Tarifas de licencias

Adult Desk

Find fees for applying for, renewing, changing, or replacing your driver’s license or ID card.

Driver’s License (DL) Fees

License ClassApplicationFee
Class COriginal
Renewal
Adding a motorcycle license (Class M1/M2)
$45
Replacement (lost or stolen)
Info update
– Adding a firefighter endorsement
$36
Driving (behind-the-wheel) retest$9
Class M1/M2Original
Renewal
$45
Replacement (lost or stolen)
Info update
$36
Driving (behind-the-wheel) retest$9
Noncommercial Class A or BOriginal (Class A)
Original (Class B)
Renewal
– Adding a motorcycle license (Class M1/M2)
– Removing restrictions (requires a driving test)
$45
Replacement (lost or stolen)
Info update
– Adding a firefighter endorsement
– Removing restrictions (requires a driving test)
$36
Commercial Class A or BOriginal$98
Renewal$58
Commercial driving or skill retest$45
Replacement (lost or stolen)$43
Info update$36
Removing an air brake or automatic transmission restriction (requires a driving test)$98
Adding a passenger endorsement$98
Adding the following endorsements:
– Tank
– Doubles/triples
– Hazmat
$58
Adding a motorcycle license (Class M1/M2)$58
Adding a firefighter endorsement$36
Commercial Class COriginal
Renewal
$58
Adding the following endorsements:
– Tank
– Hazmat
– Passenger
$58
Adding a motorcycle license (Class M1/M2)$58
Commercial driving or skill retest$45
Replacement (lost or stolen)$43
Info update
– Adding a firefighter endorsement
$36

ID Card Fees

IDApplicationFee
Regular ID cardOriginal
Renewal
Replacement (lost or stolen)
Info update
Emancipated minor
$39
Senior Citizen (age 62 or older) ID cardOriginal
Renewal
Replacement (lost or stolen)
Info update
No fee
Reduced-fee ID cardOriginal
Renewal
Replacement (lost or stolen)
Info update
$11

Miscellaneous DL Fees

ItemFee
Copy of a California DL/ID card record$5
Reissue Fee Admin Per Se (APS) under 21 years of age (Zero Tolerance law)$100
Reissue Fee Admin Per Se (APS) 21 years of age and older$125
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Reissue Fee$55
DUI 2nd Offender Add Court Restriction Fee$15
DUI 2nd Offender Remove Court Restriction Fee$20
Financial Responsibility (FR) Penalty Fee$250
FR Reissue Fee$55
Administrative Service Fee$20
Family Support Administrative Service Fee$15
DL Family Support Administrative Fee$15
Dishonored Check Service Fee$30
California Vehicle Code Book Order Form$6

Special Certification Application Fees

CertificateApplicationFee
Ambulance DriverOriginal$25
Original with fingerprints$67
– Renewal
– Replacement (lost or stolen)
– Info update
$12
Ambulance Drivers Handbook$5
Farm Labor Vehicle– Original
– Renewal
– Replacement (lost or stolen)
$12
Hazardous Agricultural Materials/Waste Transportation Verification of Training (HAM)HAM Driver Record Update$12
General Public Paratransit Vehicle Certificate (GPPV)Original$25
– Renewal
– Replacement (lost or stolen)
$12
School Bus, School Pupil Activity Bus (SPAB), or Youth Bus Driver CertificateOriginal$25
– Renewal
– Replacement (lost or stolen)
$12
Vehicles for Developmentally Disabled Persons (VDDP) CertificateOriginal$25
– Renewal
– Replacement (lost or stolen)
$12
Verification of Transit Training Certificate (VTT)– Original
– Renewal
– Info update
– Replacement (lost or stolen)
$10
Tow Truck Driver Certificate (TTDC)Original$40
– Renewal
– Replacement (lost or stolen)
$12

Occupational Licensing Application Fees

Occupational LicenseApplicationFee
Vehicle Salesperson License– Original
– Renewal
– Reinstatement
$51
Original with fingerprints$93
– Replacement
– Transfer
$15
– Correction/name change
– Address change
No fee
Representative License– Original
– Reinstatement
$51
Renewal$86
– Replacement
– Correction/name change
– Address change
No fee
Class C Driving School Instructor License– Original
– Renewal
– Additional license
– Reinstatement
$31
Original with fingerprints$73
– Duplicate
– Transfer
– Replacement
$15
– CorrectionNo fee
All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV) Safety Instructor License– Original
– Renewal
– Additional license
$31
– Duplicate
– Transfer
– Replacement
$15
– Correction
– Name change
No fee
Traffic Violator School Instructor License– Original
– Renewal
– Additional license
– Reinstatement
$51
– Duplicate
– Transfer
– Name change of school
– Name change of instructor
$15
CorrectionNo fee
Vehicle Verifier Permit– Original
– Reinstatement
$51
Renewal$16
Address changeNo fee

Payment Options

Pay fees online, over the phone, at a kiosk, by mail, or in person at a DMV office. Here are the payment methods accepted:

Online or Over the Phone

  • Credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover)
  • Debit card (Visa or MasterCard logo)
  • Apple Pay digital wallet (Visa, MasterCard [credit]*, Discover)
  • Google Pay digital wallet (Visa, Discover, American Express, MasterCard)
  • Bank account

Credit and debit card transactions will be charged a 1.95% service fee. Digital wallet transactions will be charged a 2.1% service fee. Digital wallet options are currently only available for some transactions.

Apple Pay does not support American Express and MasterCard debit card types on eCommerce transactions. An American Express or MasterCard debit card can still be used by entering the card number.

DMV NOW Kiosks

  • Cash (some locations)
  • Credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover)
  • Debit card (Visa or MasterCard logo)

Credit and debit card transactions will be charged a 1.95% service fee.

Online Bill Pay through Your Bank

You can pay your DMV fees through online checking. Contact your bank for details. You must provide your bank with the license plate number of your vehicle. Transactions paid with Online Bill Pay require additional processing time. This may delay receipt of your registration card and sticker.

By Mail

  • Check
  • Money order

Pay in Person at the DMV Office

  • Cash
  • Check
  • Credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover)
  • Debit card (Visa or MasterCard logo)
  • Apple Pay digital wallet (Visa, MasterCard [credit]*, Discover)
  • Google Pay digital wallet (Visa, Discover, American Express, MasterCard)
  • Money order

Credit and debit card transactions will be charged a 1.95% service fee. Digital wallet transactions will be charged a 2.1% service fee. Digital wallet options are currently only available for some transactions.

Apple Pay does not support American Express and MasterCard debit card types on eCommerce transactions. An American Express or MasterCard debit card can still be used by entering the card number.

Need something else?