Driving School Operator License

Teen Driver

You need a driving school operator license if you direct and manage a driving school.

How to Apply for a Driving School Operator License

To apply for your license, submit the following:

Once you have completed these forms and collected all documents, schedule an appointment at a local DMV inspector office to submit your paperwork and fees, and complete a written examination. You have three attempts to pass the written examination.

You must complete your application within one year or a new application with all examinations and fees will be required.

Fees

  • $100 non-refundable application fee
  • $1 family support program
  • $100 examination fee or $55 internet-only examination fee
  • $55 retest fee (if applicable)
  • $15 duplicate or replacement license fee (if applicable)

Driving School Operator Examination

As part of your application, you will take a written exam that covers:

  • Traffic laws.
  • Safe driving practices.
  • Operation of motor vehicles.
  • Knowledge of teaching methods and techniques pertaining to the teaching of automobile driver education and driver training (DE/DT) to minors under 18.
  • Driving school statutes and regulations, business ethics, office procedures, and elementary record keeping.

The test is required every three years.

Application Checklist

Take a look at the Driving School Operator Original Application Checklist (OL 225) or Driving School Operator Internet-Only Original Application Checklist (OL 225I) to make sure you completed all the steps.

How to Renew a Driving School Operator License

To renew your license, submit either an Application for Renewal of Driving School Operator License (OL 211) or Application for Renewal of Driving School Operator License Internet – Only (OL 211I)

Mail your completed form and fees to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Occupational Licensing Section
PO Box 932342 MS L224
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420

Fees

  • $100 renewal application fee
  • $1 family support program

How to Modify a Driving School Operator License

To modify an existing license, complete and submit the appropriate form listed on the Driving School & All-Terrain School License Modifications.

Mail your completed form and fees to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Occupational Licensing Section
PO Box 932342 MS L224
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420

Driving School Operator Licensing Authority

California Vehicle Code (CVC) §§310.6, 310.8, 311, 1651, and 11100 to 11114. The CVC is available for purchase from DMV.

California Code of Regulations Title 13, Chapter 1.

California Government Code §6157 (a) – (d).

Need something else?