Traffic Violator School Instructor License

Other Danger Street Sign

You need a traffic violator school (TVS) instructor license to work for a traffic violator school as an instructor who teaches others how to safely operate a motor vehicle.

How to Apply for a TVS Instructor License

To apply for your license, submit the following:

Once you’ve completed these forms and collected all documents, schedule an appointment at a local DMV inspector office to submit you paperwork and fees, and complete a written examination. You have three attempts to pass the written examination.

You must complete your application within one year or a new application with all examinations and fees will be required.

Fees

  • $50 non-refundable original or reinstatement application fee
  • $1 family support program
  • $15 duplicate or replacement license fee (if applicable)
  • $25 transfer of license fee (if applicable)
  • $16 test fee

TVS Instructor Examination

As part of your application, you will take a written exam that covers:

  • Traffic laws.
  • Safe driving practices.
  • Safe operation of motor vehicles.
  • Knowledge of teaching methods and techniques.

The test is required every three years. Otherwise, applicants must submit DMV approval letter(s) totaling at least 18 hours of qualifying continuing professional education provided in the previous three year period. California Vehicle Code (CVC) §§11207(b)(2), CCR 345.24(a) and (c)

Application Checklist

Take a look at the TVS Instructor Application Checklist (OL 710A) to make sure you completed all the steps.

How to Renew a Traffic Violator School Instructor License

To renew your license, submit an Application for Renewal of Traffic Violator School (TVS) Instructor License (OL 740). You’ll also need to take a written examination or submit a certificate of completion for a department approved 18 hour continuous education program.

Mail your completed form and fees to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Occupational Licensing (OL) Section – TVS Unit
PO Box 932342 MS L224
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420

Fees

  • $50 renewal application fee
  • $1 Family Support Program

How to Modify a Traffic Violator School Instructor License

To modify an existing license, complete and submit the appropriate form listed on the Driving School & All-Terrain School License Modifications.

Mail your completed form and fees to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Occupational Licensing (OL) Section – TVS Unit
PO Box 932342 MS L224
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420

Traffic Violator School Instructor Licensing Authority

California Vehicle Code (CVC) §§626 et al., 1651, 1670, 1671, 11200 to 11222, and 42005; Divisions 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, and 12. The CVC is available for purchase from DMV.

California Code of Regulations Title 13, Chapter 1.

Government Code §6157 (a) – (d).


Need something else?