Contact: Office of Public Affairs
2415 First Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95818
(916) 657–6437 | firstname.lastname@example.org
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
January 2, 2015
DMV Begins Accepting Driver License Applications Under AB 60
Over 9,000 DMV Appointments Scheduled Today for New License Applications
SACRAMENTO —The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) today began accepting new driver license applications under AB 60—the new law requiring DMV to issue a driver license to applicants who can prove identity and California residence and meet all other licensing requirements, such as passing the driver license knowledge and behind-the-wheel driving exams.
DMV is prepared for strong customer interest on the first day of the new law's implementation. Customers have scheduled 9,357 statewide appointments for a new driver license. As of noon today, DMV employees have seen approximately 6,189 AB 60 applicants applying for a new driver license. In addition to the new demand for services under AB 60, DMV typically experiences increased activity after a major holiday, three-day weekend, and at the beginning of the month.
DMV anticipates processing approximately 1.4 million additional driver license applications during the first three years after implementation of AB 60. Since the law passed last year, DMV has been preparing to successfully implement AB 60 and continue to provide all Californians with excellent customer service:
- Participated in nearly 200 public workshops and community meetings reaching approximately 50,000 potential applicants
- Extended Saturday office hours by appointment for all new driver license applicants at 60 DMV offices starting Saturday, January 3, 2015
- Doubled the standard 45-day window to allow customers to schedule DMV appointments up to 90 days in advance
- Opened four driver license processing centers to process all first time driver license applicants by appointment or walk-in service
- Hired 900 employees that will ensure DMV continues to provide the same level of excellent customer service
Individuals wanting to apply for an original driver license must schedule an appointment if they plan on visiting one of DMV's 170 regular field offices. Appointments can be made as far as 90 days in advance by going online at www.dmv.ca.gov or calling 1-800-777-0133. An appointment is not required, but recommended for those who want to conduct business at one of the four temporary driver license processing centers located in Granada Hills, San Jose, Stanton, and Lompoc.
The DMV has a helpful AB60 information webpage, ab60.dmv.ca.gov, where the public can find a list of acceptable documents that can be used to verify identity and residency, view the driver handbook, take sample knowledge tests, find appointment information, and other helpful materials.
Note: Beginning January 3, 2015, the DMV will begin offering Saturday hours (8 a.m. to 5 p.m.) at 60 select locations for individuals with appointments only.