DMV-Hidden

Web Content Viewer

Actions
Loading...
DMV-Hidden

California Driver Handbook - New Laws

Actions
Loading...

California Driver Handbook - New 2018 Laws

Effective January 1, 2018

Marijuana Use In Vehicles
It is illegal to smoke or ingest marijuana or any marijuana product while driving a motor vehicle upon a highway or while riding as a passenger in a motor vehicle being driven upon a highway.

Motorcycle Training Courses
Applicants 21 years old or older will now have more motorcycle training program options.

Buses and Seatbelts
Effective July 1, 2018, it is required that a passenger in a bus equipped with seat belts to be properly restrained by a safety belt, except as speci- fied. Parents, legal guardians, or chartering parties are prohibited from transporting on a bus, or permitting to be transported on a bus, a child who is at least 8 years old but under 16 years old, unless they are properly restrained by a safety belt.

New DMV
Effective April 2018, DMV will begin offering an online driver license and identification application process. Applicants will have the opportunity to begin their electronic application before visiting DMV. Be sure to bring your application confirmation with you to your office visit.

 

previous page | table of contents | next page

 

Complementary Content