Contact: Office of Public Affairs
2415 First Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95818
(916) 657–6437 | firstname.lastname@example.org
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
November 17, 2014
New DMV Offices Opening
Temporary Offices Process Only Original Driver License Applications
Sacramento – The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) today opened three temporary Driver License Processing Centers that currently process new driver license applications for those who can verify legal presence, and will also start processing applications under AB 60 on January 2, 2015, when the law is implemented.
The new offices in Lompoc, Stanton, and Granada Hills opened this morning at 8 a.m. Another office is scheduled to open in San Jose on December 1, 2015. Applicants can walk-in or schedule an appointment online at www.dmv.ca.gov or by phone at 800-777-0133 up to 90 days before arriving.
In addition to these temporary offices, all regular DMV offices will continue to process new driver license applications by appointment only.
The new offices that opened today are currently only open for California driver license applicants who verify legal presence and have a valid social security number. AB 60 applicants will be able to apply for a California driver license starting January 2, 2015, when the new law is implemented.
|Granada Hills DLPC
16201 San Fernando Mission Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 91344
1601 North H Street
Lompoc, CA 93436
12645 Beach Blvd.
Stanton, CA 90680
The offices will be open Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.; Wednesdays the offices will open at 9:00 a.m. and close at 5:00 p.m.
Last week, DMV announced it is extending office hours and adding appointment opportunities to support the issuance of all original driver licenses, including licenses that will be issued under AB 60 starting on January 2, 2015. Some of the additional services DMV will be offering include: extended Saturday office hours by appointment for all new driver license applicants at up to 60 DMV field offices across California starting Saturday, January 3, 2015; and new driver license applicants can now schedule appointments with the DMV up to 90 days in advance, double the current 45-day window.
DMV also released the list of documents that applicants will use to obtain a California driver license under AB 60. In general, DMV will require fewer documents for proving identity when those documents are secure and electronically verifiable. For more information on AB 60, including sample interactive tests, webcasts, and information about public comment, visit: http://dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/ab60/index