAX (916) 657-8282
DMV Customer Service Centers