DMV-Hidden

Web Content Viewer

Actions
Loading...
DMV-Hidden

DMV Prepared to Issue Driver Licenses under AB 60

Actions
Loading...

Contact:  Office of Public Affairs
2415 First Avenue 
Sacramento, CA 95818
(916) 657–6437 | dmvpublicaffairs@dmv.ca.gov

Follow DMV Facebook Twitter  YouTube

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
December 29, 2014

DMV Prepared to Issue Driver Licenses under AB 60

New Law Goes Into Effect January 2, 2015

       
Sacramento – Starting Friday, January 2, 2015, the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will begin issuing driver licenses under AB 60—the new law requiring DMV to issue a driver license to applicants who can prove identity and California residency, and meet all other licensing requirements, such as passing the driver license knowledge and behind-the-wheel driving exams.


“DMV is committed to successfully implementing this new law to increase safety on California roads by putting licensed drivers behind the steering wheel,” said DMV Director Jean Shiomoto. “Californians planning to apply for a new driver license under AB 60 should study for their exams and gather the required documents for proving identity and residency.”


DMV anticipates processing approximately 1.4 million additional driver license applications during the first three years after implementation of AB 60. DMV is hard at work to successfully implement AB 60 and maintain excellent customer service for all Californians. Since the law passed last year, DMV has:

 

  • Participated in nearly 200 public workshops and community meetings, reaching approximately 50,000 potential applicants
  • Saturday office hours by appointment for all new driver license applicants at 60 DMV offices starting Saturday, January 3, 2015
  • Doubled the standard 45-day window to allow customers to schedule DMV appointments up to 90 days in advance
  • Opened four driver license processing centers to increase capacity and process first time driver license applicants by appointment or walk-in service
  • Hired 900 employees to ensure the same level of excellent customer service


Before AB 60, state law required motorists to prove identity and legal presence to obtain a driver license. Under the new law, motorists who cannot prove legal presence may obtain a license, but must prove identity and California residency—and pass the required vision test, driver license knowledge test, and the behind-the-wheel drive test—to obtain a driver license. The list of documents that applicants will use to prove identity and residence is available here: ab60.dmv.ca.gov. For more information on AB 60, including sample interactive tests, webcasts, and information about how to obtain a new driver license, visit: ab60.dmv.ca.gov.


Never miss the latest news from the CA DMV. Sign up now for DMV News Alerts! It’s an easy way to receive up-to-date information from the California Department of Motor Vehicles. This new tool also offers customization to obtain specific DMV related topics, such as AB 60, autonomous vehicles, and office openings and closures.Click here to get started:  https://www.emailalert.dmv.ca.gov/DMVEmail_Alert/


# # #
 

 
Complementary Content