Health and Safety Code Section 43203.5 Manufacturers and Dealers
Manufacturers and Dealers
43203.5. The state board shall adopt, by regulation, a certification program for new direct import vehicles, as defined by Sections 39024.6, and 39042, which are less than two years old. The state board shall issue a certificate of conformance to each new direct import vehicle which meets the requirements of the certification program. Any bonding requirements for the certification program may not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) per new direct import vehicle or engine.
The model year designation for new direct import vehicles in an engine family shall be determined on the same basis as vehicles in the same engine family which are offered for sale in California by the manufacturer. The model year designation for any new direct import motor vehicle in an engine family which the manufacturer does not offer for sale in California shall be determined in accordance with the regulations adopted by the state board. The designations shall apply for all purposes of the certification program and for registration of new direct import vehicles.
The state board shall, by regulation, impose fees to recover the state board's costs, including enforcement costs, of administration of the certification program. Failure to pay the fees within 60 days of receipt after notification by the state board shall result in the assessment of a 10 percent penalty. An additional interest assessment on the fees equivalent to the rate earned by the Pooled Money Investment Fund shall accrue at the end of each 30-day period that the fees remain unpaid. Nonpayment of the fees for more than one year shall result in the state board withholding future certification of new vehicles for sale in California.
Fees collected in accordance with this section shall be deposited in the Air Pollution Control Fund.