Basic Registration Renewal Fees

The chart below shows annual basic registration fees assessed on Non-CVRA vehicles.

NON-CVRA VEHICLES

Basic Registration Fees

Amount

Statutes

Brief Fee Description

Registration Fee

$46

CVC §§9250/9250.1

$31 is assessed on every vehicle subject to registration. CVC §9250.1 increased the fee by $3 beginning July 1, 2008. The registration fee increased by $12 beginning July 1, 2011. The registration fee is subject to late penalty.

California Highway Patrol Fee

$23

CVC §§9250.8/9250.13

$23 is assessed on every vehicle subject to registration. The fee is subject to adjustment every January 1 pursuant to CVC §1678. The CHP fee is subject to late penalty.

Vehicle License Fee

Varies

R&TC §§10751/10752.2

A Vehicle License Fee (VLF) is imposed on any vehicle subject to registration. The annual amount is based on the market value of the vehicle as determined by the DMV. The vehicle license fee is subject to late penalty. For fees due:

  • on or before June 30, 2011, the basic formula for calculating VLF: Purchase Price x VLF % (1.15%) x % in depreciation scale (100% to 15% over 11 years). For example: A $25,000 vehicle x 1.15% VLF x 90% (Year 2) = $260 VLF due. The vehicle license fee is subject to late penalty.
  • on or after July 1, 2011, the basic formula for calculating VLF: Purchase Price x VLF % (0.65%) x % in depreciation scale (100% to 15% over 11 years). For example: A $25,000 vehicle x 0.65% VLF x 90% (Year 2) = $147 VLF due. 

Motorcycle Safety Fee

$2

CVC §2935

Assessed on every motorcycle subject to registration. The motorcycle safety fee is not subject to late penalty.

Unladen Weight Fee

Varies

CVC §9400

Unladen weight fee is assessed on commercial vehicles operating with unladen weight (10,000 lbs. or less GVW). Unladen weight fee is subject to late penalty.

Smog Abatement Fee

$20

H&SC §§44060/44060.5

$12 is assessed on vehicles six or less model-years old that are exempt from biennial smog requirements, except motorcycles. H&SC §44060.5 increased the fee by $8 beginning July 1, 2008. The smog abatement fee is not subject to late penalty.

County Fees

Varies

CVC §§9250.2-9250.19

Vehicles subject to registration are assessed miscellaneous county fees. DMV collects the fees on behalf of city/county associations, air quality management districts, and other governmental entities. County fees are not subject to late penalty.

Personalized or Special Interest License Plate Fee

Varies

CVC §§5004-5157

Personalized license plates (environmental plate program) and special interest license plates, such as Arts, Coastal, KIDS, etc. have annual plate renewal fees due. The fee is not subject to late penalty.

 

The chart below shows annual basic registration fees assessed on CVRA vehicles.

CVRA VEHICLES

Basic Registration Fees

Amount

Statutes

Brief Fee Description

Registration Fee

$46

CVC §§9250/9250.1

$31 is assessed on every vehicle subject to registration. CVC §9250.1 increased the fee by $3 beginning July 1, 2008. The registration fee increased by $12 beginning July 1, 2011. The registration fee is subject to late penalty.

Registration Fee (CVRA Vehicles)

$122

CVC §§9400.1

In addition to the $34 registration fee, a $122 CVRA Motor Vehicle Fee is assessed on vehicles subject to CVRA.  The fee is subject to late penalty.

California Highway Patrol Fee (CVRA Vehicles)

$37

CVC §§9250.8/9250.13

In addition to the basic CHP fee of $23 which is assessed on all vehicles subject to registration, an additional $14 is assessed on vehicles subject to CVRA.  The fee is subject to adjustment every January 1 pursuant to CVC §1678.  The fee is subject to late penalty.

Vehicle License Fee

Varies

R&TC §§10751/10752.2

A Vehicle License Fee (VLF) is imposed on any vehicle subject to registration. The annual amount is based on the market value of the vehicle as determined by the DMV. The vehicle license fee is subject to late penalty. For fees due:

  • on or before June 30, 2011, the basic formula for calculating VLF: Purchase Price x VLF % (1.15%) x % in depreciation scale (100% to 15% over 11 years). For example: A $25,000 vehicle x 1.15% VLF x 90% (Year 2) = $260 VLF due.
  • on or after July 1, 2011, the basic formula for calculating VLF: Purchase Price x VLF % (0.65%) x % in depreciation scale (100% to 15% over 11 years). For example: A $25,000 vehicle x 0.65% VLF x 90% (Year 2) = $147 VLF due. 

Weight Fee (CVRA Vehicles)

Varies

CVC §9400.1

CVRA Weight fee is assessed on commercial vehicles operated with a declared gross vehicle weight (GVW) or combined gross vehicle weight (CGW) of 10,001 pounds or more.  CVRA weight fee is subject to late penalty.

Smog Abatement Fee

$20

H&SC §§44060/44060.5

$12 is assessed on vehicles six or less model-years old that are exempt from biennial smog requirements, except motorcycles. H&SC §44060.5 increased the fee by $8 beginning July 1, 2008. The smog abatement fee is not subject to late penalty.

County Fees

Varies

CVC §§9250.2-9250.19

Vehicles subject to registration are assessed miscellaneous county fees. DMV collects the fees on behalf of city/county associations, air quality management districts, and other governmental entities. County fees are not subject to late penalty.

Cargo Theft Interdiction Program Fee (CVRA Vehicles)

$3

CVC §9400.1

Assessed on CVRA Vehicles only.  The fee is not subject to late penalty.

CVRA Weight Sticker Fee

$3

CVC §9400.1

Assessed on CVRA Vehicles only.  The fee is not subject to late penalty.

Personalized or Special Interest License Plate Fee

Varies

CVC §§5004-5157

Personalized license plates (environmental plate program) and special interest license plates, such as Arts, Coastal, KIDS, etc. have annual plate renewal fees due. The fee is not subject to late penalty.