Ignition Internlock Law Takes Effect July 1
California Department of Motor Vehicles
Media Relations Office
2415 First Avenue, MS F-122
Sacramento, CA 95818
Contact: DMV Public Affairs
June 15, 2010
Sacramento –First-time and repeat DUI offenders in Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and Tulare counties must have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed on vehicles they own or operate under a new law that takes effect July 1, 2010. The law, created through AB 91 (Feuer) calls for a five-year pilot program that runs through Dec. 31, 2015.
“Far too many Californians die needlessly at the hands of a drunk driver,” said DMV Director George Valverde. “This law gives the DMV the opportunity to study the effectiveness of IID devices in California.”
Director Valverde noted that, in 2008 (latest statistics available), 1,355 vehicle occupants were killed and 28,463 injured in an alcohol-involved collision in California. The programming costs of the pilot program are funded by a grant from the state’s Office of Traffic Safety through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
The new law – passed by the Legislature and signed by Governor Schwarzenegger in 2009 -- prohibits an offender from being issued or reissued a driver license by DMV following a suspension or revocation for any DUI violation in a pilot county that occurs on or after July 1, 2010, until an offender provides proof of IID installation and pays a $45 administrative service fee, in addition to meeting all other reinstatement requirements.
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Don’t Stand In Line, Go Online! Doing business with the DMV has never been easier. The DMV offers an array of services to customers 24 hours a day, 7 days a week through its Web site (www.dmv.ca.gov), including online appointments for written and drive tests; vehicle registration and driver license renewals, selection of personalized license plates, changes of address and payment of fees via secure debit transactions. Customers can also effect transactions by calling DMV customer service at (800) 777-0133.
DMV is a department under the Business, Transportation and Housing Agency, which is under the direction of Secretary Dale E. Bonner. The DMV licenses drivers; maintains driving records; registers and tracks official ownership of vehicles and vessels; investigates auto and identity-related fraud; and licenses car dealers, driving schools, and traffic violator schools.
Media Inquiries Only
PHONE (916) 657-6437
For all customer-related questions
Please Call (800) 777-0133