Health and Safety Code Section 44225 District Fees to Implement the California Clean Air Act

District Fees to Implement the California Clean Air Act

44225.  A district may increase the fee established under Section 44223 to up to six dollars ($6). A district may increase the fee only if the following conditions are met:

(a) A resolution providing for both the fee increase and a corresponding program for expenditure of the increased fees for the reduction of air pollution from motor vehicles pursuant to, and for related planning, monitoring, enforcement, and technical studies necessary for the implementation of, the California Clean Air Act of 1988 is adopted and approved by the governing board of the district.

(b) In districts with nonelected officials on their governing boards, the resolution shall be adopted and approved by both a majority of the governing board and a majority of the board members who are elected officials.

(c) An increase in fees established pursuant to this section shall become effective on either April 1 or October 1, as provided in the resolution adopted by the board pursuant to subdivision (a).

(d) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 2024, and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that is enacted before January 1, 2024, deletes or extends that date.

(Amended and Repealed Sec. 6, Ch. 401, Stats. 2013. Effective September 28, 2013. Repeal operative January 1, 2024.)

(NOTE: The preceding section is repealed January 1, 2024, at which time the following section becomes operative.)

 44225 A district may increase the fee established under Section 44223 to up to four dollars ($4). A district may increase the fee only if the following conditions are met:

(a) A resolution providing for both the fee increase and a corresponding program for expenditure of the increased fees for the reduction of air pollution from motor vehicles pursuant to, and for related planning, monitoring, enforcement, and technical studies necessary for the implementation of, the California Clean Air Act of 1988 is adopted and approved by the governing board of the district.

(b) In districts with nonelected officials on their governing boards, the resolution shall be adopted and approved by both a majority of the governing board and a majority of the board members who are elected officials.

(c) An increase in fees established pursuant to this section shall become effective on either April 1 or October 1, as provided in the resolution adopted by the board pursuant to subdivision (a).

(d) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2024.

(Amended Sec.7, Ch. 401, Stats. 2013. Effective September 28, 2013. Operative January 1, 2024.)