Vehicle Registration and Vessel Fees

Special License Plate and Disabled Person Placard Fees

All fees are subject to changes in the law and may vary depending on your particular application or transaction. Use fee information for an estimation of fees due only.

Fees for Amateur Radio Station License Plates.

Amateur Radio Station License Plates (California Vehicle Code (CVC) §5005)

Fee

Original

$21

Duplicate (CVC §9265)

$19

Reassignment

$12

 

Fees for American Ex-POW Plates

American Ex-POW License Plates (CVC §§5101.5, 9105)

Fee

Original

No Fee

Duplicate (CVC §9265)

$19

Retention (CVC §5106c)

No Fee

 

Fees for Antique Motorcycle License Plates

Antique Motorcycle License Plates (CVC §5004.5)

Fee

Original

$15

Substitute (CVC §9265)

$19

 

Fees for Arts Council License Plates

Arts Council License Plates (CVC §5074)

Fee

Sequential

Original

$50

Renewal

$40

Substitute (CVC §9265)

$19

Reassignment

$15

Retention

$40

Personalized

Original

$98

Renewal

$78

Duplicate

$38

Reassignment

$53

Conversion

$98

Retention

$38

 

Fees for Bicentennial Bill of Rights Plates

Bicentennial Bill of Rights Plates (CVC §5101.9e)

Fee

Reassignment of previously issued plate

$15

 

Fees for California Agricultural License Plates.

CalAg License Plates (CVC §5156)

Fee

Sequential

Original

$50

Original (single plate)

$50

Renewal

$40

Substitute

$35

Substitute (single plate)

$35

Reassignment

$15

Personalized
Original

$98

Original (single plate)

$98

Renewal

$78

Duplicate

$73

Duplicate (single plate)

$73

Reassignment

$53

Retention

$38

Conversion

$98

Conversion (single plate)

$98

 

Fees for California Memorial License Plates

California Memorial License Plates (CVC §5066)

Fee

Sequential

Original

$50

Renewal

$40

Substitute

$35

Reassignment

$15

Retention

$40

Personalized

Original

$98

Renewal

$78

Duplicate

$73

Reassignment

$53

Conversion

$98

Retention

$78

 

Fees for Citizens Band Radio License Plates

Citizens Band Radio License Plates (CVC §5020)

Fee

Original plates are no longer issued. The following transactions are permitted:

 

Renewal

$15

Duplicate (CVC §9265)

$19

Reassignment

$20

 

Fees for Congressional Medal of Honor License Plates

Congressional Medal of Honor (CMOH) License Plates
(CVC §§5101.6, 9105)

Fee

Original, Renewal, or Reassignment

No Fee

Duplicate (CVC §9265)

$19

 

Fees for Collegiate License Plates

Collegiate License Plates (CVC §5024)

Fee

Sequential

Original

$50

Renewal

$40

Substitute

$35

Reassignment

$15

Retention

$40

Personalized

Original

$98

Renewal

$78

Duplicate

$73

Reassignment

$53

Conversion

$65

Retention

$38

 

Fees for Disabled Person Parking Placard

Disabled Person Parking Placard (CVC §§22511.55, 22511.59)

Fee

Permanent (original, replacement, or travel [temporary] placard)

No Fee

Renewal

No Fee

Temporary (except if issued for travel to a permanent placard owner)

$6

Window decal for vehicle with wheelchair lift or carrier

No Fee

 

Fees for Disabled Person Plates

Disabled Person Plates (CVC §§5007, 9105)

Fee

Original, Renewal, or Reassignment

No Fee

Substitute (CVC §9265)

$19

Window decal for vehicle with wheelchair lift or carrier

No Fee

 

Fees for Disabled Veteran Plates

Disabled Veteran Plates (CVC §§5007, 9105)

Fee

Original, Renewal, Reassignment

No Fee

Duplicate (CVC §9265)

$19

Window decal for vehicle with wheelchair lift or carrier

No Fee

 

Fees for Environmental License Plates

Environmental License Plates (ELP)
(CVC §§5101, 5106, 5108)

Fee

Original

$49

Renewal

$38

Duplicate/Substitute

$39

Reassignment

$38

Retention

$38

 

Fees for Firefighter License Plates

Firefighter License Plates (CVC §5101.2)

Fee

Sequential

Original

$50

Renewal

$35

Substitute

$35

Reassignment

$15

Retention

$35

Personalized

Original

$98

Renewal

$73

Duplicate

$73

Reassignment

$53

Conversion

$98

Retention

$38

 

Fees for Foreign Organization License Plates

Foreign Organization License Plates (CVC §5006.5)

Fee

Original

No Fee

Substitute (CVC §9265)

$19

 

Fees for Gold Star Family License Plates.

