Application Requirements for a Driving School Operator License

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader (version 5 or greater) to view some of the linked documents on this page. If you have problems with Acrobat Reader see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions.

 


Driving School Operator License Forms and Fees

Forms

An application for a driving school operator license consists of the following forms:

The following documents are also required as part of the application package:

  • Driving School Operator Examination
  • 2000 Hour Certification of actual behind-the-wheel teaching from a licensed California Driving School.
  • Proof of age. Must be 21 years of age or older.

Driving School Operator Examination Required

An applicant for a driving school operator license will be given an exam as follows:

A written test that covers:

  • Traffic laws
  • Safe driving practices
  • Operation of motor vehicles
  • Knowledge of teaching methods and techniques Regulations pertaining to the teaching of automobile driver education and driver training to minors under 18, pursuant to the Vehicle Code Section 12814.6 (a)(4)(B)
  • Driving school statutes and regulations, business ethics, office procedures and elementary record keeping

If an applicant is a school owner/operator, a physical examination will be made of the established place of business and the instructional facilities.

The test is required every three years thereafter.

Fees

  • $100 Non-refundable application fee
  • $1 Family Support Program fee
  • $15 Duplicate or replacement license

An application must be completed within one year or a new application with all examinations and fees will be required.

The Family Support Program fee is paid on original, renewal, and reinstatement applications.

The license to operate a driving school does not include the right to give instruction.

Top of page


Driving School Operator License Renewal Forms and Fees

Forms

Fees

  • $1 Family Support Program fee
  • $100  Renewal application fee

The Family Support Program fee is paid on original, renewal, and reinstatement applications. 


Driving School Operator License Modification Forms and Fees


Driving School Operator Licensing Authority

California Vehicle Code. Sections 310.6, 310.8, 311, 1651, and 11100 to 11114. The California Vehicle Code is available for purchase from the Department of Motor Vehicles.

California Code of Regulations.  Title 13, Chapter 1.

Government Code.  Section 6157 (a) - (d).


Application Question s and Submission Information

Please refer to the Driving School Handbook

Top of page