Mature Driver Improvement Program

Elder Walking

Mature driver improvement courses are designed for drivers 55 and older and provide instruction on:

  • Defensive driving.
  • California motor vehicle laws.
  • Updates on rules of the road.
  • The effects that medication, fatigue, alcohol, visual, or auditory limitations have on a person’s driving ability.

See the full list of approved mature driver improvement programs.

Benefits of Taking a Mature Driver Improvement Course

Mature drivers who successfully complete an approved mature driver improvement course can qualify for reduced insurance premiums. California law allows insurance companies to determine the percentage of premium reduction. The insurance carrier can refuse to give a reduced rate to those who have poor driving records. You may wish to ask your insurance company about your eligibility and the amount of discount prior to taking an approved mature driver improvement course.

Course Time and Requirements

  • You can attend a mature driver improvement course in a classroom or non-classroom setting.
  • Actual classroom time must be at least 400 minutes of instruction for the initial course and 240 minutes of instruction for the renewal course (not including registration time, breaks, lunch periods, and issuance of completion certificates).
  • A completion certificate for the initial course is valid for three years from the date of completion.
  • The certificate may be renewed by successfully completing a subsequent renewal mature driver improvement course within one year of the expiration of the certificate, or if more than one year has elapsed since the expiration.
  • The initial course and renewal course must be separate classes, held at separate times.


The maximum fee for the classroom or non-classroom course is $30 plus a $1 charge for a DMV certificate to be presented to your insurer as proof you have completed the course.

How to Apply to Become a Mature Driver Improvement Course Provider

Before you apply, you need to get lesson plan approval by submitting a letter authorizing you to utilize a previously approved lesson plan or an original lesson plan.

Mail your letter to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Occupational Licensing (OL) Compliance Programs
PO Box 932342, MS L224
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420

Allow a minimum of 120 days for approval.

Download the Mature Driver Improvement Course Guidelines (OL 1008) for help developing your lesson plan.

To apply to to become a course provider, submit the following:

Mail your completed form, letter, and fee to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Business Licensing Unit
PO Box 932342, MS L224
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420

Mature driver improvement course licensing authority

California Vehicle Code (CVC) §§1675 and 1676. The CVC is available for purchase from DMV.

Need something else?