OL Mature Driver Improvement Course

PURPOSE

The Mature Driver Improvement Course provides instruction on defensive driving and California motor vehicle laws. During this course, information is provided on, but not limited to, updates on rules of the road, the effects that medication, fatigue, alcohol, visual or auditory limitations have on a person's driving ability.


BENEFITS

Mature drivers, 55 or older, who successfully complete an approved Driver Improvement Course can qualify for reduced motor vehicle insurance premiums. California law allows insurance companies to determine the percentage of premium reduction. The insurance carrier can refuse to give a reduced rate to those who have poor driving records. You may wish to ask your insurance company about your eligibility and the amount of discount prior to taking an approved mature Driver Improvement Course.


COURSE TIME AND FEES

Course instruction may be obtained in a classroom or non-classroom setting. Actual classroom time is at least 400 minutes of instruction for the initial course and 240 minutes of instruction for the renewal course, not including registration time, breaks, lunch periods, and issuance of completion certificates. A completion certificate for the initial course is valid for three years from the date of completion.  The certificate may be renewed by successfully completing a subsequent renewal mature driver improvement course within one year of the expiration of the certificate, or if more than one year has elapsed since the expiration. The initial course and renewal course must be separate classes, held at separate times. The maximum fee for the classroom or non-classroom course is $30 plus a $1 charge for a DMV certificate to be presented to your insurer as proof you have completed the course.

LIST OF APPROVED MATURE DRIVER IMPROVEMENT PROGRAMS

List of Approved Mature Driver Improvement Programs

Requirements to become a Mature Driver Improvement Course Provider


THE DEPARTMENT'S ROLE

The Traffic Violator School Unit gives the approval to firms who desire to teach the Mature Driver Improvement Course.

Initial Requirements:
Lesson Plan Approval – You may submit a letter authorizing you to utilize a previously approved lesson plan or a lesson plan of original composition to the department at:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Occupational Licensing Service and Support
P.O. Box 932342, MS L224
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420

To assist you in developing your lesson plan, the Mature Driver Improvement Course Guidelines, OL 1008 (PDF) is available on the department’s website. Allow a minimum of 120 days for approval.

An application for a mature driver improvement course provider consists of the following:

  • OL 1002 (PDF) Application for Approval of Mature Driver Improvement Course
  • A copy of a letter issued by DMV approving your lesson plan

Submit completed application with non-refundable application fee of $500.00 and a copy of the letter issued by DMV authorizing the use of your lesson plan to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Traffic Violator School Unit
P.O. Box 932342, MS L224
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420


Mature Driver Improvement Course Licensing Authority

California Vehicle Code. Sections 1675 and 1676. The California Vehicle Code is available for purchase from the Department of Motor Vehicles.