Vehicle Registration and Vessel Fees

Registration Fees and Penalties (California Vehicle Code §§9250.1, 9554, and 9554.5)

All fees are subject to changes in the law and may vary depending on your particular application or transaction. Use fee information for an estimation of fees due only.

Type of Transaction

Fee

Original registration and registration renewals

$46

Registration Fee penalty for original applications:

 

Late one year or less

$30

Late more than one year to (and including) two years

$50

Late more than two years

$100

Original Registration and California Highway Patrol Fee $23
California Highway Patrol Fee penalty for original applications:  
Late one year or less $30
Late more than one year to (and including) two years

$50

Late more than two years

$100

Registration Fee penalty for renewal applications:

 

Late one to 10 days (For fees due between 7/1-12/31/11, this will not apply)

$10

Late 11 to 30 days (For fees due between 7/1-12/31/11, this will not apply)

$15

Late 31 days to (and including) one year

$30

Late more than one year to (and including) two years

$50

Late more than two years

$100

California Highway Patrol Fee penalty for renewal applications:  
Late one to 10 days (For fees due between 7/1-12/31/11, this will not apply)

$10

Late 11 to 30 days (For fees due between 7/1-12/31/11, this will not apply)

$15

Late 31 days to (and including) one year

$30

Late more than one year to (and including) two years

$50

Late more than two years

$100