Traffic Violator School Operator License

One Way Street Sign

You need a traffic violator school (TVS) operator license if you direct and manage a TVS.

How to Apply for a TVS Operator License

To apply for your license, submit the following:

Once you have completed these forms and collected all documents, visit a DMV inspector office to submit your paperwork and fees, and take your examination. You have three attempts to pass the written examination.

You must complete your application within one year or a new application with all examinations and fees will be required.

Fees

  • $100 non-refundable application fee
  • $1 family support program
  • $16 test fee
  • $15 duplicate or replacement license fee (if applicable)
  • $50 license transfer fee (if applicable)

TVS Operator Examination

As part of your application, you will take a written exam that covers:

  • Traffic laws.
  • Safe driving practices.
  • Safe operation of motor vehicles.
  • Knowledge of teaching methods and techniques.
  • Traffic violator school statutes and regulations, office procedures and record keeping.

Application Checklist

Take a look at the TVS Operator Application Checklist (OL 750) to make sure you completed all the steps.

How to Renew a TVS Operator License

To renew your license, submit the following:

Mail your completed form and fees to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Occupational Licensing (OL) Section – TVS Unit
PO Box 932342 MS L224
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420

Fees

  • $75 renewal application fee
  • $1 family support program

How to Modify a TVS Operator License

To modify an existing license, complete and submit the appropriate form listed on the Traffic Violator School License Modifications.

Mail your completed form and fees to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Occupational Licensing (OL) Section – TVS Unit
PO Box 932342 MS L224
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420

Fees

  • $50 license modification fee
  • $1 family support program

Traffic Violator School Licensing Authority

California Vehicle Code (CVC) §§320 (a), 626, 626.2, 626.4, 626.6, 626.8, 1651, 1671, 11200 to 11222, 1803.5, 1808.7, 40509.1, 40512.6, 41501, 42005, 42005.1, 42005.3, 42005.5, 42007, and 42007.1. The CVC is available for purchase from DMV.

California Code of Regulations Title 13, Chapter 1.

California Government Code §6157 (a) – (d).

Need something else?