OLIN 2007 08 Temporary Branch Location Permit

Temporary Branch Location PermitPDF Version

Permit Required

California Vehicle Code section 11713.15 (a) (3) (C) requires dealers who intend to participate at an event to apply for a temporary branch location permit and submit the application to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) not less than 10 days prior to the event. Applications received less than 10 days prior to the event are non-compliant and ineligible for issuance of a permit.

Permit Applications

Recreational vehicle dealers must complete the Application For Temporary Branch Location (30 days or less) /Recreational Vehicle Dealers (Motorhome and Recreational Trailer) OL 73A (REV 8/2007), to obtain a temporary branch location permit. All other dealers must complete the Application For Temporary Branch Location (30 days or less) OL 73 (REV 7/2007).

Applications submitted by mail will be accepted if the postmarked date of the application is not less than 10 days prior to the event. Applications submitted in person at an Occupational Licensing office must also be received not less than 10 days prior to the event.

Recreational Vehicle Dealers

  • If nine or fewer licensed dealers are participating in an event, the location of the event must be 50 miles or less from the dealers established place of business or permanent branch location.
  • Dealers may not count a branch location as a separate and distinct dealer license to circumvent the nine or fewer participating dealer requirement established by California Vehicle Code section 11713.15 (a) (2).
  • Do not submit an application for each business name ([Doing Business As] DBA) to circumvent the nine or fewer participating dealer requirements.
  • Only one (temporary branch location permit) application per event is permitted.
Background

Some licensees are failing to submit temporary branch location permits to DMV in the manner required by law. OLIN 2006-10 is also applicable to applications for temporary branch permits.

Distribution

Notification that this memo is available online at www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/olin/olin.htm was made via e-mail alert in DECEMBER 2007 to the following:

  • Dealers
Contact

If assistance is needed, contact the Inspector in the city or county where your business is located. Click on the following link www.dmv.ca.gov/fo/inspector_office.htm to obtain detailed information for the office in that city.

MARY GARCIA, Chief
Occupational Licensing