Driving School Instructor License

Driver Education 1

You need a driving school instructor license to work for a driving school as an instructor who teaches others how to operate a motor vehicle.

How to Apply for a Driving School Instructor License

To apply for your license, submit the following:

Once you have completed these forms and collected all documents, schedule an appointment at a local DMV inspector office to submit your paperwork and fees, and complete a written examination. You have three attempts to pass the written examination.

You must complete your application within one year or a new application with all examinations and fees will be required.

Fees

  • $30 nonrefundable application fee
  • $1 family support program
  • $30 additional license fee
  • $30 reinstatement license fee (if applicable)
  • $15 duplicate or replacement license fee (if applicable)
  • $15 transfer of license fee (if applicable)

Driving School Instructor Examination

As part of your application, you will take a written exam that covers:

  • Traffic laws.
  • Safe driving practices.
  • Operation of motor vehicles.
  • Knowledge of teaching methods and techniques.
  • First aid.
  • Regulations pertaining to the teaching of automobile driver education and driver training (DE/DT) to minors under 18.

The test is required every three years.

Application Checklist

Take a look at the Driving School Instructor Original Application Checklist (OL 219) to make sure you completed all the steps.

How to Renew a Driving School Instructor License

To renew your license, submit the following:

Once you have completed these forms and collected all documents, schedule an appointment at a local DMV inspector office to submit your paperwork and fees, and complete a written examination if required. You have three attempts to pass the written examination.

Fees

  • $30 renewal application fee
  • $1 family support program

How to Modify a Driving School Instructor License

To modify an existing license, complete and submit the appropriate form listed on the Driving School & All-Terrain School License Modifications.

Mail your completed form and fees to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Occupational Licensing Section
PO Box 932342 MS L224
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420

Driving School Instructor Licensing Authority

California Vehicle Code (CVC) §§310.4, 1651, and 11100 to 11114. The CVC is available for purchase from the DMV.

California Code of Regulations, Title 13, Chapter 1.

California Government Code §6157 (a) – (d).

Need something else?