V C Section 12804.2 Hazardous Materials Certificate Exemptions
Hazardous Materials Certificate: Exemptions
12804.2. (a) Notwithstanding Section 15275, a person with at least a class C drivers license is exempt from the endorsement requirements of Section 15275 if all of the following conditions are met:
(1) The person is employed in an agricultural operation and is driving a vehicle, other than a vehicle used in common or contract motor carriage, controlled by a farmer and transporting agricultural products or farm machinery or supplies to or from a farm.
(2) (A) The person has completed an agricultural hazardous materials transportation program offered or approved by the Department of the California Highway Patrol. The Department of the California Highway Patrol shall make the program available at no cost, and the program shall contain information specifically applicable to the safe transportation of agricultural chemicals and shall not be less than two hours in length. If the commissioner determines that the program cannot be offered in a particular area of the state because of personnel constraints, a person in that area may instead comply with this requirement by receiving agricultural hazardous materials training, in a program and manner approved by the Department of the California Highway Patrol, from an organization or a person in a supervisory position that has been certified by the Department of the California Highway Patrol.
(B) Upon successful completion of the program specified in subparagraph (A), a verification of training, valid for four years, shall be issued by the instructor and shall be carried by the person when operating an implement of husbandry or a motor vehicle required to display placards or markings pursuant to Section 27903 or which is hauling hazardous waste, as defined in Sections 25115 and 25117 of the Health and Safety Code. Within 10 days of issuance by the instructor, a copy of the verification shall be forwarded by the person completing the training to the department for inclusion on the permanent driving record of the person, together with a fee of twelve dollars ($12).
(C) The department, in consultation with the Department of the California Highway Patrol, shall develop a suitable form for verification of training.
(3) The person has, within the vehicle, informational material approved by the Department of the California Highway Patrol, in both English and Spanish, outlining basic safety procedures to be followed in the event of an accident. The Department of the California Highway Patrol shall provide the information required by this subdivision and make it available at no cost to the person.
(4) The person is operating a vehicle which is an implement of husbandry or a motor vehicle requiring a class C driver's license and the distance which the vehicle is being operated between the final point of distribution and the ultimate point of application or from part of a farm to another part thereof, or from one farm to another, is not more than 50 miles.
(5) In lieu of a report of a medical examination required by Section 12804.9, an applicant for a certificate pursuant to paragraph (3) shall, upon application and every two years thereafter, submit medical information on a form approved by the department. A person who obtains a verification of training pursuant to this section, but does not meet the medical requirements for a hazardous materials endorsement established by the department under Section 12804.9, is not qualified to transport hazardous materials.
(6) For purposes of the penalties and sanctions prescribed by Article 7 (commencing with Section 15300) of Chapter 7, the operation of a vehicle pursuant to this subdivision is deemed to be the operation of a commercial motor vehicle.
(b) Implementation dates for this section may be established by the Department of Motor Vehicles by regulation in order to accomplish an orderly certification program.