Gold Star Family License Plates (CVC §5156. [d][1])

Fee

Original

No Fee

Reassignment

$15

Substitute

$35

 

Fees for Historical Vehicle or Horseless Carriage License Plates

Historical Vehicle or Horseless Carriage License Plates
(CVC §5004)

Fee

Original

$25

Substitute (CVC §9265)

$19

 

Fees for Honorary Consul License Plates

Honorary Consul License Plates (CVC §5006)

Fee

Original

$48

Renewal

$38

Substitute

$38

Reassignment

$38

Retention

$38

 

Fees for Kids License Plates

Kids License Plates (CVC §5072)

Fee

Sequential

Original

$20

Renewal

$15

Substitute

$20

Reassignment

$15

Retention

$15

Personalized

Original

$50

Renewal

$40

Duplicate

$35

Reassignment

$15

Conversion

$50

Retention (CVC §5106c)

$25

 

Fees for Lake Tahoe License Plates

Lake Tahoe License Plates (CVC §5075)

Fee

Sequential

Original

$50

Renewal

$40

Substitute

$35

Reassignment

$15

Retention

$40

Personalized

Original

$98

Renewal

$78

Duplicate

$73

Reassignment

$53

Conversion

$98

Retention (CVC §5106c)

$38

 

Fees for Legion of Valor License Plates

Legion of Valor License Plates (CVC §5101.4)

Fee

Original

No Fee

Substitute plates (CVC 9265)

$19

Substitute decal (identifies type of medal)

No Fee

Reassignment

No Fee

 

Fees for Legislative License Plates

Legislative License Plates (CVC §5002.8)

Fee

Original

$12

Substitute (CVC §9265)

$19

Reassignment

$10

 

Fees for Livery License Plates

Livery License Plates
CVC §§5011.5, 5011.6, 5011.9; PUC §5371.4h)

Fee

Sequential No Fee
Personalized

Original

$49

Renewal

$38

Duplicate

$39

Reassignment

$38

Conversion

$49

Retention

$38

 

Fees for Olympic Games License Plates

Olympic Games License Plates (CVC §5022)

Fee

Reassignment of previously issued plates (Only transaction permitted)

$12

 

Fees for Olympic Training Center License Plates

Olympic Training Center License Plates (CVC §5023)

Fee

Sequential

Original

$50

Renewal

$30

Substitute

$35

Reassignment

$15

Retention

$30

Personalized

Original

$50

Renewal

$68

Duplicate

$35

Reassignment

$15

Conversion

$50

Retention

$30

 

Fees for Pearl Harbor Survivor License Plates

Pearl Harbor Survivor License Plates (CVC §5101.3)

Fee

Original

No Fee

Substitute (CVC §9265)

$19

Reassignment

No Fee

 

Fees for Press Photographer License Plates

Press Photographer License Plates (CVC §5008)

Fee

Original

$21

Reassignment

$12

 

Fees for Purple Heart License Plates

Purple Heart License Plates (CVC §5101.8)

Fee

Original

No Fee

Substitute (CVC §9265)

$19

Reassignment

No Fee

 

Fees for Privately Owned School Bus

School Bus, Privately Owned (PSB) (CVC §9102.5)

Fee

Original or Renewal

$19

 

Fees for Special Equipment (SE) Identification Plate

Special Equipment (SE) Identification Plate CVC §9261)

Fee

Original ($19)

$24*

Renewal ($19)

$24*

Substitute (plate or ID Card)

$19

Transfer ($19)

$24*

Includes the Alternative Fuel/Technology Special Equipment $5

 

Fees for Truck Tractor Cotton Module Mover SE Plate

Truck Tractor Cotton Module Mover SE Plate
(CVC §§36012, 36101)

Fee

Original (Registration [$46] and CHP Fees [$23] plus Original SE Fee [$23])

$92

Annual Renewal (Registration [$46] and CHP Fees [$23] due every year except when SE renewal is due.)

$69

SE Renewal (Registration [$46] and CHP Fees [$23] plus SE Renewal Fee [$23] due every five years [2000, 2005, 2010, etc.])

$92

 

Fees for Veteran Organization License Plates

Veteran Organization License Plates (CVC §5068)

Fee

Sequential

Original

$30

Renewal

$30

Substitute plate

$35

Replacement decal

$10

Reassignment

$15

Retention

$30

Personalized

Original

$40

Renewal

$30

Duplicate plate

$35

Replacement decal

$10

Reassignment

$15

Conversion

$40

Retention (CVC §5106c)

$25

 

Fees for Whale Tail License Plates

Whale Tail License Plates (California Coastal Commission)
CVC §5067)

Fee

Sequential

Original

$50

Renewal

$40

Substitute

$35

Reassignment

$15

Retention

$40

Personalized

Original

$98

Renewal

$78

Duplicate

$73

Reassignment

$53

Conversion

$98

Retention

$78

 

Fees for Year of Manufacture Plates

Year of Manufacture (YOM) Plates (CVC §5004.5)

Fee

Original

$45

Renewal

$10

Reassignment

$12

Retention

$20

 

Fees for Yosemite License Plates

Yosemite License Plates (CVC §5064)

Fee

Sequential

Original

$50

Renewal

$40

Substitute

$35

Reassignment

$15

Retention

$20

Personalized

Original

$98

Renewal

$78

Duplicate

$73

Reassignment

$53

Conversion

$65

Retention

$38