Vehicle Registration and Vessel Fees

All fees are subject to changes in the law and may vary depending on your particular application or transaction. Use fee information for an estimation of fees due only.

Miscellaneous registration and service fees.

Type

Fee

Alternative Fuel/Technology Smog

$8

Alternative Fuel/Technology Registration

$3

California Highway Patrol (CHP) Fee (Vehicle Code §§9250.8, 9250.13)

$23

California Highway Patrol (CHP) CVRA Fee
($23 CVRA Law Enforcement Fee, VC §9250.8)
($16 CVRA Additional CHP Fee, VC §9250.13)

$39

Cargo Theft Interdiction Program Fee (CTIP, VC §9400.1)

$3

Clean Air Vehicle Sticker Fee (original or replacement) (VC §§5205.5, 21655.9)

$8

County Fees (VC §§9250.2, 9250.7, and 9250.10-9850.17)

Vary by county

CVRA Motor Vehicle Fee

$122

CVRA Weight Stickers/CVRA Year Sticker

$3

Dishonored Check Fee (Government Code §6157)

$30

Engine Change Fee (VC §9267)

$2

Historical Vessel Plaque (VC §9853.5)

$20

Investigation Service Fee (VC §9263)

$15

Lien Sale Authorization Fee (Civil Code §3071)

$5

Motorcycle Cross Index Fee (all original applications) (VC §9268)

$1

Motorcycle Safety Fee (all originals and renewals) (VC §2935)

$2

Nonresident Service Fee (VC §9252)

$19

Nonresident Reregistration Fee (in the same registration year) (VC §9252)

$19

Nonrepairable Vehicle Certificate Fee (original or duplicate) (VC §11515.2)

$19

Partial Year Registration Application Fee (VC §9702)

$19

Photocopy (of record) Fee (VC §§1810 & 1811)

$20

Planned Non-Operation (PNO) Fee (all vehicles, including OHV) (VC §4604)

$19

Prejudgment Attachment Filing Fee (Code of Civil Procedures §488.385)

$19

Prejudgment Attachment Certificate Fee (CCP§488.385)

$19

Prior History Fee (To brand vehicle certificates prior junk/salvage, grey market, park trailer, former police or taxi, and warranty return.) (VC §9255.1)

$2

Reflectorized License Plate (RLP) Fee (VC §4850)
Note: This fee is not collected on:

—Arts ELP duplicate plates
—Arts Sequential substitute plates
—American Ex-Prisoner of War duplicate plates

$1

Repossession Fee (VC §9255)

$15

Return of Nonresident License Plates Fee (VC §4302)

$1

Salvage Certificate (original or duplicate) (VC §§9265, 11515)

$19

Smog Abatement Fee (H&SC §44060[d,1]) (H&SC § 44060.5 [a])

$20

Smog Transfer Fee (VC §4000.1)

$8

Specials, 72-hour Expedite Processing Fee (VC §9270)

$15

Title Only Fee (VC §9254)

$19

Transfer Fee (VC §9255)

$15

Transfer Penalty (VC §9553.7)

$15

Transfer on Death Beneficiary (TOD) designation (vehicles and vessels)
(VC §§4150.7, 9852.7)

$10

Total Loss Salvage Vehicles and Dismantled Vehicles Inspection Fee
(VC §9255.2)

$50

Total Loss Vehicle Partial VLF Refund Service Fee

$19

Weight Fee Credit Service Fee (VC §9408)

$2

Window Sticker for vehicles with wheelchair lift or carrier (VC §5201)

No Fee

Zero Emissions Vehicle (ZEV) Parking Sticker (VC §22511)

$17