DMV-Hidden

Web Content Viewer

Actions
Loading...
DMV-Hidden

California Driver Handbook - New Laws

Actions
Loading...

California Driver Handbook - New 2018 Laws

Effective January 1, 2019

Passing and Overtaking Waste Service Vehicles
Requires the driver of a vehicle on a public street or highway approaching or overtaking a stopped waste service vehicle to pass at a safe distance without interfering with the safe operation of the waste service vehicle, with due regard for safety and traffic conditions.

Refusal of Chemical Testing of Alcohol Content in Blood
Removes the criminal implications for individuals who refuse to submit to a chemical test of their blood for the purposes of determining the alcohol and/or drug content of their blood when lawfully arrested for driving under the influence (DUI).

Motorized Scooters
It prohibits a person from operating a motorized scooter on a highway with a speed limit greater than 25 miles per hour (mph) unless it is within a Class II or IV bikeway. It authorizes operation of a motorized scooter on a highway with a speed limit of up to 35 mph and requires only motorized scooter operators under age 18 to wear a helmet.


 

previous page | table of contents | next page

 

 
Complementary Content