Licensing Fees

Isolated Shapes Blue Arrow

Find fees for applying for, renewing, changing, or replacing your driver license or ID card.

Driver License (DL) Fees

License ClassApplicationFee
Class COriginal
Renewal
Adding a motorcycle license (Class M1/M2)
$37
Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)
Info update
– Adding a firefighter endorsement
$30
Driving (behind-the-wheel) retest$7
Class M1/M2Original
Renewal
$37
Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)
Info update
$30
Driving (behind-the-wheel) retest$7
Noncommercial Class A or BOriginal (Class A)
Original (Class B)
Renewal
– Adding a motorcycle license (Class M1/M2)
– Removing restrictions (requires a driving test)
$37
Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)
Info update
– Adding a firefighter endorsement
$30
Commercial Class A or BOriginal$82
Renewal$48
Commercial driving or skill retest$37
Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)$36
Info update$30
Removing an air brake or automatic transmission restriction (requires a driving test)$82
Adding a passenger endorsement$82
Adding the following endorsements:
– Tank
– Doubles/triples
– Hazmat
$48
Adding a motorcycle license (Class M1/M2)$48
Adding a firefighter endorsement$30
Commercial Class COriginal
Renewal
$48
Adding the following endorsements:
– Tank
– Hazmat
– Passenger
$48
Adding a motorcycle license (Class M1/M2)$48
Commercial driving or skill retest$37
Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)$36
Info update
– Adding a firefighter endorsement
$30

ID Card Fees

IDApplicationFee
Regular ID cardOriginal
Renewal
Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)
Info update
– Emancipated minor
$32
Senior Citizen (age 62 or older) ID cardOriginal
Renewal
Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)
Info update
No fee
Reduced-fee ID cardOriginal
Renewal
Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)
Info update
$9

Miscellaneous DL Fees

ItemFee
Copy of a California DL/ID card record$5
Reissue Fee Admin Per Se (APS) under 21 years of age (Zero Tolerance law)$100
Reissue Fee Admin Per Se (APS) 21 years of age and older$125
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Reissue Fee$55
DUI 2nd Offender Add Court Restriction Fee$15
DUI 2nd Offender Remove Court Restriction Fee$20
Financial Responsibility (FR) Penalty Fee$250
FR Reissue Fee$55
Administrative Service Fee$20
Family Support Administrative Service Fee$15
DL Family Support Administrative Fee$15
Dishonored Check Service Fee$30
California Vehicle Code Book Order Form$6

Special Certification Application Fees

CertificateApplicationFee
Ambulance DriverOriginal$25
Original with fingerprints$67
– Renewal
– Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)
– Info update
$12
Ambulance Drivers Handbook$5
Farm Labor Vehicle– Original
– Renewal
– Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)
$12
Hazardous Agricultural Materials/Waste Transportation Verification of Training (HAM)HAM Driver Record Update$12
General Public Paratransit Vehicle Certificate (GPPV)Original$25
– Renewal
– Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)
$12
School Bus, School Pupil Activity Bus (SPAB), or Youth Bus Driver CertificateOriginal$25
– Renewal
– Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)
$12
Vehicles for Developmentally Disabled Persons (VDDP) CertificateOriginal$25
– Renewal
– Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)
$12
Verification of Transit Training Certificate (VTT)– Original
– Renewal
– Info update
– Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)
$10
Tow Truck Driver Certificate (TTDC)Original$40
– Renewal
– Duplicate (replace lost or stolen)
$12

Occupational Licensing Application Fees

Occupational LicenseApplicationFee
Vehicle Salesperson License– Original
– Renewal
– Reinstatement
$51
Original with fingerprints$93
– Duplicate
– Transfer
$15
– Correction/name change
– Address change
No fee
Representative License– Original
– Reinstatement
$51
Renewal$86
– Duplicate
– Correction/name change
– Address change
No fee
Class C Driving School Instructor License– Original
– Renewal
– Additional license
– Reinstatement
$31
Original with fingerprints$73
– Duplicate
– Transfer
– Replacement
$15
– CorrectionNo fee
All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV) Safety Instructor License– Original
– Renewal
– Additional license
$31
– Duplicate
– Transfer
– Replacement
$15
– Correction
– Name change
No fee
Traffic Violator School Instructor License– Original
– Renewal
– Additional license
– Reinstatement
$51
– Duplicate
– Transfer
– Name change of school
– Name change of instructor
$15
CorrectionNo fee
TVS Completion Certificates
$75 (bundle of 50)
Vehicle Verifier Permit– Original
– Reinstatement
$51
Renewal$16
Address changeNo fee

Payment Options

You can pay fees in person at a DMV office, online, by mail, over the phone, or at a DMV Now kiosk. Here are the payment methods accepted for each option.

Pay in Person

  • Cash
  • Check
  • Credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover)*
  • Debit card (Visa or MasterCard logo)
  • Digital wallet (Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay)*
  • Money order

*DMV began phasing in a pilot program to allow credit card/digital wallet payments at field offices starting September 30, 2019, in Davis. In alignment with how California’s other departments process credit and debit card transactions, DMV customers will be charged a 2.3% service fee when using this payment option at a field office.

Online or Over the Phone

  • Credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover)
  • Debit card (Visa or MasterCard logo)
  • E-check (only one item at a time)

Credit and debit card transactions will be charged a 2.1% service fee.

Online Bill Pay

You can pay your DMV fees through online checking. Contact your bank for details. You must provide your bank with the license plate number of your vehicle.

Transactions paid with Online Bill Pay require additional processing time. This may delay receipt of your registration card and sticker.

By Mail

  • Check
  • Money order

DMV Now Kiosks

  • Cash (some locations)
  • Credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover)
  • Debit card (Visa or MasterCard logo)

Credit and debit card transactions will be charged a 2.1% service fee.

Need something else?