Application Requirements for Vehicle Transporter License

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader (version 5 or greater) to view some of the linked documents on this page. If you have problems with Acrobat Reader see the Adobe Troubleshooting page for possible solutions

 

Vehicle Transporter Handbook


Vehicle Transporter Original License Forms

Note: Forms may be completed before printing

An application for a vehicle transporter license consists of the following forms:

The following documents are also required as part of the application package:

  • Photograph(s) of business location, refer to Photograph Procedures.
  • Corporation, Limited Liability Company or Limited Liability Partnership owned businesses only: A copy of Articles of Incorporation, Corporate Minutes or other document filed with the Secretary of State, which identifies the officers, share holders and managers.

Additional Items

The following items may be required by other agencies:

A motor carrier permit issued by the DMV's Motor Carrier Services Branch may be required.

A Permit from the Department of Transportation (CALTRANS) for movement of over wide objects.

  • State transporters are also licensed by Public Utilities Commission
  • Interstate transporters are also licensed by U.S. Interstate Commerce Commission.

Original Application Fees

  • $100 Non-refundable application fee
  • $1 Family Support Program fee
  • $50 For each branch location (if applicable)
  • $71 For each auto plate (plus county fees, if applicable).

The Family Support Program fee is paid on original, renewal, and reinstatement applications.


Vehicle Transporter License Renewal Form and Fees

Form

Fees

  • $1 Family Support Program fee
  • $85  Renewal application fee
  • $50  Renewal of branch location (each location)
  • $70 Renewal of special plates (each plate)(plus county fees, if applicable)

The Family Support Program fee is paid on original, renewal, and reinstatement applications. 


Vehicle Transporter License Modification Forms and Fees

Forms

Fees

  • $50  Name change
  • $50  Address change
  • $50  Add a branch
  • $70  Officer Change

Vehicle Transporter Licensing Authority

California Vehicle Code. Sections 29, 645, and 11700 et seq. The California Vehicle Code is available for purchase from the Department of Motor Vehicles.

California Code of Regulations. Title 13, Chapter 1.

Government Code. Section 6157 (a) - (d).


Application Question and Submission Information

Please refer to the Vehicle Transporter Handbook.

 

Top of page