International Registration Plan

SUV Front Back

The International Registration Plan (IRP) is an option for registering commercial vehicles that allows for interstate operation under a single registration plate and registration certificate (cab card) issued by your “base” state.

How it Works

If you use your commercial vehicle in two or more states, you can save money on registration fees with IRP. When you register a commercial vehicle in IRP, you pay pro-rated (apportioned) fees based on the percentage of highway mileage traveled in each jurisdiction.

For example, if an interstate vehicle operates 50 percent of its total mileage in California and 50 percent of its total mileage in Nevada, that vehicle is assessed 50 percent of the registration fees in each state (rather than paying the full amount in each state). The fees for all of the jurisdictions where the vehicle operates are processed through IRP Clearinghouse by your base jurisdiction.

What Vehicles Qualify?

You can register any vehicle that meets the California Vehicle Code (CVC) definition of “commercial vehicle” California Vehicle Code (CVC §260)and travels in California and at least one other state.

Most California based commercial vehicles operating at a gross vehicle weight (GVW) or combined gross weight (CGW) of 26,001 pounds or more must have either IRP registration or alternative commercial trip permits from the appropriate foreign jurisdictions when operating outside California. Vehicles weighing 26,000 pounds or less and operating strictly interstate may be exempt from IRP or temporary commercial trip permits under reciprocal agreements.

Regardless of your vehicle’s operating weight and operational plans, you should always contact the foreign jurisdiction you are traveling to if you choose not to file for IRP.

How to Apply for the IRP

To register a vehicle or fleet of vehicles in IRP, submit the following:

Please mail all completed forms and applicable fees to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Registration Operations Division MS H160
PO Box 932320
Sacramento, CA 94232-3200

An IRP registration is good for 12 months, starting on the first day of the assigned month. IRP vehicles/fleets must be renewed annually by midnight the last day of the month of the assigned registration period in order to avoid penalties.

Fees

Fees are due with an original IRP applications the month the vehicle(s) first begin interstate operations and are valid for 13 months.

Fees for vehicles that are added to the fleet after the original application are due when the vehicle is added and are assessed for the number of months between the date added and the last day of the assigned registration period.

All fees must be submitted before the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will issue registration plates and cab cards. Here are the payment options (applicants must choose one):

  • 100 percent California fees.
  • California apportioned fee + other state fees*.
  • $250 per vehicle per month for the number of months between the application date and expiration date.
  • $300 per vehicle per month for the number of months between the application date and expiration date (purchase price of $200,000 or more).

*You must submit a copy of the billing from the system that was utilized to calculate fees for California and other state(s).

After IRP operations has processed the application, we will mail you a billing invoice detailing the mileage apportioned fees due for each state and the grand total. If the billing invoice shows a balance due, the balance must be paid within 20 days of the billing date.

Penalty Fees

The penalties listed below are in addition to all other fees due.

On original or supplemental applications, if payment is delinquent for:

  • One year or less: 40%
  • More than one year, up to and including two years: 80%
  • More than two years: 160%

On renewal applications, if payment is delinquent for:

  • 10 days or less: 10%
  • More than 10 days up to and including 30 days: 20%
  • More than 30 days up to and including one year: 60%
  • More than one year up to and including two years: 80%
  • More than two years: 160%

Contact Us

If you have questions regarding IRP, contact the IRP Operations Section at DMV Headquarters:

Department of Motor Vehicles
IRP Operations Section
PO Box 932320
Mail Station H160
Sacramento, CA 94232-3200
(916) 657-7971
FAX (916) 657-6628

Frequently Asked Questions

The base jurisdiction is the jurisdiction where you have an “established place of business”. It must be a physical location from which mileage is accrued by the fleet and where operational records of the fleet are maintained or can be made available for inspection.

You must own, lease, or rent your established place of business. The location of the physical structure must be designated by a street number or road location, be open for business during normal business hours, and have:

  • One or more telephones publicly listed in the name of the registrant. You do not need to have land line telephone service at the physical structure.
  • One or more persons employed by and conducting the business of the registrant (not a registration service).
  • Have the operational records of the fleet available upon request.

Renting a desk or desk space in a structure that you do not own, lease, or rent does not constitute a valid place of business for purposes of IRP registration.

The established place of business cannot be the address of a registration service agent.

The established place of business for owner/operators may be their home address.

Normally, registrants that meet any of the criteria for the definition of a California resident under CVC §516 must declare California as their IRP base jurisdiction.

There are strict requirements for maintaining records of vehicle/fleet mileage.

IRP customer mileage and vehicle records are subject to audit by DMV. Failure to maintain adequate mileage records can result in the assessment of significant penalties and interest. A completed Agreement to Prepare and Maintain Records in Accordance with International Registration Plan and California Apportionment Requirements (MC 522 I) is required with your application.

Need something else?